We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing for 50 year olds and 5 year olds, but not enough for the teenagers "” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sissi
doncaster
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing for 50 year olds and 5 year olds, but not enough for the teenagers "”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was our third trip and we loved the hotel as always. But things have changed. The nightlife had suited us on our first trip three years ago, not too much but something to look forward to and certainly for our teenagers. Three years on, there is very little and also the food though very good, was not quite as sparkling. I would certainly return here for a relaxing holiday with my husband but i do feel that the management have cut down making it much more of a family hotel for your average person....it had lost the rather glamourous feel it had previously.
All credit to the pleasant staff who worked very hard. My teenagers will not want us to book it again however, and they are not demanding. the animation team need to offer something at night for teenagers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humpy5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    110
    40
    16
    8
See reviews for
152
104
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oostende, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is the second time we went to Kalimera Kriti. The personnel is very friendly with a real smile. The food is very good, especially the starters buffet and the breakfast. Very subtle tastes, excellent fruit, vegetables, Greek Manouri cheese and Greek pastries, lots of variation. We were invited to a reception with champagne for the returning customers. The personnel is highly trained, very well organized. These people really understand how to get you that special feeling, to get away from the exhausting rat race for a week. When I walked to the pool in the morning with a book under my arm, the waiters and waitresses waved to say hello. A small gesture, but it gave me the feeling of a warm welcome. In a time where it was impossible to get a rental car with the big companies Europcar and Avis, Vera at the reception managed to get a fine car for us by calling a friend. When we had to have our luggage picked up to the airport, we did no have to ring. They were just there, politely, discreetly, on time. Our son had his birthday, and the Maître brought a special cake and made a real party from it.
The swimming pool is extremely clean, there were always enough comfortable sun beds. 5* pool towels and stunning view to the pool on one side with the mountains behind it, and the sea on the other side. Drinks at the pool are very reasonably priced and always ice-cold.
Some people complained about the 'simple rooms' but I do not see a problem. They do not have the luxury of the Intercontinental or the Shangri-La, but they are clean, airy. Beds are clean and airco works perfectly. We had a lovely bungalow with sea view on the hill.
Only the animation team was, compared to our previous visit, nowhere to be seen. There was only some aqua gym for adults, but nothing for the children or teenagers. Luckily the kids organized their own animation.
Last but not least I would like to compliment the gardeners! The magnificent domain is well kept, there are thousands of trees, plants, flowers. Cactus, fig trees, red, yellow, orange flowers.
We will probably go there again in 2012.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was a beautiful hotel. We travelled with Olympic holidays and got a private transfer as we were the only ones going to that hotel. We paid for a mountain room and got a beautiful sea view room which was spacious with great views. Food was good and there was a lovely cooling breeze at the beach. We hired bikes and a car through a car hire company called NewLine, on the first street in Sissi you reach when walking from the hotel. It was much more reasonable than the hotel and the owner even dropped off the car and the bikes at the hotel for us. Had a great cycle to Kounali and found a gem of a Taverna called Lambousa which was just opened and run by two British guys which was a great stop off for nice food and great tourist tips. A nice part of Greece and a lovely hotel......all in all a great holiday

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scotty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

After being 'rerouted' from our selected hotel which as it turned out was 'overbooked' My wife and I were shocked and indignant and felt very badly done to. However all in all we were not too disappointed as we found the 'Kriti' an excellent hotel and found the food both at breakfast and dinner absolutely first class with an abundant selection of starters, desserts, and always a choice of several main courses specially cooked to order as well as a good selection of pasta and buffet if you preferred.
The room was adequate with a good bath and hand-held shower with a very small balcony and likewise a small TV with only BBC and CNN in English.
On the minus side , drinks are expensive both in the dining room and in the mini-bar, even a bottle of water in the dining room is 3 Euros and I was surprised to find a short phone call to our rep in Irklio set me back nearly 7 Euros. Also although the layout is very nice, there's lots of steps to climb which can be trying in the Cretan heat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farinheight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

Ideal place for family break!

We have been there with 3 kids and it was a real fun.

The hotel's public areas are huge, great pools, restaurants and beach.
Much better than any other Greek hotels for very a reasonable cost and with friendly and welcoming service (it is not Four Seasons or Ritz the why I give it 4 and not 5).

Room for improvement: the beds and no spa

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

A blissful stay at this lovely hotel.... staff were so friendly and helpful. Beach and pools amazing - as so quiet this time of the year.... we shall return..... :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Fizzeerascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

This was to be only our second ever package holliday after Rhodes last year. Even going out of season we feel that we pay over the odds in France where we live. One week half board with airport taxes, fuel surcharge and insurance set us back over €2000, however compared with what you could pay with sea view rooms, private pools etc etc here and at other hotels it seems to be a very good price. We had a fantastic time. The hotel was far from full and the way it is set out means that we actually felt it was almost desserted. The spaciousness of the main marble clad reception hall with its Minoan style architecture is superb, and the rest of the grounds with its many pathways gives an overwhelming sense of space. Be warned however that there is quite a bit of walking involved around the site.
The arrival and allocation to coach was well handled by Thomas Cook although the hotel was the last on the drop off route so the journey was about 90 minutes, though this did allow us to take in the local scenery and make an assessment of the poor quality of the roads (and drivers). As others have commented the buggy transfer to the room was fast and efficient. The room, which was basic price, was really nice and spacious with a separate entrance vestibule with lovely bathroom off. A bench setee, two nice chairs and a writing desk made the room very comfortable, the TV however did only have two English Channels, CNN and BBC News 24. The balcony is very small, why could they not replace the large table with a much smaller one? We just moved the table into the room to make more space. Our view from the balcony was over the crazy golf and reception and car park but also the surrounding hills. Leaving our room onto the access balcony (we were first floor) we walked into a superb courtyard full of greenery and flowers and a view of the sea. The design meant that there were 5 different entrances to the courtyard, it just felt so spacious. The room and bathroom was cleaned meticulously every day by a very pleasant lady. I could not fault the cleanliness of the bathroom and room, the low shower head allowed for a little ingenuity in placement but there was copious hot water. The complementary bowl of fruit and bottle of wine was a nice touch. A word of warning however, if you read all the literature left in the room you will note that the fridge is checked each morning and anything consumed replaced, this includes the peanuts, nuts and Pringles, and the cost of these is rather high. Better to buy your drinks from the on site shop for consumption outside meal times or pop into Sissi and buy at the local supermarket . My only real gripe is about the cost of drinks, water at meal times is a minimum of €3 and a half bottle of wine, of which there is only a small selection is €10, there is no coffee served after the evening meal and if memory serves me right a bottle of local beer is €3.80. With water most nights and wine on some nights and some coffee and other drinks on the 'tab' and including a few things from the room fridge I had a bill of over €160 by the end of the week. Why not provide a carafe of water free for each table? If this arangement doesn't bother you then fine but I just think that people would buy a lot more if the price was more reasonable. Or why not put a few bottles of water and beer in the fridge and give people the option of having it filled by the hotel.
Having got the gripe over with there was lots to enjoy here, it really has a feel of a village and with the beaches, pools, coffee bars, restaurants, bars etc etc one could spend the whole week without leaving the site but spending each day in a different place. Everywhere was spottless and the ground beautifully kept, the views of the sea from all over the hillside site were stunning.
We took one day trip to Knossos, a real must and hired a car from the Eurocar rep on site for one day and toured the East of the Island visiting the Lassithi plain, NB the cafe just as you crest and see the plain is well worth a visit, a warm welcome and not a rip off.
As has been said Sissi has nothing other than bars and car/bike hire shops, its worth a walk over the rocks or by road, although we found it rather hot.
Breakfast was amazing with so much choice. Coffee cup filled within seconds of sitting down and kept topped up throughout breakfast with superb coffee. The tables covered with just about every imaginable type of breakfast food. Although the bacon and sausage were not of high quality, it does reflect the international flavour of the clientele, the menus were printed in 6 languages. With a servery making omlettes, (I saw the extra cream added) or frying eggs to order you could fill up and really not need anything other than a piece of fruit or a few nuts say for lunch. We never got chance to visit the poolside restaurant at lunch time but looking at the menu it seemed they served reasonably priced food. Care here the Taverna is very expensive. Dinner at night was also a sumptious affair, one ordered ones mains from the menu, always a choice from three dishes plus a vegetarian option. Then go inside and choose your starter, well again there was so much choice, one could have hot starters from a servery outside with freshly cooked food or salads or again just about anything you wanted. The main course never failed, the first night it was a lovely juicy fillet steak with a nice sauce, very few vegetables though, duck breast, pork tenderloin, lovely salmon, every night was a treat. Dessert was again self service, cheese and biscuits, fruit salads, fruit, ice cream, beautiful gateaux of every description, one could so easily overeat. I would not recommend that you went full board, I think you would not get full value from the extra €38 per person as you wouldn't need a midday meal. (We were asked by a couple who were using our beach about the hotel and the food, they had paid €1100 for 10 days but said they had spent at least another €500 on food as it was so poor in their hotel!!!) The service was absolutely superb, so efficient and so friendly, helped by having two Maitre d's keeping an eye on everything all the time. The only criticism was that as we were so much out of season there were a lot of very young chidren and some of the parents just let them run around making lots of noise, you could however eat inside and people watch if you wanted.
I can also recommend the massage by a qualified physiotherapist, especially if you haven't had one before. She gave me some exercises to do which have helped my back complaint no end. There were a nice range of evening entertainments in different places each night, completely optional. All in all it was a fantastically relaxing holiday for us. If you like bright lights and clubs and discos then this isn't for you but we felt we were living in the lap of luxury for the week.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
1.9 mi away
Grecotel Meli Palace
Grecotel Meli Palace
#3 of 20 in Sissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
8.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#5 of 20 in Sissi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
71.0 mi away
Pilot Beach Resort
Pilot Beach Resort
#1 of 47 in Georgioupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort

Property: Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort
Address: Sissi, Crete 72400, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Sissi
Kalimera Kriti Resort Village
Kalimera Kriti Hotel Village Resort Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing