We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A great half day trip

The Happy train run by George does two half day trips one to Milatos and the other to George's... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2020
Gerdoc101
,
Crete, Greece
via mobile
Wonderful experience

So glad we did the Happy Train, George made the experience great with his knowledge, went to Olive... read more

Reviewed September 9, 2020
LCCrete
via mobile
Read all 455 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Crete
from $103.86
More Info
from $113.18
More Info
from $96.53
More Info
from $166.79
More Info
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
346
85
12
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
346
85
12
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home village half day trip happy trip mountain village great trip beautiful church photo opportunities take photos driver george olive oil mill traditional house local area local church small village birds of prey great morning recommend this trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 455 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Hubby and I were looking for something to do one evening and decided to go on the Happy Train for the hour trip around Sissi. At 8 euros each, I thought this was excellent value for money and we weren't disappointed.

We bought our tickets from the travel centre, just a couple of doors up from the Irish Pub. The train met us there at 6.15pm and we were given a warm welcome by the train driver (and I believe owner.)

We proceeded around Sissi for one hour and were shown local housing, beaches and the countryside where you could smell the olives growing.

It was a lovely little trip and we wish we had done the 3 hour trip up into the mountains, but this can wait until next time!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Jackanory84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Road train - great value for a little guide to getting around the town and local area in just over an hour - driver didn't give commentary but did ring his bell and wave at the locals/tourists - we enjoyed it as it was a bit different! Good fun!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Susieq133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

a lovely experience on the happy train from sisi to vrachasi. took in the breathtaking scenery including the monastry of st. george selinaris. it was a beautiful and peaceful place. stopped off in the little village of vrachasi were you can feel time has stood still. its approx a 3 hour trip and worth the €15

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went on the three different trips on the Happy train, what a great experience. Our first trip took us high in the hills to the village of Vrahasi where we enjoyed a tour round the village taking in the beautiful church with it's lovely interior. There was also an old house full of a variety of items including a fridge that worked for three days with a big block of ice that the people drank as it melted. We had time then to relax at one of the local tavernas for refreshments. The people of the village all came out to wave to us. It was a great atmosphere.
Our second trip took us from Sissi Port on a round trip past Epano Sissi and back to Sissi Port in time for the sunset.
Our third trip took us to Milatos beach where you could have lunch and then a paddle before returning to Sissi. Each trip had different interesting aspects and we thoroughly enjoyed each one. Two very happy customers.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank audrey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

for 15 Euros we had a good half day trip up into the mountain areas and were treated to a guided walking tour looking at a quaint Cretan village. then off down to Melitos where we had an hour or so to enjoy a spot of lunch at a seaside Taverna before returning to Sissi

Date of experience: July 2014
4  Thank suisalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews