We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Palm Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Bay Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Sissi
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just back from another lovely relaxing stay at the Palm Bay. The wonderful perfumes from all the flowers & fruit trees that grow within the pathways make this a unique place to stay. As others have commented it is not going to get a Michelin Star for it's food, but you won't go hungry with traditional Cretan fair.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 353 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Loved this hotel. Rooms are clean and basic but our room had two balconies one of which was huge. Stayed on B&B and as previous people have said had a few strange items like chocolate cake and rice pudding but plently of other choices and was happy with it. Staff are really friendly and helpful and hotel in a great position. Sissi is a lovely resort but we did hire a car for a few days to get out and about. Great tavernas. We would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unhappybunny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just got back from Crete (12th. Sept. 2012.). Must admit after reading reviews about Palm Bay we wondered what the food would be like but it wasn't that bad and we never left hungry! It was basic, different and catered for all nationalities and its always interesting to eat different foods., i've never ate chocolate cake for breakfast but i really enjoyed it . Or rice pudding.. We did make jokes about having SPAM everyday though.
The Hotel itself is perfect, traditional Cretan colours and layout is relaxing and a pleasure to walk through the colourful and well kept gardens.
Rooms are clean and comfy, maid service excellent, pool area is first class. We never used it because Hotel is next to sea and ideal swimming area is less than five minutes walk. But beware of the small fish, a free pedicure if you stand still long enough! Hotel has great position for Tavernas,bars and shops.
We enjoyed most evenings at the Sunset Bar(Sissi Mini Golf) watching the waves. Tried different Tavernas, we found Edem Taverna the best., opposite Alexandros Hotel.
Would definitely go back to this hotel again and staff very friendly and work hard!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chunk300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Palm Bay Hotel in Sissi is a traditional Greek Hotel set in a truly lovely setting.
This hotel is the first time that we have ever been able to enjoy a hotel balcony due to the natural shade from the palm trees.
The standard of cleanliness is very good throughout the hotel.
Rooms and the bathroom are cleaned daily,and I mean cleaned !
We were staying half board and found the food to be simple greek fair, with no frills.
Breakfasts were ok if you like continental style food, (we got by with fruit, bread honey etc)
We found that the evening meals were a bit too simple a mixture so we ate out 5 out of the 7 nights and I must say that we had some lovely meals within 5 minutes walk away.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would return on a bed & breakfast deal next time.

Room Tip: High floor harbour or sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daveeboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Myself and my husband spent two weeks at the Palm Bay in August and it was a delight! The rooms were typically Greek, no frills but clean and adequate with a balcony with a sea view. However the public areas of the hotel were beautiful! Bougainvillea cascaded all around, grapes grew above our heads on the balcony and there were citrus trees growing in the grounds! The web site for the hotel showed swinging hammock chairs which I thought looked fun, but cynically thought there would be two or three and we would never get near... there are lots, very comfy and fun and we were always able to find a quiet corner with a couple of hammocks to enjoy a carafe of wine, I have never spent so much time in any hotel that I have stayed in, but the Palm Bay is so attractive and peaceful!
There have been a lot of negative comments on here about the food, well we have travelled all over Greece, both islands and mainland and the beakfasts were certainly above average and perfectly adequate. Every day there were eggs - omelettes plus fried or boiled, cereal, meat and cheese, yoghurt and honey, cereals and fresh bread and several other items I even managed to get an acceptable cup of tea! Don't expect a "full English", you are in Greece!! But the breakfast choice was perfectly acceptable and one of the better ones that we have had in Greece. We only stayed B&B but I had a look at the evening meal buffet, the food looked ok but little choice, we were glad to use the very good local tavernas of an evening, however the one day we had lunch in, it was simple but very tasty.
Despite some negative comments about staff we found them very pleasant, the girls at the bar especially who make lovely ice creams! The cleaners work hard to keep everywhere looking good and we watched the pool being cleaned each morning!
All in all we recommend the beautiful Palm Bay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SanmarcoMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having read previous reviews was a little worried,however was VERY pleasantly surprised. The setting of the hotel is ideal as well as amongst beautifully kept gardens. Rooms very clean. Staff really friendly and as for the food...fantastic..can not understand why some people had said food was awful. I have stayed at many hotels and can say there was not a problem with the food!! We only had B& B but there was a fantastic choice from fried eggs to omellettes..fresh fruit..fresh bread..greek yoghurt and honey. We also discovered some lovely restaurants in the resort..includung the Pink Flamingo..lovely food and very friendly staff, also a good price. Also a walk around to other side (harbour) lovely restaurants including Mama mia. Again good price and very friendly staff. We also booked trips via Thomas Cook..all I can say is DONT THOMAS COOK IT!! they charge double!! same trips can be booked locally for half the price! We loved Plam Bay and will certainly return! :-)

Room Tip: Go for a balcony..slightly bigger than ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ange Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a no thrills hotel but this is part of its charm, the staff were very freindly and helpful. We stayed here a week and enjoyed it very much, it was not busy I would say 66% full, so the pool and sun lounge area was never crowded. The hotel itself is comfortable, the rooms clean and adequate, our room had a view to the sea which was nice. We had breakfast in the hotel, which was ok, but the restaurants round about were great. The beach close to the hotel was just ok, but the beach about 10 mins walk away was far better. If you just want to relax and eat out each night then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GRB-hsbsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sissi hotels
0.1 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#6 of 18 in Sissi
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
#10 of 18 in Sissi
859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castello Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto Sisi Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sissi Mare
Sissi Mare
#11 of 18 in Sissi
61 reviews
13.2 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Bay Hotel

Address: Sissi Village, Sissi, Crete 72054, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Sissi
Price Range: $39 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Palm Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Bay Sissi
Hotel Palm Bay
Palm Bay Hotel Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing