We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a cheap holiday... good location for Sissi and exploring”
Review of Hotel Zygos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sissi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Zygos
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Overall a great cheap holiday. We went for a week from Belfast (which has costlier flights), as a couple with a 16 yr old daughter and it cost us about £800.

Flights

Easily the worst flight experience in 40 yrs of flying. So bad that I think I will write a separate review in the Air travel Forum. Briefly, delays, more delays, poor Rep service concerning delays, 3 broken food trays in the 2 rows I could see and my wifes tray broke mid flight, untrained crew, no tea/coffee, dirty/shabby cabin and the shortest seat pitch in the history of aviation and the thinnest, most unsupportive seats to name a few. Outbound was Sky Wings which were the worst offender and inbound was Air AVI who had no food on board due to the strikes but both Olympic Reps and the ground staff failed to inform us of this in the 5 hours we were sat in the airport waiting to go. All we had for the 4 hour flight was one glass of water or a glass of coke - hopeless.

Olympic Holidays

Poor rep service on departure home. A 4 hour delay and no info from reps. Had to hunt them down for food voucher info and was given 2 separate stories. We booked for 7 nights and only had 6.5 nights as we arrived at resort at about 2 am (not due to a delay). This meant we only had 6 days in resort and we left at 10 am on the seventh day so it was a shortened holiday. Also the flight times were changed twice by Olympic in the lead up to us leaving and the arrival times on the tickets was wrong and did not fully take into account the 2 hour time diference and the 4 hour flight time - it simply did not add up.

Zygos

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Zygos. With only 9 rooms available to guests (the Olympic rep lives in the other room), the rooms are very basic to say the least. We had room 7 - a one bed ground floor apartment. The layout was weird with two single beds in the lounge - with a settee. The kitchen was off this room. The bedroom with 2 single beds was off the living room with the bathroom off the bedroom meaning that anyone sleeping in the living room has to go via the bedroom to go to the bathroom - unusual. The kitchen was very basic - just a frying pan and a huge 4 pint saucepan and assorted knives /forks. There was a kettle and a two ring table top cooker thing with combined oven/grill. Actually, despite my misgivings, the cooker worked very well. We asked for a smaller saucepan and a kitchen plug which we got by the owner going out to buy the plugs and giving a saucepan from the bar. There was aircon payable locally but we didnt use it.

Hot water was intermittent... as it seemed to be solar powered I expected it to be hot in the day and cool at night but it turned out to be a guessing game when it would be hot. When not hot, it was luke warm. It was more often hot than not.

Roomkeeping was just one visit on day 4 to give us fresh sheets/towels and to empty the kitchen bin once so that was poor in my opinion.

Being a family run place, it had a 'homely' feel about it. I thought that Eva (the owner) and Carol did a good job keeping guests happy. You are not really supposed to bring drinks around the pool but we did and didnt get chastised. Other regular guests warned us that Eva would 'shout at us' if we got caught but a bottle of water and the odd coke is not a hanging offence IMO. The pool, area would get cramped if most of the guests decided to sit around the pool but when we were there, only a few couples regularly sunned themselves there. Drinks/food prices at the pool bar were acceptable (a litre caraffe of white wine for 6 euro).

Zygos is very handy for Sissi... barely a 5 min walk as opposed to Bella Vista , another Olympic hotel which is a taxi ride away. Opposite Zygos is a great supermarket, allegedly the cheapest and best in Sissi which was very very handy. A big French Stick was 90 cents and an average bottle of wine could be had for less than 3 euro.

Sissi has a very pretty harbour area and some nice bars. The restaurants around the harbour were poor IMO, catering to tourists and pricey. The best two we found were Mikes place on the walk in to town and Anatoli Taverna through the town and on the road to the beach - both excellent, quite cheap (esp Anatoli), local Greek food, full of locals - always a good sign.

Sissi is also a very good base to explore eastern Crete. Milatos, nearby is a nice place for lunch and I think another place is called Mouchos, a delightful little seaside place with gorgeous local style tavernas. We went to Vai beach at the far end of eastern crete which was very pretty with a nice restaurant overlooking the bay

Car hire with Olympic was 55 euro a day. Just down the road was New Line car hire. Their advertised price was 50 euro a day but we were offered 2 days for 50 euro with fully inclusive insurance which i thought was a good deal. Other places in town advertise 3 days for 38 euro but this excludes insurance which works out at about 20 a day and so is more expensive.

Would we go back?. To Zygos, with its imperfections - yes - its a 2 star but you have paid your money and you get what it says on the tin. Sky Wings - No No No. But later in the year I see flights are with Thomas cook which give you seven full nights and seven full days (so a day more). The weather was awesome and Crete was lovely and the food was to die for. Why go anywhere else? (lol)

PS - The weekly sunday BBQ was one of the highlights of our stay and well worth the 15 Euro. The food was plentiful and the female singer was good at keeping an atmosphere going.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2016-Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

First people in after the winter shutdown, the room smelt very damp, the bed smelt damp.
Tried to keep the windows open to air it off but not very successful.
Very basic in cutlery, no tin opener or bread knife.
Pool was okay but all one depth so no good for non-swimmers.
No hot water in the sinks even though the immersion heater was supposed to have been put on for us. No bathmats in the bathroom so take an old towel to stand on as the floor is lethal.
Very tired decor the pictures on the wall were rusty and do not look at the ceiling !
Maid service was not good, towels changed once and the sheets were not changed at all in the week we were there. Bins emptied 3 times.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunhappy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We loved every minute of our 2 week stay at the zygos. As stated in other reviews the appartments are basic, but clean and safe and more than meet 2 stars. The rooftop pool is wonderful to relax and unwind the day away. Carol looks after evreyone so well during the day she is so helpful and always smiling! Eva and Yanis are the owners who sit back and let you get on with your holiday, they are not pushy but are there to help you with anything. The barbecue night is great value, so much tasty food, a chance to mmet other guests and join in with some greek dancing.The harbour and tavernas are a short stroll away and supermaket on the doorstep. I cannot fault the zygos and cant wait to return next year. Thankyou to Eva, Yanis and Ramona for being such wonderful friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazimoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed at the Zygos and it was fantastic and I wanted to stay. The family were very friendly the barbacue was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jewly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Never have I been so sad to leave a holiday behind. Eva, Yianni and Carol are amazing nothings too much trouble. The location near the harbour is excellent in a quieter area of Sissi, not that Sissi is noisy. Carol who is welsh cooks a mean english breakfast and the family atmosphere brings people back year after year, I met some so I know thats true.

The only down side was the large complex next door that can be very noisy but tends to go quiet between 11 and 12pm and i had read about the dreaded room 8 so was a little anxiuos when i discovered that was our room. I have to say, what the hell were they moaning at. The room basic but homely was ideal and having stayed at many places in greece i was very pleased.

We will go back next year to see our new friends and enjoy a couple of weeks of peace and relaxation and Carols cooking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I have stayed in Sissi twice before and was aware of what to expect. The village is very scenic and everything you need is easily accessible. Zygos did not dissapoint at all. Eva and Yannis are the most helpful and welcoming people you could meet. The Hotel next door does get a bit loud but not for too long. but what do you expect, you are on holiday with a great variety of people and children who also want a memorable experience. I will be going back to Zygos certainly for the next few years. Being a small complex it is easy to meet people and make freinds.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossyman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We read carefully all of the reviews for this hotel, and decided on balance that we would give it a try. We were certainly not disappointed. Yes, the accommodation is basic (but perfectly serviceable, and what do people expect from a 2+star?); yes, the noise from the nearby complex can be very loud (but rarely after 11.30pm, and only in certain rooms); yes, you might get the odd bug (but it's the Med, for heaven's sake - what would you expect?)

We travel to be tourists - out and about all day, and back to the Hotel for a last drink before bed. To that end, Zygos suited us perfectly. Eva and Yianni cannot do enough to make you happy. We landed in Room 8 on our first night and were deafened by the nearby disco. (Other people had Room 8 and were not at all bothered, I should add!) We spoke to Eva and she moved us at once; after that, we slept soundly. The hosts are certainly NOT money-grubbers, but remember that seven months' work has to pay for five months' idle time in the winter, so don't blame any trader in Sissi for getting what he/she can from the tourists.

We would certainly recommend Zygos. I would also offer the following tips:
1. Buy the air-conditioning (7 Euros a day) - it gets VERY hot in Sissi!
2. Take a plug-in insect-o-cutor, not a repellent. Just zap the little blighters and be done with it! (Check out Amazon for some good deals on these.)
3. Please feed the local cats. For a town full of restaurants, there is not a single rat or mouse to be seen. The local cats keep the town completely free of vermin, but no one else really looks after them. Our little family on the balcony ate well on cheap spam from the local supermarket.
4. Malia Cars or Mevis Cars offer good deals on car hire, but read the small print on all of the deals from them and other traders. Don't leave yourselves exposed on insurance.
5. Buy a four-way socket extension from the local supermarket (6 Euro) if you don't have one. The fridge is always on, and you can use the adaptor to charge your camera batteries throughout the day while you are out.
6. Get the Rough Guide to Crete if you want to be out and about. We never had a dull day in two weeks. There is plenty to see and do either by bus or car.
7. Make the walk to Boufos Beach (east of Sissi, about 30 minutes, sometimes called Kalimera Kriti beach). It's fantastic sea swimming and the beach is pure sand. Bed and parasol hire is expensive (11 Euros) but it's worth every cent.

Go to Zygos. We met some lovely people there and we can be as fussy as anyone when we feel we've been let down, but that was certainly NOT the case at Eva's and Yianni's.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanbrown489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sissi hotels
0.5 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
MariGianna Apartments
0.5 mi away
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort
13.3 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Grecotel Meli Palace
Grecotel Meli Palace
#5 of 18 in Sissi
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zygos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zygos

Address: Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Sissi
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hotel Zygos Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing