We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Vrahasi”
Review of Happy Train Sissi

Happy Train Sissi
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Really enjoyable day out and plenty of things to see. The village of Vrahasi was very traditional and the mezze served in the restaurant was home cooked and a good variety of dishes. 20 euros for 8 dishes. The owner of the happy train was very informative as he was born in Vrahasi and he introduced us to many of the locals. Would highly recommend this trip.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank VenueSkala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour trip"
in 28 reviews
"home village"
in 21 reviews
"mountain village"
in 18 reviews
"st george"
in 13 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 13 reviews
"lovely trip"
in 10 reviews
"local church"
in 9 reviews
"take photos"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful church"
in 11 reviews
"local area"
in 12 reviews
"driver george"
in 7 reviews
"olive oil mill"
in 7 reviews
"traditional house"
in 7 reviews
"old house"
in 6 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 6 reviews
"birds of prey"
in 5 reviews
"small village"
in 11 reviews
Filter

272 - 276 of 356 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2014

Hubby and I were looking for something to do one evening and decided to go on the Happy Train for the hour trip around Sissi. At 8 euros each, I thought this was excellent value for money and we weren't disappointed.

We bought our tickets from the travel centre, just a couple of doors up from the Irish Pub. The train met us there at 6.15pm and we were given a warm welcome by the train driver (and I believe owner.)

We proceeded around Sissi for one hour and were shown local housing, beaches and the countryside where you could smell the olives growing.

It was a lovely little trip and we wish we had done the 3 hour trip up into the mountains, but this can wait until next time!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Jackanory84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Road train - great value for a little guide to getting around the town and local area in just over an hour - driver didn't give commentary but did ring his bell and wave at the locals/tourists - we enjoyed it as it was a bit different! Good fun!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Susieq133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

a lovely experience on the happy train from sisi to vrachasi. took in the breathtaking scenery including the monastry of st. george selinaris. it was a beautiful and peaceful place. stopped off in the little village of vrachasi were you can feel time has stood still. its approx a 3 hour trip and worth the €15

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went on the three different trips on the Happy train, what a great experience. Our first trip took us high in the hills to the village of Vrahasi where we enjoyed a tour round the village taking in the beautiful church with it's lovely interior. There was also an old house full of a variety of items including a fridge that worked for three days with a big block of ice that the people drank as it melted. We had time then to relax at one of the local tavernas for refreshments. The people of the village all came out to wave to us. It was a great atmosphere.
Our second trip took us from Sissi Port on a round trip past Epano Sissi and back to Sissi Port in time for the sunset.
Our third trip took us to Milatos beach where you could have lunch and then a paddle before returning to Sissi. Each trip had different interesting aspects and we thoroughly enjoyed each one. Two very happy customers.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank audrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Train Sissi also viewed

Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture
Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture
Sissi, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Happy Train Sissi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing