We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Hotel Zygos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Zygos
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Zygos appartments are basic as expected by the prising, But they were clean and comfortable. Everyone there was helpful and friendly. The little organised events...a BBQ and a quizz night created a lovely atmosphere. The roof top pool was the centre of things and much appreciated in the heat.
The people working there were attentive and full of ideas for days out etc...it was a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel
Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had read the reviews before we went and as a young couple of 24 you would of thought we wanted party zone but we wanted a lovely relaxing holiday which is what we got. This is one of the best holidays we have ever been on.

Where do i start....we stayed in room 11 which is next to the pool door. it was lovely, always clean and tidy (when the cleaner came in) and she even did our washing up for us. We didnt have our own balcony but there was table and chairs outside our door if we wanted to sit out there. We had a bath and shower the only downside was the drain overflowed when i had a bath so had to let water out very slowly. Didn't have the aircon just the windows and shutters open when we was in room and shutters closed when we wasn't. We cooked breakfast a few morning and made dinner twice although the oven/hob is not great we managed with it fine. We brought bits like washing up liquid and that when we got there and gave them to carol when we left. Did get bite by mosquitos but i expect it before i left (forgot the plug in)

The roof top pool was fantastic and got a brilliant tan. The pool was always clean carol likes to get in and clean it but thats all part of her job i guess lol. Yainni owns it and his daughter ramona helps out, carol does everything and gwen helps. they were all friendly and made us feel soooooo welcome and we had a brilliant time with them and the other guests that were there when we were. They have a bbq on a sunday night and at 15 euros a head it is well worth it. It was like a big family dinner on the roof top. We did the quiz on a thursday (although ours was done on the friday) quizmaster gwen was brilliant and we had a lovely night even tho we didn't win.

Sissi is a lovely place and the harbour is beautiful and only a short work. We went on a jeep safari at 75 euros each i thought it was quiet expensive but it was a lovely day with lovely views of the mountains and valley. Nice lunch and afterwards it was deff worth the money. There are many lovely places to eat and carol will happily tell you wheres good and how to get there.

The only downer was the hotel next door with bad music and good dam awful baby laughing tracks played whilst they are practising. But we didn't let this spoil our holiday.
Oh and the fact that you can only book through olympic as they messed our flights up big time.

Will deff be going back maybe not next year but deff the year after.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stefeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

rooms basic but it is Greece. very relaxing week had by me and my partner. pool is amazing and VERY clean. Carol who works behind the bar is fab. nothing to much trouble. yianni & Ramona the father and daughter team are very nice and full of knowledge.

overall I would recommend and return in the future.

Thanks x

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slantynwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We read the reviews here before booking, and they give a very fair picture of what to expect. The accommodation is basic (the fridge and two-ring worktop cooker look like they were purloined from a 70s bedsit) but they perfectly served the purpose. A very friendly reception, great rooftop pool and a fantastic location with a little sheltered lagoon beach just five minutes away, and plenty of decent restaurants and tavernas either side and two supermarkets within a minute's walk. Breakfast and evening meal/ drinks on the front terrace shaded by olive and lime trees watching the world go by was a treat.

On a cautionary note, self catering means exactly that - you won't even get a washing up sponge or loo rolls, so make sure you take the things you'll use in tiny quantities such as salt, pepper, washing up liquid etc or you'll be buying them in usual size quantities in the supermarket and they *won't* be left there for the next person who comes!

Oh - and a remote control of aircon comes at a rather cheeky 50 Euros a week, though the rooms are cool if you keep the shutters closed during the hottest part of the day. And don't forget super-strength mosquito repellent. The supermarket sells anti-mossie coils for E1.40 that you burn to keep them at bay.

Sissi has the advantage of not being a party town so you don't get hordes of screaming hen and stag parties, though the complex next door had some fairly horrific karaoke and cover bands on, but they were all done by about 11pm. It's a great place for a low-key beach holiday with locally-run shops and bars, but if you're looking for a party, don't stop off at Sissi.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, which had 2 single beds, but room 8 looked rather nice and had a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melita666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have just returned from Crete, we stayed at the hotel Zygos in Sissi. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our apartment was number 6 we had heard bad reviews about numbers 5,6 and 7 but we didn't have a problem with the apartment, it was great for what we needed, which was a base to sleep. The cooker took its time heating up but we were in no rush. Watch out for the mosquitoes, you can buy plugs-ins from the supermarkets, make sure you take some deet spray with you as you will need it, otherwise you will end up getting bitten.The pool and the pool bar area was really pleasant and relaxing, great sun spot to get a tan. On a Sunday night there is a barbecue in the bar pool area, this is a must absolutely beautiful and at 15 euro's each well worth the money. On a Thursday there is a quiz night this a a fun night and Gywn the quiz master is a treasure. Sissi has a beautiful harbour we like fishing so took our rods with us it was so nice just sitting soaking up the sun, very relaxing and we caught some fish so that was a bonus, all the locals were very helpful.. If you want breakfast in the morning stay at Zygos, you will get a full English breakfast for 7.50 Euro's, it is worth every penny and will see you through the day. Yainnis owns the hotel he is a very nice man, and his daughter Ramona helps him run it. Carol and Gywn also work at the hotel, they are both so helpful and happy all the time they make you feel relaxed and it is Carol that cooks all the food, nothing is to much trouble. If you turn right out of the hotel going away from the harbour about 100 yards on the left is the restaurant Edem we found the food there was very nice, try the home made meat balls they are delicious. Also if you turn left out of the hotel this will bring you to the Pink Flamingo, the owner is very nice and the food is very good say hello to Rusty the dog for us, lovely little dog which belongs to the Pink Flamingo.. If your looking for 5 star then stay away, but if you want a clean friendly place to stay this is the place to head for. We only just got back 2 days ago, wishing we were still there.........

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanP1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

For us, Zygos was great - we got a fantastic deal, the location is excellent and the rooms very basic but clean. The shower was hopeless (shower curtain too short so bathroom got a good wash every time we did!) but the rooftop pool was always sparkling and refreshing.
The manager Carol is very friendly (and slightly mad, but in a good way!) and there was a pleasant family feel to the place.
If your idea of self-catering is to limit your cooking to toast Zygos is fine. If you plan on cooking... there was a dodgy looking toaster oven with 2 hot plates which gave us the perfect excuse not to bother!
There are lots of really nice tavernas both at the harbour, which is only a 10 minute stroll away, and cheaper places away from the sea views.
We were more than happy with our stay and would definitely recommend it at £130 per person incl flights. However, if we'd paid whatever the full price is, and had intended to cook proper meals, I think this review would be quite different!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark2cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Sissi is very pretty and nice location, but only small so if you like shopping this is not the place for you as there are only a couple of streets with a few shops...(you will need to go into Stallis a short bus ride away with oodles of fab shops) Haa now about the Zygos apts! they are a ten minute walk from the lovely little harbour..but they are bit disapointing to say the least! our room was large and dingy and very old fashioned big trees in front of the windows made it very dark and dismal even with the sunny bright weather outside and there in lies another problem with the trees is the mossies!! we were very badly bitten througout our stay during the hot nights (even with windows tight shut) all over our legs arms it was really bad...also the sheets and towels were NOT changed in the week we stayed there.....on the up side the pool/bar area is nice and Carol who works there is very sweet and welcoming... Sissi is a good place to explore Crete from but you will have get on an organised bus trip and even there we were all packed in the bus like sradines as Sissi is the last pick up point and the bus was full so hubby had to sit downstairs and i was crammed upstairs on a long seat between strangers for 2 hours or you can hire a car. Visit Spinalonga island while you are there it was a leper colony right up until the fifties..intersting history but once again they pack to many tourists onto the island so it is difficult to see the old houses etc..but bbq is good..
We will not be going back to the Zygos Apts again...because going by our room and those situated along the patio area they are all in need of a bright Update!..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bethys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sissi hotels
0.5 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
MariGianna Apartments
0.5 mi away
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort
13.3 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Grecotel Meli Palace
Grecotel Meli Palace
#4 of 18 in Sissi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zygos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zygos

Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Sissi
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Zygos Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing