We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,183)
Filter reviews
2,183 results
Traveler rating
972
763
300
99
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
763
300
99
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team italian restaurant cotton club spiral staircase main restaurant vip maisonette lobby bar private pool all inclusive package evening entertainment great holiday golf buggy a la carte restaurants all inclusive drinks plastic cups thomas cook per week
Filter
Updating list...
1,024 - 1,029 of 2,183 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here with my friend for a week starting 28th June. Starting off with the only bad point; the location. There is not much to do in the town at all the nearest beach is malia beach which u need to either taxi or bus to. We went to stalis beach getting a bus there then got told there was no bus back so had to get a taxi. If you're a family or older couple and don't want to go out then its perfect. We arrived at 2am after being delayed 5 hours and got given a packed lunch. The rooms were nicely furnished and clean. The food was repetitive but there was something for everyone. Everyone says that the drinks are weak but that's total opposite of what we experienced; they put loads in! The staff are amazing, when you've finished your food the ate is gone within a couple of minutes, there are so many staff and they work so hard. One in particular Nikos who is such a laugh stayed up chatting to him at the bar till early hours. The entertainment team were great too so friendly and encourages you to join in with activities. They all do 12 hour days but are still so enthusiastic and friendly throughout. Had a lovely relaxing time here. Probably a hotel more suited to a couple rather than a group of young friends. Don't listen to negative reviews!

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurenHine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here at the start of June with 2 friends and we LOVED IT! We had a sea view room, the room was tidy and had so much space. The pools were so relaxing and loved the unlimited cocktails. We went to the Spa and found the girls there professional, friendly and it was worth every penny. All of the bar staff we met were so nice! Our Thomas Cook rep was always smiling and very helpful. We spent a day on Spinalonga Island, the boat trip was a great experience and enjoyed jumping into the sea, the BBQ was good and our tour guide Rula made the history of Spinalonga come alive, it was great to see how much passion she had and it made everyone in the group interested. We went to the beach twice, it was easy to book the shuttle bus and made full use of the cheap pedalos whilst there. After reading some of the other reviews I was worried it would be a pebble beach, pleased to say it was sandy! Our transfer to and from the hotel was only 30 minutes from Heraklion which was a relief as we were told it was 2 hours. Breakfast was pretty good and the afternoon snacks were great. Overall I would recommend the Vasia!

Room tip: Ask for a sea view room, quieter with fab views!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaela20_9_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fed up of reading reviews from fussy people so i thought id leave my review. Stayed in this hotel April, not expecting much as we paid peanuts for the holiday all inc and the reviews are mixed, the staff were absolutely fantastic, especially entertainment, there was always plenty going off around the mail pool, but with the other pools in the hotel if this isn't your thing its easy to get away from it all with no hassel, the food was fantastic, they had fresh cooked specials, fantastic salad and bread selections, the other food was your basic (but nice) things but there was loads to choose from, people always say it was repetitive, at the end of the day they have to cater for everyone so your bound to have chips/ rice etc daily! Drinks were lovely. Rooms were absolutely spotless and nicely decorated/ furnished, cleaned daily with fresh towels etc. the night time entertainment room and underground nightclub is close to some rooms (one which we were staying in) but trust me its so sound proofed you cannot hear a peep. if I had the chance to go back here again I would not hesitate, loved it. Thank you xxxx

Room tip: There are some rooms with there own private pools, brilliant
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatMxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend from June 4th till June 15th. All inclusive package with Thomas Cook.
The transfer from the airport took about half an hour...with the help of a crazy driver!
Instead of putting one big spiel I'll break everything down:

THE HOTEL
Lovely hotel, very clean! Nice bar area inside but could have done with more seating at times. Lots of different pools but we only actually went to 2, one beside our room and the one with the volleyball net which has a bar that has snacks and drinks on offer, including lemon slushies which were amazing! Check in was very quick and easy when we arrived.
Majority of the other guests were Dutch, was always easy to spot the Brits!
The all inclusive stops at 11pm each night which meant having to get lots of rounds in at 10.45pm! There is a reasonable choice of drinks but only 5 cocktails, 2 of which non alcoholic. Also found the drinks to be quite weak.
We never used the Spa as it was quite expensive!

THE ROOM
Our room, 1722, was perfect and exactly what we had asked for, a quiet room with a pool view, which we had requested from Thomas Cook at the time of booking, no extra cost! We had our own balcony which over looked a pool and the sea and it was only a 2 minute walk from the main hotel area.
We had a mini fridge which was stocked up for our arrival with water and juice. The room was well kept and always had lovely fresh clean sheets.
Only complaint about the room was our air conditioning unit in the living room leaked pretty bad, we informed reception who gave us replacement towels and had someone come look it but we just used we one in the bedroom from that day on.

STAFF
On the whole the staff were good. The Duty Manager, Andy, was very good and helpful. The two guys who worked on the bar inside were nice and friendly too. The woman who checked us into the dining area was always smiling and welcoming.
The only problem I ever had with the staff was the waiting staff in the dining room who were constantly hovering about waiting to snatch your plate away as soon as you took your last bite. Also we found it difficult to catch staff to get another drink after your first one so was always ended up ordering 2 at the same time.

FOOD
Food was really good, lots of choice and an amazing selection of breads! Breakfast wasn't very impressive, I usually just had toast and beans! Some mornings I didn't even bother going, if you like eggs then you can get a fresh omelette made with anything you like and also fried eggs.
For lunch you could get toasties with anything of your choice. Dinner they normally had different theme nights such as German or American. For me personally I stayed away from meat, which I normally do when abroad but there was always plenty of option for vegetarian and a big salad bar. There was traditional Greek food on offer too.

SISSI TOWN
The main town of Sissi is gorgeous, lovely little village with a bay and harbour and amazing views of the sunset. There is lots of shops and places to eat and drink. We went to Ormos Cafe a lot which had beautiful views of the sunset. Cocktails on average were about 5-6 euros. There is a small beach just along from the hotel with sun beds and parasols. We went for a swim in the water which I don't recommend if you don't like fish!

ENTERTAINMENT
At the hotel there was the Animation Team who were responsible for entertainment around the hotel, they put on things throughout the day such as water polo and volleyball. At night they had different events on such as karaoke, live music and bingo. To be honest I wasn't that impressed with the Animation Team, it was always the same girl doing all the work and the others just seemed to sit around. There was 'Caribbean' night was they told us was 10 euros a ticket! Thought it was slightly cheeky to be asking for us to pay for the entertainment on an all inclusive package so we didn't bother going.
As most of the guests were Dutch, most of the entertainment was focused around them. Any live singers were always Dutch and there was never anything 'British' which was a bit annoying but I understand they were catering for the masses.

THE HAPPY TRAIN
Just outside the hotel, beside the supermarket there is a pick up for The Happy Train which is a train on wheels which takes you a tour around Sissi and then takes you up in the mountains to a traditional Greek village where you spend about 40 mins walking around. You then go to a beach for an hour and back to Sissi. It costs 15 euros each and I thoroughly recommend it. Amazing views, a little bit of history and getting to see traditional villages is right up my street! It's a good few hours all round trip so defiantly worth the money.

THE BEACH
The hotel offer a shuttle bus service to a sandy beach but the bus cannot go directly to the beach instead it drops you off at a pebbly area and the only way to the sandy beach is climb over the rocks for about 400 yards. If you have young children or a disability then I strong don't recommend it. I was wearing flip flops and struggled a lot. It's very dangerous and there is no clear path. At one point the rocks go high up and there is quite a drop at the edge.
Once you actually get to the beach it's amazing, lovely white sand and clear blue water which I had swim in, didn't see any fish! It costs 3.50 euros a chair and 4 euros for a parasol, costing us 11 euros in total!

HERAKLION AIRPORT
This was the worst part of the holiday! First of all we had to queue outside for over an hour, thankfully it's a country with nice weather! We then got inside only to queue again in the middle of the airport, to then queue again to check in, to then queue again to hand our suitcases over, to then queue again to go through security. There were 4 flights departing at the same time which meant the place was packed with people. Finally got on the plane only to wait some more as there was still people checking in! I understand that this is no one fault as obviously it's a very busy airport but I feel the Thomas Cook staff could have been more helpful as there was a lot of confusion going on with which queue to be in and such like.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to others but I would give it 4 stars rather than 5 as there was some little factors that I have pointed out that have influenced this.
We went for a nice relaxing holiday which is exactly what we had!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SarahK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went with Thomas Cook. The transfer was about an hour and we were the first drop off so not too bad. Reception wasn't particularly well signposted.
Our room was amazing, right on the sea front with a large balcony over looking a small pool. The room was very clean with soft drinks in the fridge. The bed was harder than we're used to so we didn't sleep too well. It was also warm in the room and the air con unit is right over the bed, but we left the air con on in the living room with the door open which seemed to work ok without being too noisy.
We spent most of our time by the snack bar pool, mainly due to the lemon slushies on tap... the attendant was friendly and stopped asking for the room card once she recognised you. You do need to get there reasonably early to get a sunbed.
Foodwise - plenty of salads, meats, cheeses etc. Not an awful lot for vegetarians, and it wasn't the sort of place you'd have a romantic meal. More eat and go. The food does seem to be fresh though and there are the usual chips, pastas and varying meat dishes. I was really glad to eat out one night just to have a romantic proper sit down meal!
We spent a half day at the spa, the thalassotherapy pool is lovely. It is expensive though, in comparison to UK prices. Staff were friendly and attentive and the massages were lovely and seemed to last longer that 25 mins.
Sissi itself is an interesting place, lots of restaurants and souvenir shops. We walked right over to the furthest beach by the Sissi Bay Hotel (Boufos was pebbly and didn't really like it). This was really sandy and protected from the rough sea.
On our last day on checking out we we given a card for complimentary lunch which was great, plus we could leave our luggage in the locked luggage room.
Most evenings we went out for a sunset drink as the hotel isn't really the sort of place for that.
Overall, hotel was ok as a base, room was good (apart from hard bed), food adequate but nothing special and Sissi was a lovely little village to mooch around.

Room tip: We asked for a quiet room with a balcony, sea view if possible. I think we ended up with the best room in the hotel!
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PixieKazza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews