We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel in great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Sissi
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Although with no beach this hotel has a lot to offer both families and couples. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly, fun and professional. The rooms are basic but very clean and modern and we had a great view of the sea. There is a choice of 3 pools, so you can relax at the adults only pool or brave the livelier pool on the other side of the road. The hotel has an interesting layout with clusters of rooms interspersed with flowers and greenery. The Cretan evening is an additional 10 Euros per person but well worth the extra cost. The food was very good with great choice. However, the food on the other nights was not what you would expect from a 4* hotel.
Sissi is a small but lovely village with plenty of bars and restaurants and a delightful harbour. There are a couple of beaches within walking distance but I would recommend water shoes as otherwise your entry into the water is not very dignified! Hiring a car is probably also a good idea as there is a bus stop about 40 minutes walk on the main road. We were told you don't how where the bus is going until you arrive, so could be an adventure!
All in all a good holiday with much laughter and good company.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylors94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 859 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel was really convenient for access to the centre of Sissi, which is picturesque with a lovely harbour for swimming in.
There was always plenty of variety of food available at the self service buffet, and was well cooked. There was always a barbecue option. If the choice was not to our taste, there were numerous good value restaurants within a short walk.
The staff were always very friendly, although they may have seemed a bit standoffish at first. They all worked hard to keep the entertainment, such as it was, flowing. There was always the option of a stroll to Sissi for other forms of entertainment. There was a premium for the cretan night but the food provided made it well worth while.
Our room was cleaned daily and fresh towels provided regularly by very friendly cleaning staff.
Overall we had a really lovely holiday, and it was good value for money.

Room Tip: It would be well worth having a sea view. We didn't use the spa, so can only mark it as average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here first week in September in a Junior Suite. The staff are very friendly and make you feel as if you are their friend. The hotel is very clean. The Cretan evening on a Thursday is not to be missed. If you do not want to attend there is a Tropical Bar the other side of the road. The drinks are very good on the all inclusive. Towels are changed every day and the room is cleaned every day. The rooms across the road from the hotel can be a bit of walk if you are elderly or infirm. Otherwise they are not a problem. Upon arrival booking in was quick and and the Reception Staff were very efficient. Air Conditioning was an extra. The food was average for the all inclusive guests.
All in all a very good hotel for the price.

Room Tip: For the elderly or infirm choose a room near the Reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A great hotel right at sea front. Entertainment for both children and adults.Very friendly staff who make you feel part of a family, especially bar staff. Meals average for A/I guests in a small relaxed atmosphere dining room.The Cretin night is not to be missed. If you do not want to attend you can use the other part of the hotel across the road. One thing I would mention is that air conditioning is not free. Sissi is a small village with many nice eating places. Ideal for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel itself was ok , but we stayed in the self catering apartments on the opposite side of the road, they are spacious and more modern than the hotel which has much smaller rooms in need of upgrade, we could not fault the cleanliness of the rooms, the rooms were cleaned daily and the beds changed 3 times in one week! The staff are lovely and friendly. The only down side is the quality of food, very poor, and not much choice,crab sticks one nite!! I think they cater more for continental customers which is great if you like salad every day, although they did have Brussels sprouts twice in the week with little else to go with it! The alcohol is poor, the cheapest local brands going if you wanted better quality you had to pay extra, but to be honest you could pay less and get better quality in the local bars, the beer glasses are small tumblers you don't even get a half pint! I would recommend staying at sissy bay but you would get better value for money self catering as the local bars and restaurants are very cheap and much better quality.

Room Tip: Choose the junior suites they are large and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here end of April begining or March 2012, last minute booking and very happy, transfer time was 1 hour and we were the fifth stop i would take a private taxi next time as the hotel was not a hours drive away at all.

Upon arrival booking in was quick and the staff were very friendly, air conditioning was extra however due to the time of year we did not need it, our room number 702 was a ground floor room by the small adults only pool, it had a small balcony and a bathroom with a stand up shower, the shower was very powerful however there was no shower curtain and it did not matter how careful you were the whole bathroom would be covered in water after a shower, the room had a TV with limited english channels however i am of the opion if you go on holiday and moan about the lack of TV channels then you probably should have stayed at home, there was a fridge which we stocked from the two shops which are 2 minute walk from the room, one of them being next door to the entrance to the hotel however walk just down the road and go to the larger one for better deals.

We never used the adults only pool as there was no bar area and made the 2 minute walk to the Blue Lagoon swimming pool which was large with a children's area and also a outdoor Jacuzzi (more of a gimmick) but still nice, there was a bar area with friendly staff, one pool table, air hockey and other games for kids, there was also giant chess. Due to being out of season we never had a problem getting sun beds and got the same beds for our 5 night stay with generous umbrellas and shading available, the bar area had sofas and lots of comfortable seating and the bar staff were excellent, on our first day we missed lunch due to flight times and this was noticed straight away by the staff who offered us food and brought it over to us.

The Sea front pool bar was only open during meal times due to being out of season but i could imagine would be very nice in season due to the elevated views of the beach and spectacular sunsets.

Food was basic but very nice and the staff mixed the menu as much as they could but typical European bacon, basically hot ham but again your on holiday just enjoy it.

All inclusive drinks were good, i stuck to the beer and the wife started off drinking the local spirits but was not to fond of them,however buying the occasional brand vodka and fanta was only about 5 euros so not alot, they did include soft drinks but these are un-branded and the coke alternative tasted rather odd but the lemonade did the trick when you did not feel like a beer, there was also a coffee machine which could used at all times on the all inclusive package and was of very good quality.

We would usually eat dinner then walk to the local harbor most night which was a 10 minute walk away, there was some very nice bars and restaurants, there was also a bar with mini golf which was great fun and very cheap, the lady who owns the place was very friendly and would just sit down and chat to you which made you feel very welcome, although i think this venue would be very busy during the season especially July and August with kids but still nice.

This is my second holiday in Crete the first being in a 5 star all inclusive that had all the trimmings and to be honest i had more fun on this one, the seemed more laid back and the other guests did not think they were royalty like my first stay we had a great quiz night that got very competitive and resulted in lots of alcohol being drunk.

The all inclusive package was good however finished at 2300hrs but if your driking all day for free any way then paying for a couple of hours is not an issue as the bar was staying open until the last person left.


To sum up a brilliant last minute holiday however for the money i would not book this in advance i booked 4 days but would not have been as happy if i had booked this 6-8 months in advance.

Attached are some pictures and specifically a picture of the grounds map,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Churchman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The reviews on Tripadviser were very mixed and I really wasn't sure what to expect. We booked very late and did have a limited choice, but overall I was pleasantly surprised and I think many of the criticisms found here are very harsh and unjustified based on our experience.

Sissi is a quieter local town which has seen an influx of the tourist trade but avoids the mayhem of the teenage set in Malia. There were a mixture of English, German, Dutch, French and Russian guests at the hotel when we stayed - with perhaps more Germans than any other group.

My plan was to relax and take advantage of sunshine, the pool and the bar - which worked a treat. We found no problems with the pool, finding tables, sun loungers etc

We did go all inclusive and our family of four ate breakfast, lunch and dinner from the buffet quite happily for the entire week. Overall I thought the food was OK with meat, fish and pasta plus salads available at most sittings. We did miss English tea and bacon during the week .... but to address this see the Jolly Roger (next door).

We only had one sit-down meal out in one of the local tavernas and that made a pleasant change. There were a couple of times that I didn't fancy what was on offer but that probably had more to do with the heat combined with the fact I was eating three large meals a day (unusual for me) but I can understand why people have used the "school dinners" label as there was not always the best selection on offer.

We did pay extra for the Cretan night and I thought the food that night was really very nice - a much wider range of choice and some special local dishes on offer. I confess to not being a fan of local music and dance (Cretan, English, Irish - whatever) but I thought the food was good value for the additional charge.

During the week, we all took advantage of the inclusive drinks ... with only a couple of "additional charge" drinks bought (some milkshakes, a large fresh orange juice and a cocktail from memory). We thought the cola, lemonade and fizzy orange were fine and certainly better than any economy drinks you'd buy in our supermarkets.

The rooms we stayed in were simply furnished and the bathrooms were very modern and well finished - beyond most budget hotels. Furthermore the bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and kept tidy by the maid who visited regularly. We were not surprised by the additional charges for air-con and safe (explained by our agent and mentioned here many times).

I can't agree with any of the criticisms of the staff here - we found people pleasant, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. I'm pretty sure this is a family-run affair rather than a chain and it has that kind of feel about it.

I'm sure there are improvements that could be made and there may be other hotels offering more luxury or better value but I would certainly consider coming back here if I was returning to Sissi.

Room Tip: We had 410 a room with a large private balcony overlooking the pool bar and the sea - and that view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
0.4 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#6 of 18 in Sissi
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castello Village Resort
0.2 mi away
Sissi Mare
Sissi Mare
#11 of 18 in Sissi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
29.6 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#3 of 30 in Agia Pelagia
1,016 reviews
7.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa

Address: Papatheodorou Str. | 2 Km From The Main Highway, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range: $51 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sissi Bay Hotel Sissi
Sissi Bay Hotel And Spa
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing