We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maria Appartments - great place”
Review of Maria Hotel & Apts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Hotel & Apts
Ranked #3 of 4 Sissi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely hotel and the owners are both fab. its a little basic but you would expect that for the budget. the only drwback was that the internet went down a few times whilst we were there which was frustrating - mostly becasue of a lack of communication about why and when it would be back on.
however, the rooms are all clean and the there is a pool and a snack & drinks bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alaryk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 308 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have just returned from yet another lovely holiday at the Maria apartments in Crete - it was our fourth visit and just as enjoyable as the previous three. Yiannis and Sofia and the entire family are lovely and very welcoming and the hotel has that wonderful Greek family atmosphere. The lovely Maria is still around and as usual spends most of her time chasing after her grandchildren - but we did hear tell she was also rearing a pig (caught hosing it down one day) destined for the pot in a few weeks apparently.
Adorable Barbara - the ever cheerful cleaner always makes us smile. Every day she would leave something in our room to make us laugh - she creates manequin figures from my dressing gown - arranging it in a different pose each day - one day with an onion for a head and our glasses cases for feet:-)
We attended the BBQ both weeks while we were there and its very good value - Sofia's cooking is legendary, and one day she cooked us the best stifado we have ever had in 20 years of going to Greece for our holidays.
We met so many nice people and even ran in to a few we had met before. Almost everyone we spoke to had been before or were definitely going to book again for next year. we will also be returning next year all being well. We dont make Maria's our main or only holiday but we are always drawn back as Sissi is so beautiful and Maria's is so friendly.
It makes me cross when people moan. They obviously dont get Greece! The hotel does not offer luxury accommodation but it does offer a wonderful Greek experience. You also need to remember its a family hotel with the family living on site and if they are not prepared to embrace that then dont go. Having said that they are missing out - Maria appartment Hotel in Sissi is Brilliant!

Room Tip: There is some road noise for apartments at the front of the building but we have found that if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank birdie156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a great 18 days again this year at the Maria's. Met old friends and made new ones as repeat visitors abound. All at the Maria's work so hard to please and we love the snacks/food Sophia cooks, the location, the pool bar and above all the atmosphere. Even love the way Yianni and Sophia's son Manoli spends most of his time being told off as he is such a bundle of energy!

Also one night Mr. GeordiePants, Yiannis and John went off to watch the local Heraklion Team play one night and Mr GP enjoyed this very much, along with the copious amounts Metaxa he drinks whilst on holiday!

Please note you get what you pay for in terms of the room and if you need anything like a kettle, knives, forks etc then you only have to ask but please don't expect to the get the ritz for the price - but do expect a friendly, warm family run business.

Have to say though surprised at Christine P's rather offensive and unnecessary comments about her fellow guests being "idiots" for reserving sun beds at the pool as she was at the apartments at the same time as we were (although I don't recognise her) and I am happy to say that there were more than enough sunbeds to go round.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Maria hotel is in the perfect location, quiet and a quick walk to the centre of Sissi and its wonderful scenery and tavernas.

From the title of this review, you will see that the Maria is kept extremely clean by the lovely Sofia. Everywhere is spotless. The room (no. 15) was a bit shabby and very small. You had to sit on the loo with your feet in the shower tray otherwise the toilet roll holder was on your knee! The utensils in the kitchen were very limited - we didn't even have a kettle - but then who wants to cook while on holiday.

The pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds (although you do get idiots who still reserve
'their' beds with towels) and the bar is great, with a great menu and the food is lovely.

Found the aircon, which you will definitely need, expensive at 42 euros for a week and if you want to keep your room till 6pm its an extra 25 euros, but worth it if you have a late flight.

Overall, if you are happy with a very basic, but clean room, this is the place for you. Would definitely recommend it if you are not after luxury. It has everything you need, in a great location.

Room Tip: Don't go to room 15, awful view and a bit shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had 10 nights here at the end of August, and found it a very relaxing, friendly place to be.
Sophia and Yannis work very, very hard, to ensure you feel at home, and one, or the other of them is always around if you need anything, whilst Maria spends most of her time looking after their two small children, so a real, family affair!.
Yes, the accommodation is basic, but then so are most of the self catering appartments in Crete. Small, two ring hob, fridge, and a couple of plates, and bowls. But, to be honest, with a lovely bakery a short stroll away, (to the right), and plenty of Taverna's to choose from, who wants to cook anyway? The Pool is spotless, (Yannis' pride and joy), and the snacks and drinks at the bar are reasonably priced, although we were disappointed with the BBQ night, which was quite expensive (13 euro's each, no discount for children), for what was essentially a couple of pieces of meat, and some (lovely) salads. Then Yannis lead the way with a bit of Greek Dancing , and we were all encouraged to join in. All over in an hour, (unless you wanted to carry on drinking at the bar). Our toilet cistern broke whilst we were there, but a new one fitted and working within an hour of bringing it to their attention. The whole Hotel is looking generally a bit tired, and could do with a lick of paint here and there, ( and new towels), but, you know what? It's a brilliant location, just far enough off the beaten track to quiet, and chat around the pool/bar/garden with your fellow holiday makers. Met some lovely people, everyone soooo friendly, and never had a bad meal, or sloppy service anywhere in Sissi. The one downside, is that you can't get anywhere else easily. Only one bus a day out of Sissi at 9.15am, unless you want to hike in the heat to the main road (about a 30 minute walk) so we did feel a bit trapped. Try it for yourself!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less of a view, but are cooler at night, and are in the shade after 11am.Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillyAnn34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned from here on Thursday. Had a great relaxing week by the pool. Traveled with our 4 year old daughter who I could not get out the pool as only 80cm deep at one end so could stand up and just wanted to stay in. Made to feel welcome from the start and must go to the BBQ night as great fun dancing around the flames. Free Wi-Fi in the bar and by the pool so great for keeping up to date with news. Very near the town only 8 minute walk right down to harbour so easy to get to everything and 3 local restaurants just up the road that are not set up just for tourists. Will return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Microe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The jewel in the Maria's crown is the pool. I spent many happy hours in it. It's kept spotlessly clean and is a joy in all that Cretan heat. The hotel is a few minutes stroll away from the town which makes it a quiet and peaceful location with a great view of the surrounding mountains. There are some great tavernas just up the road and I also recommend the barbecue evening where the food is plentiful and music is laid on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sissi hotels
0.3 mi away
Sissi Mare
Sissi Mare
#10 of 17 in Sissi
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Bay Hotel
Palm Bay Hotel
#12 of 17 in Sissi
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castello Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Sissi
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
MariGianna Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Hotel & Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Hotel & Apts

Address: Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sissi
Price Range: $31 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria Hotel & Apts 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Rooms, Superior Room Only 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Maria Hotel & Apts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel And Apts
Maria Hotel & Apts Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing