We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 28th june until 12th july we were a family of four we arrived at 11.30 at nite and were welcomed with a full meal and drinks which was a great start to the holiday.The hotel itself is in a massive complex and had 7 pools so you could choose quiet pool or noisy one which was handy.the breakfast,Lunch,Dinner were of a great standard there were plenty of choice and you would need to be very fussy if you didn't find something to eat.The animation team and kids club do a great job only if you have young children and they speak german as I didnt hear any english speaking children attending the kids club which was ok with me as my kids are older so didn't go.The bar staff and restaurant staff do a superb job always on the go and pleased to help which was refreshing.The hotel is a five minute walk from the shops but bear in mind there is no pavements so can be quite hairy at night time so beware.The rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels were left.The only negative thing I would say is when it comes to your last day the check out time is 12 oclock which is fine but they switch the tv channels off and also want to charge 60 euro to keep room on till 6 oclock and also 10 euro per person to keep on all inclusive which i think is a bit much of a expense that you dont need on last day so we checked out at 12 sat in reception until pick up time at 7 oclock

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank millerglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

914 - 920 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here with my friend for a week starting 28th June. Starting off with the only bad point; the location. There is not much to do in the town at all the nearest beach is malia beach which u need to either taxi or bus to. We went to stalis beach getting a bus there then got told there was no bus back so had to get a taxi. If you're a family or older couple and don't want to go out then its perfect. We arrived at 2am after being delayed 5 hours and got given a packed lunch. The rooms were nicely furnished and clean. The food was repetitive but there was something for everyone. Everyone says that the drinks are weak but that's total opposite of what we experienced; they put loads in! The staff are amazing, when you've finished your food the ate is gone within a couple of minutes, there are so many staff and they work so hard. One in particular Nikos who is such a laugh stayed up chatting to him at the bar till early hours. The entertainment team were great too so friendly and encourages you to join in with activities. They all do 12 hour days but are still so enthusiastic and friendly throughout. Had a lovely relaxing time here. Probably a hotel more suited to a couple rather than a group of young friends. Don't listen to negative reviews!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurenHine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here at the start of June with 2 friends and we LOVED IT! We had a sea view room, the room was tidy and had so much space. The pools were so relaxing and loved the unlimited cocktails. We went to the Spa and found the girls there professional, friendly and it was worth every penny. All of the bar staff we met were so nice! Our Thomas Cook rep was always smiling and very helpful. We spent a day on Spinalonga Island, the boat trip was a great experience and enjoyed jumping into the sea, the BBQ was good and our tour guide Rula made the history of Spinalonga come alive, it was great to see how much passion she had and it made everyone in the group interested. We went to the beach twice, it was easy to book the shuttle bus and made full use of the cheap pedalos whilst there. After reading some of the other reviews I was worried it would be a pebble beach, pleased to say it was sandy! Our transfer to and from the hotel was only 30 minutes from Heraklion which was a relief as we were told it was 2 hours. Breakfast was pretty good and the afternoon snacks were great. Overall I would recommend the Vasia!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, quieter with fab views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaela20_9_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fed up of reading reviews from fussy people so i thought id leave my review. Stayed in this hotel April, not expecting much as we paid peanuts for the holiday all inc and the reviews are mixed, the staff were absolutely fantastic, especially entertainment, there was always plenty going off around the mail pool, but with the other pools in the hotel if this isn't your thing its easy to get away from it all with no hassel, the food was fantastic, they had fresh cooked specials, fantastic salad and bread selections, the other food was your basic (but nice) things but there was loads to choose from, people always say it was repetitive, at the end of the day they have to cater for everyone so your bound to have chips/ rice etc daily! Drinks were lovely. Rooms were absolutely spotless and nicely decorated/ furnished, cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. the night time entertainment room and underground nightclub is close to some rooms (one which we were staying in) but trust me its so sound proofed you cannot hear a peep. if I had the chance to go back here again I would not hesitate, loved it. Thank you xxxx

Room Tip: There are some rooms with there own private pools, brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatMxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend from June 4th till June 15th. All inclusive package with Thomas Cook.
The transfer from the airport took about half an hour...with the help of a crazy driver!
Instead of putting one big spiel I'll break everything down:

THE HOTEL
Lovely hotel, very clean! Nice bar area inside but could have done with more seating at times. Lots of different pools but we only actually went to 2, one beside our room and the one with the volleyball net which has a bar that has snacks and drinks on offer, including lemon slushies which were amazing! Check in was very quick and easy when we arrived.
Majority of the other guests were Dutch, was always easy to spot the Brits!
The all inclusive stops at 11pm each night which meant having to get lots of rounds in at 10.45pm! There is a reasonable choice of drinks but only 5 cocktails, 2 of which non alcoholic. Also found the drinks to be quite weak.
We never used the Spa as it was quite expensive!

THE ROOM
Our room, 1722, was perfect and exactly what we had asked for, a quiet room with a pool view, which we had requested from Thomas Cook at the time of booking, no extra cost! We had our own balcony which over looked a pool and the sea and it was only a 2 minute walk from the main hotel area.
We had a mini fridge which was stocked up for our arrival with water and juice. The room was well kept and always had lovely fresh clean sheets.
Only complaint about the room was our air conditioning unit in the living room leaked pretty bad, we informed reception who gave us replacement towels and had someone come look it but we just used we one in the bedroom from that day on.

STAFF
On the whole the staff were good. The Duty Manager, Andy, was very good and helpful. The two guys who worked on the bar inside were nice and friendly too. The woman who checked us into the dining area was always smiling and welcoming.
The only problem I ever had with the staff was the waiting staff in the dining room who were constantly hovering about waiting to snatch your plate away as soon as you took your last bite. Also we found it difficult to catch staff to get another drink after your first one so was always ended up ordering 2 at the same time.

FOOD
Food was really good, lots of choice and an amazing selection of breads! Breakfast wasn't very impressive, I usually just had toast and beans! Some mornings I didn't even bother going, if you like eggs then you can get a fresh omelette made with anything you like and also fried eggs.
For lunch you could get toasties with anything of your choice. Dinner they normally had different theme nights such as German or American. For me personally I stayed away from meat, which I normally do when abroad but there was always plenty of option for vegetarian and a big salad bar. There was traditional Greek food on offer too.

SISSI TOWN
The main town of Sissi is gorgeous, lovely little village with a bay and harbour and amazing views of the sunset. There is lots of shops and places to eat and drink. We went to Ormos Cafe a lot which had beautiful views of the sunset. Cocktails on average were about 5-6 euros. There is a small beach just along from the hotel with sun beds and parasols. We went for a swim in the water which I don't recommend if you don't like fish!

ENTERTAINMENT
At the hotel there was the Animation Team who were responsible for entertainment around the hotel, they put on things throughout the day such as water polo and volleyball. At night they had different events on such as karaoke, live music and bingo. To be honest I wasn't that impressed with the Animation Team, it was always the same girl doing all the work and the others just seemed to sit around. There was 'Caribbean' night was they told us was 10 euros a ticket! Thought it was slightly cheeky to be asking for us to pay for the entertainment on an all inclusive package so we didn't bother going.
As most of the guests were Dutch, most of the entertainment was focused around them. Any live singers were always Dutch and there was never anything 'British' which was a bit annoying but I understand they were catering for the masses.

THE HAPPY TRAIN
Just outside the hotel, beside the supermarket there is a pick up for The Happy Train which is a train on wheels which takes you a tour around Sissi and then takes you up in the mountains to a traditional Greek village where you spend about 40 mins walking around. You then go to a beach for an hour and back to Sissi. It costs 15 euros each and I thoroughly recommend it. Amazing views, a little bit of history and getting to see traditional villages is right up my street! It's a good few hours all round trip so defiantly worth the money.

THE BEACH
The hotel offer a shuttle bus service to a sandy beach but the bus cannot go directly to the beach instead it drops you off at a pebbly area and the only way to the sandy beach is climb over the rocks for about 400 yards. If you have young children or a disability then I strong don't recommend it. I was wearing flip flops and struggled a lot. It's very dangerous and there is no clear path. At one point the rocks go high up and there is quite a drop at the edge.
Once you actually get to the beach it's amazing, lovely white sand and clear blue water which I had swim in, didn't see any fish! It costs 3.50 euros a chair and 4 euros for a parasol, costing us 11 euros in total!

HERAKLION AIRPORT
This was the worst part of the holiday! First of all we had to queue outside for over an hour, thankfully it's a country with nice weather! We then got inside only to queue again in the middle of the airport, to then queue again to check in, to then queue again to hand our suitcases over, to then queue again to go through security. There were 4 flights departing at the same time which meant the place was packed with people. Finally got on the plane only to wait some more as there was still people checking in! I understand that this is no one fault as obviously it's a very busy airport but I feel the Thomas Cook staff could have been more helpful as there was a lot of confusion going on with which queue to be in and such like.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to others but I would give it 4 stars rather than 5 as there was some little factors that I have pointed out that have influenced this.
We went for a nice relaxing holiday which is exactly what we had!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SarahK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went with Thomas Cook. The transfer was about an hour and we were the first drop off so not too bad. Reception wasn't particularly well signposted.
Our room was amazing, right on the sea front with a large balcony over looking a small pool. The room was very clean with soft drinks in the fridge. The bed was harder than we're used to so we didn't sleep too well. It was also warm in the room and the air con unit is right over the bed, but we left the air con on in the living room with the door open which seemed to work ok without being too noisy.
We spent most of our time by the snack bar pool, mainly due to the lemon slushies on tap... the attendant was friendly and stopped asking for the room card once she recognised you. You do need to get there reasonably early to get a sunbed.
Foodwise - plenty of salads, meats, cheeses etc. Not an awful lot for vegetarians, and it wasn't the sort of place you'd have a romantic meal. More eat and go. The food does seem to be fresh though and there are the usual chips, pastas and varying meat dishes. I was really glad to eat out one night just to have a romantic proper sit down meal!
We spent a half day at the spa, the thalassotherapy pool is lovely. It is expensive though, in comparison to UK prices. Staff were friendly and attentive and the massages were lovely and seemed to last longer that 25 mins.
Sissi itself is an interesting place, lots of restaurants and souvenir shops. We walked right over to the furthest beach by the Sissi Bay Hotel (Boufos was pebbly and didn't really like it). This was really sandy and protected from the rough sea.
On our last day on checking out we we given a card for complimentary lunch which was great, plus we could leave our luggage in the locked luggage room.
Most evenings we went out for a sunset drink as the hotel isn't really the sort of place for that.
Overall, hotel was ok as a base, room was good (apart from hard bed), food adequate but nothing special and Sissi was a lovely little village to mooch around.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with a balcony, sea view if possible. I think we ended up with the best ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PixieKazza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day trip to the Vasia Beach & Spa... We arrived around midnight after a long trip from the airport, if you come with a tour company take a taxi as its only about 20 mins from airport but by coach 2 hrs as last stop! Checking in was quick and efficient and they provided us with a meal but at midnight not appreciated, we were taken to our room, a junior suite, which was spacious, comfortable and clean, we had a sea view which was an added bonus, but I had been in contact with Eleni the accommodation manager and she arranged this, so cannot comment on other rooms, but the hotel was clean and tidy all round...
It's a large complex with around 1700 rooms but although it has 7 pools at the height of the season feel sure there would be fights over sun beds / umbrellas as there are not enough, reserving them is not allowed according to all the rules but this was not adhered to and if you wanted to get a good space you had to be up at the crack of dawn which is not what I want out of a holiday.
The food is good, but felt sometimes like a works canteen, the drinks very weak but readily available. Entertainment is aimed towards the Dutch/Germans who were the majority at this hotel, so if your English don't expect much. The reception were helpful especially Andrew, we queried our last day as we were extending our room until 6pm due to the late flight but on top of the €60 we had to pay for this we were expected to pay an additional €20 each for lunch we refused as we had paid for a 10 day all inclusive and as we arrived after midnight on our first night meant we only had 9 days but eventually they agreed to give us lunch for free, but not dinner or drinks... The town of Sissi is lovely but no beach to speak of a small man made one about 300m from hotel otherwise it was a bus trip.
We went on a do nothing and rest holiday which this was, would I go again probably not as the complex is too large for us and prefer something smaller, great for families/couples all ages, would I say it was 5 star, no but it's clean, well run got 7 pools and food is good, so I would say it was value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susieb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
13.3 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#6 of 18 in Sissi
493 reviews
20.3 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
13 mi away
Castello Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa

Address: Lasithiou, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sissi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
#2 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
Price Range: $102 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa, a family-friendly hotel situated above a rocky cove in the picturesque fishing village of Sissi. Here you stay in comfortable rooms with breath-taking views over the Cretan Sea and Lassithi Mountains or the pool and garden. The hotel boasts a total of 7 freshwater pools, including a kids' pool, as well as a large spa centre with Mini Spa treatments (8-12 yrs) & Teen Spa treatments (13-15yrs).There are four restaurants and six bars at the hotel, and for those who want to dance the night away, the hotel has a nightclub. Those looking for an active holiday can join in one of many sporting activities arranged by the hotel's animation team or work out in the hotel's well-equipped gym (min age requirement 16 yrs, sports outfit required). For the younger guests, the hotel offers a kids' club and a playground. Whether you are looking for an active or relaxing holiday, SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa is a perfect getaway for all holiday-makers. SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa houses a total of 300 elegant and comfortably fitted rooms with hand-made furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquis Vasia Beach Sissi
Vasia Beach Hotel Crete
Vasia Beach Spa
Vasia Hotel
Vasia Beach Crete
Hotel Aquis Vasia Beach
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing