We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonderful Anixi”
Review of Anixi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anixi Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Sissi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Have just come back from the Anixi Apartments, our second stay, I would like to say we were treated like royalty but we were treated better, we were treated like friends, Helena and Bill are the best of hosts, the rooms are spotless, the pool is perfect, the food, well, it is fabulous, I could go on with a long list but I would bore you, perfect location, relaxing, friendly, I couldn't recommended it higher, just go!!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank patty170556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have been to Sissi three times now and are already planning next years stay. To compliment the quaint and quiet village / port of Sissi you have the ANIXI Apartments. The rooms are spacious, the view amazing (sunsets are to die for), the pool area more than large enough for the residents and non-residents (and ANIXI is popular even to those staying at the All-inclusives) and the bar comfortable and friendly. The Management and staff are very approachable and friendly and you will be on first name terms within hours of arriving. Although there are many restaurants around the small harbour, we have found Anixi's home made Greek meals could not be beaten in terms of quality or price. €8 for a meal oozing flavour, who could complain. We have travelled to the Greek islands twice a year for the last ten years and although loving all of our holidays, this is the first time we have felt compelled to write a review. Stay at Anixi's, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is our ninth year of visiting the aparments, fabulous place, great people, friendly atmosphere, only 5 minutes walk into local town, great beaches nearby, definitely the best place to stay in crete, many of our friends and family have also visited and agreed this is certainly a place to visit if you like great views, good people, lovely food and cold beer, one year we stayed for 5weeks with the children, this year we are visiting twice and our daughter is also spending a week here with her friend, it is her first holiday alone, but sissi is a very safe, family resort, that has some bars,tavernas and shops.

Room Tip: would definitely recommend this apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimbirski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I haven't had the pleasure of staying at the Anixi apartments YET! but its certainly worthy of a review about the bar. We have visited Sissi many times and the Anixi bar is always on our list of places to visit. This is due to the delightful owners Vasili and Eleni, who make you so welcome that we consider them as friends. Its in a fantastic location and sitting watching the sunset is truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greeceNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in the hotel across the road all inclusive and this was poor. We ventured across the road to Anixi and were made very welcome . My son and i played pool there most days and the bar man Jack was excellent. Then we tried the food which was all freshly made and top quality , every one at Anixi was so welcoming anf friendly even the liitle family dog who sat on the wall and watched us play pool Anixi was also a lovely place to sit on an evening enjoying a drink while watching the sun go down
Spent our last night in Sissi here and had a lovely meal , try the Mousakka as its really really good .
Thanks to all at Anixi and hope perhaps to stay with you some time in the future
David , Norma , Nathan

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidnorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We just got back from one of the best holidays we have ever had, and one of the main reasons was these charming apartments and the lovely people who run them.

This isn’t a five star hotel - it’s just simple and straightforward accommodation at a fair price. But although it’s simple, it’s certainly not basic. The apartment we rented had a double room and bathroom, plus quite a large living area with cooking facilities in the corner. It was light and airy (that doesn’t mean draughty – just not hot and stuffy!), the décor was modern but restful. And it was all kept really clean. The balcony is big enough to sit out and eat, and overlooks the pool, with the sea a few metres beyond. It was really idyllic.

We weren’t sure if we wanted the optional breakfasts – English or continental – so we decided to try them for a day or two. But we did want them – every day!

The other bar food was really tasty and reasonably priced too, offering several Greek choices as well as the usual burgers and pizzas. Jack the barman whips up plenty of cocktails I’ve never heard of before, though he does insist on saying “good morning” whatever the time of day!

Sometimes it’s the little things that set the tone. For example, there were complimentary drinks waiting in our fridge, and being able to connect our smartphone to the internet from the bar or our balcony - for free - was really useful.

What we wanted was a place where we could relax; choose for ourselves when we slept or ate in, when we read on our balcony and when we explored the restaurants and tavernas. There are plenty of these in walking distance, as well as a choice of supermarkets for self-catering supplies.

Beware the mosquitoes. They get into the rooms at night unless you close the shutters and curtains before you put the lights on – but that’s not the fault of Anixi Apartments – it’s the same everywhere.

You really must go if you enjoy the things we enjoyed: Clean, spacious apartments, reasonable food and drink at the bar, a nice little town with some good tavernas not over-spoilt with tourists, and a beautiful harbour at its heart. The nearest beach is 20 mins walk away, and the best one is 25 mins distant, so you have to decide if you like walking or want to hire a car for sightseeing.

But the main reason we liked this place was that we felt at home. The owners are a couple in their thirties with a young family, and they are just so welcoming and friendly, without in any way crowding you when you want to do your own thing.

So whatever you do, you must avoid this place – you’ll just spoil it for us :)

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. Apartments are worth the (little) extra if you plan to spend much time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich-n-Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We have just returned from our two week vacation at the Anixi apartments, As usual our vacation was so enjoyable it was hard leaving everyone behind.
Eleni, Bill, Jack and Jacks's Mum are so welcoming and cannot do enough for you, any inquiry, request will be met/fulfilled, honestly nothing is too much trouble.
Our apartment was spacious, clean, and had the most amazing balcony overlooking the sea and pool. The apartment itself is basic but has a home form home feeling. We had 4 beds, two in the main bedroom and 2 in the open lounge area. The cleaner cleaned every other day, bedding and towels were changed twice during our stay but additional towels can be requested for a small fee. There is air conditioning in the apartment, however we found leaving the shutters open during the evening was sufficient. There is a small fee for the air conditioning should you need it.
There is a small shower in the bathroom, typically a wet room, but meets all your needs.
There are a numer of chairs, dining table and chairs also in the apartment.
There is also a table and chairs set on the balcony with a clothes airer.
A safety depositi box is also available should you need it (we did not)
On arrival into the apartment we found complimentary drinks in the fridge, a refreshing welcome after the early morning flight (3AM)
The apartment is self catering, you will find you have everything you need should you decide to use the self catering facilities, however an extensive inexpensive menu is available should you decide to relax and not cook during your stay.
The food is simple but tasty, the full english breakfast including the continental breakfast are good value for money, 6 euro, the amount of food, toast, bread rolls, tea/coffee and ornage juice is more than enough and will put you on for the whole day should you decide to go for the breakfast options. There are other options, fresh fruit salad, eggs on toast, etc should you prefer a smaller portion.
Lunch snacks and evening meals are tasty and cooked to perfection, everything is freshly prepared so you may need to wait a while during busy times, but you can pre-order if this is a problem, albeit the wait is worth while.
The drinks menu is extensive, 60 cocktails to choose from too, I can say the ones we had we very good.
There is a large pool, with many sun loungers and parasols, there is no need to rush down to get a bed, or the best sunny spot, the whole pool area is one big sun trap.
The pool, itself is crystal clear and lilo's are permitted.
A pool table, table tennis and mini golf is also available on site, with a number of board games for all in the main bar area.
TV is also available in the main bar area, most if not all main football matches are shown.
From Anixi it is a short walk into the village itself, many restaurants line the harbour although we found Mama Mia to be the best, there are a few jewellers, bank, bars and car rental companies, you will also find a couple of supermarkets just minutes from Anixi.
Whilst there is only a small beach in Sissi itself although we hired a car so drove to a number of bigger beaches nearby.
Car hire in Sissi is relatively inexpensive, we used Smile, make sure all insurances are included, not forgetting the excess, there are cheaper companies out there but not all options are included so beware! Driving around the island is relatively easy, but care should be taken on the roads.
We paid 140.00 euro for 4 days.
During our visit we drove to Elounda and Plaka from Plaka we took a fishing boat to Spinalonga, a trip worth taking, I suggest you read the book "the island" by Victoria Hislop before visiting the island itself. The trip cost 8 euro's for three of us, entry onto the island is 2 euro per adult children are free up to the age of 19.
We also visited water mania 22 euro (gate price) per person, the park has many of slides/attractions suitable for all ages. However the park was full of rude Russian's who push and shove to the front of any queue, including hogging all the sun loungers!! But a fun day anyway.
Neromilos (greek taverna) is a short walk outside of Sissi, from anixi you can get a taxi for 6 euro (Bill will call the taxi for you), the restaurant is owned by Nikki and her Husband Mike, it is well worth a visit although you will need to book, again ask Bill and he will be more than happy to contact then for you.
The food was simply divine, the complementary srarter is delicious (meat with bread), the mains are plentyful with a number of specials each day, the Kleftiko, meatballs and Stifdo is to die for and should be tried.
After your mains a complimentary dessert of grapes and cheese cake will be delivered to your table, the sweet is nothing like I have ever tasted before....................Delicious!!!
Finally a shot of Raki or Metexa is brought to your take however I do think both are an aquired taste but a lovely gesture.
All in all our holiday to Sissi was fantastic, we have no complaints, Bill and Eleni at Anixi are two of the most gracious hosts you will ever meet, they will do anything to make sure your stay is enjoyable, so do not hesitate to stay at Anixi, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank savannah1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sissi hotels
0.1 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Sissi
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castello Village Resort
0.5 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Bay Hotel
Palm Bay Hotel
#12 of 17 in Sissi
349 reviews
13.4 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anixi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anixi Apartments

Address: Sisi Lasithiou Crete, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sissi
Price Range: $29 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anixi Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anixi Apartments are located approximately 5 minutes walk from the picturesque little fishing village of Sisi and they are within 1500m of the main sandy beach, and 300m from a small manmade beach. The complex is built in traditional Cretan style and has a lovely swimming pool, pool-bar/restaurant with free Wi-Fi access, and a large area around the pool for long sunbathing hours overlooking the clear blue water of the Aegean sea, just 30m away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Anixi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anixi Apartments Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing