We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Sissi
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

My parents have been going to Crete for some years now and stumbled upon this little gem! We decided to join in may this year and were not disappointed!

From arriving we were greated by very polite hotel staff and shown to our rooms. The rooms were lovely, very spacious and very clean! Our party consisted of people aged from 16 months to 50 years and everyone had a fantastic time!

The food was lovely, lots of fresh salad, cheeses, fresh bread and varied main meals with fresh fush/ meat being cooked every evening in front of guests! Desserts were plentiful also.

Drinks were absolutely fine, lagers, wine and spirits all very drinkable as well as soft drinks.

The pool area was lovely and clean with ample sunbeds. We were placed near the "quiet pool" which was very relaxed.

Myself and another family member had a massage which was fantastic for 15 €.

We rented a car from a car rental place near to the travel shop just before entering the village, Jimmy the sales person was fantastic and very knowledgeable and the prices were fantastic...best by far!

Overall this hotel was well worth the money, lovely staff, delicious food, excellent drinks and a wonderful hotel over looking the beautiful sea....what more could you want? In fact it is so good, we have booked up again! Happy holidays!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilytulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    302
    153
    82
    47
See reviews for
202
415
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our family holiday and all 4 of us felt very irritated by a number of things, Mostly we found the add-ons outrageous: air conditioning (56 euros/room), safe (26 euros), their Cretan evening, any drinks other than their watered down alcohol, beach towels. Even their sport room cost money to visit. There were 3 machines and you have to book your time they day before. Much better getting up early and running along the beach for free. We found some of the bar staff grumpy and unhelpful. For example when we wanted to fill a bottle with water to take back to our room we were told off as you could only consume food and drink around the pool. Considering it was 40 degrees and they didn't provide bottled water on an all inclusive program, nor water fountains I think this was unfair. We felt that we were begging for everything we asked for. They rationed the cake, told you you were too old for ice-cream. Everything seemed too much trouble and we felt very uncomfortable. You couldn't swim and then sit on the chairs in case they got wet. After 18h30 kids couldn't swim in case they splashed other guests. A very unpleasant atmosphere.The room was extremely basic although we had a glorious sea view. The only redeeming feature! A little more imagination for the evening entertainment would also go along way! Same for the food. Breakfast was really poor. Basically a hotel so full of rules and regulations that they kill all fun and spontaneity you could hope for on a holiday. They clearly don't care if you go back or not. Last year for the same budget we went to Marrakesh and got a lot more for our money. Joanna

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a sea view. Try not to get too close to the restaurant pool as they have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sissi hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had read some bad reviews relating to food, drinks at this hotel so was concerned before arriving. Transfer from airport to hotel by coach took a staggering 3 hours for a 25 min taxi ride journey. So very tired & jaded by time arrived. This was unusual we understand as everyone we spoke to had 1hr long transfers or thereabouts. However, I would take a taxi next time!!
Our party was 8 people including 4 older members (70+) and two minors aged 15 & 3. Reception staff very friendly & courteous, upgraded us to a family room as had booked 2 rooms in error & had emailed them prior to arriving with our concerns about this. Room lovely & modern, much nicer than our previous Greek experience. Parents also had modern clean rooms though their gripe was lack of storage space. We knew before leaving about additional charge re air conditioning & minimal all inclusive package. Air conditioning & whether you need it depends upon your room situation & whether it is shaded or in full sun. Ours was unbearable so we paid for the air con but our parents had shady rooms & didn't feel that they needed it. Our holiday was in August & temperatures were mid to late 30's.
We stuck to the drinks on the all inclusive menu & they were fine for us, beer nice & cold & wine drinkable plonk. Forget about other inclusive hotels where you get day long snacks & cocktails included as you won't find that here but with 3good meals a day you shouldn't need to be snacking in between anyway. Food was always good and varied, always something to suit every taste, one member of our party very fussy eater & she managed to eat well for the whole trip. No one was ill either, always a bonus in these buffet style hotels & shows that hygiene & food standards is good.
Nearest beach is rocky but if you can climb down through the rocks like we did, then the snorkelling is fairly good. The closest beach has a path leading to it but not for the elderly or pushchairs and it is very pebbly anyway,not good on the feet!
We went to the Cretin evening & this was fair entertainment but the hotel food was good anyway, slightly more varied on this night than usual, & for the extra cost & maybe because we had read the must see reviews, we were disappointed & wouldn't do it again.
Receptionists, bar staff, waitresses & waiters all excellent & friendly.
One negative was the ridiculous lack of sufficient towels. In our room we had 2 adults, 2 children & we only ever had 3 bath towels between all of us despite mentioning this at reception. It seems that the agencies that the hotel uses for cleaning rooms have a major lack of towel supplies. My parents did see the funny side when for 2 days they were given just 2 hand towels which they likened to having a shower & drying off using a handkerchief. It doesn't cost much more to supply the correct number of towels & anyway, we were paying for a bath towel, hand towel per person?!
One or two issues with rowdy guests who were rude to staff & made you feel ashamed to be British & who would run up & down past rooms in the early hours disrupting other guests but this is no fault of the hotel & let's hope that next time they go to Ibiza kiss me quick destinations & leave this sleepy, quiet little haven of a hotel to the holidaymakers who want a peaceful relaxing holiday.
Would we go again, definitely YES!!

Room Tip: Don't accept the rooms which have just one little window, staff will happily move you to a much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Cannot understand why this hotel has been slated so much it is really pretty good for Greek standards. Probably on a par with a UK 3 star. Rooms clean and very adequate, we were put in family apt 1st night then transferred 2 large room on other side of hotel which we preferred due 2 location n sea view. Food choice is limited but won't go hungry n as long as aware of up front charges I.e. air con n safe (which should be included) you shouldn't have much 2 grumble about 4 money. Area is beautiful, staff very friendly would consider going back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McCormack04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is quaint, authentic and has a real family feel about it.
We book this last minute for a 9 day holiday in May and was not dissappointed.
Staff were pleasant and helpful with any requests we had. On arrival our family (2 adults & 2 kids) were upgraded to a much bigger room for free which was lovely, although it was situated under the stage (almost) which was a little noisy but only unitl 11-12pm and was not really a problem, I only mention it if you find it hard to get to sleep. Didnt cause us any probs. In fact we had a beautiful view over the sea from back of our room.
The all inclusive was nice and we never had a problem finding something to eat. They could expand on the breakfast a little like with a few more pastries and more fresh fruit but was never hungry.
We paid for the crtian night which was fantastic, and the food was out of this world, so def a must do xxx
Branded drinks are charged as extra and can be pricey so if you like the wine I would say stick to it. The one thing that was alittle dissapointing was the pressure of the soft drinks was very low so they were not very fizzy, hence why I chose not to drink spirits as mixers were flat virtually. But wine was lovely so no probs.
Had a walk down to the harbour for dinner on 2 x nights which was so idillyc and beautiful and the restaraunts look after you so well as they really appreciate your custom. So if you dont mind paying for dinner one night I would recommend having a stroll down there, it was great xx

Pool was lovely and clean and kids had a great time.
The whole family 9 of us, bar the kids had a massage from the spa by our lovely German friend which was so worth the money, so def have one. I think it was 35 euros for full body massage and facial, good deal!

Beach was quite a walk, and not really suitable for elderly or buggies as had to cut across rocks and hills, but was beautiful when there. Only went twice, sea was warm and water was crystal clear. Kids preffered the pool so stayed there most days. That is my only gripe that the beach was not easliy accessible which is a shame.
Weather was beautiful, had 1 overcast day and that day we went out on the happy train which took us to old greek village in mountain and stopped for luch at another little harbour. Half a day trip and had a great time, nice to break the holiday up a bit.

Overall had a lovely time and would recommend to others looking for a quiet - ish holiday with friendly staff and decent food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brookey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in the first week of August in a "junior suite", half board. Having read reviews before we went and with quite a lot of travel experience under our belts, we weren't expecting the height of luxury. However, the rooms were basic at best: low on amenities (including blankets/pillows/toiletries), sparsely decorated, and poorly lit (no light in the shower, only one small window). We found that the maid also stopped making up our beds altogether by halfway through our stay, which was disappointing.

The food was generally good, as long as you get to dinner fairly early: they always had local food available, as well as the 'school dinner' options for those who don't like to go too far out of their comfort zones. We found that drinks were expensive for their quality and were particularly put out to discover that 'orange juice' at breakfast was actually more like Tang, and you had to pay €3 for a small glass of juice from concentrate out of a carton. I can highly recommend the snacks available at the Tropical bar (especially the Cretan specialities) which are very reasonably priced.

The major downside of this hotel was the sense that the staff weren't looking to help guests or make their stays more comfortable, but just to squeeze as much money out of them as possible. When checking in, we were bombarded with a list of 'special offers' and services that we could have for a (high) extra charge, including basics like a safe or air conditioning. In themselves, the safe and airconditioning were poor quality: the safe just had a turn-lock and could be lifted up and carried out of the room with ease. Had we taken up the safe or air-conditioning, we'd have been a further €100 out of pocket. We were also made the special offer of 'the best junior suite', but would have had to fork out €90 for the privilege. It made me wonder what they do with the best junior suite when the hotel is full: I suspect you don't always have to pay for the privilege of a good room.

Whilst there were some good and very helpful staff (especially Sabine in the Tropical Bar), many were unfriendly and unhelpful - particularly a dark-haired woman on reception. For the price of the hotel and it's ostensible star rating, you'd expect slightly more customer service than was offered.

What redeemed the trip was how simply beautiful Sissi and Crete are. Being away from the 'lads on tour' in Malia and the madding tourist crowds was priceless, and we felt that we were able to have a really authentic and relaxing experience in the quiet bays around Sissi. Sissi harbour is great for swimming, and the Kalimera Kriti beach is worth the walk from the hotel. You can also eat locally for not much at all, with the food being of generally very high quality.

In short: I'd recommend Sissi itself, but this hotel is just a place to lay your head.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MEC932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Dear Friends,
I returned from my trip 2-3 days ago and the first thing I decided to do is to write an review
about this hotel.I have been travelling nearly all over the world and stayed in a lot of hotels,but this hotel makes on me and my family a special impression.
They are very professionals and ready to make your stay an unforgettable one.
Special thanks to the staff and the management.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sargis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
0.4 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Sissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
29.6 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castello Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
8.1 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#54 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
11.7 mi away
Elounda Water Park Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa

Property: Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa
Address: Papatheodorou Str. | 2 km from the main highway, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sissi Bay Hotel Sissi
Sissi Bay Hotel And Spa
Sissi Bay Hotel & Spa Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing