We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel, Incredible Staff, Wonderful town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel, Incredible Staff, Wonderful town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

It seems impossible but true that "perfection" is the only way to describe this wonderful hotel that is run by even more wonderful people set in a perfect town in northern Crete. The hotel is clean, well-maintained, well-equipped and very comfortable. The layout of the pool area and bar with sunbeds is great. We had a room with a private pool that was idyllic. The staff are incredibly passionate and mean it seriously when they say they will do whatever it takes to make your stay as good as it can be. They redefine the word hospitality - Rodica the Front Office Manager is wonderful, kind and interacting with the guests all the time. Sitting at the bar is a must with Angelo the barman who is very entertaining and makes really good cocktails. Mr. Nikos the charming F&B Manager is always rushing around making sure that the meals (which are excellent) and the tables are prepared and the guests have whatever they need. The service is unparalleled! Christian and George are just amazing. George is the most loved by everyone with his wit and smile and loving attention to detail. And of course there are more that I can't even name. There is a spa in the hotel and a Cretan Massage on the waterbed by the lovely Giorgina is not to be missed. The town has a little marina with some restaurants and bars that are really nice for watching the sunset. It is not a noisy place but rather peaceful and this is the best way to enjoy this beautiful place. I have been several times to the island and I can say without a doubt this hotel is absolutely the best I have stayed in. For sure my next visit will be there again.

Room Tip: The room with private pool facing the east side is very nice as it has sun most of the day and a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martinimax2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    96
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
471
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This a very nice modern, clean comfortable hotel & for the price you can't go wrong.

Good staff who are well trained & will cheerfully cater for all your needs.

Personally not quite so keen on the resort of Sissi as it's a bit quiet for us, but if you want a nice quality hotel for a quiet week in the sun then don't hesitate to book it!

Room Tip: 214 was pretty good with a view of the sea & pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIKEMAN_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our week at Castello Boutique and Spa was just amazing. We were so well looked after by the fantastic team of staff at the hotel - EVERYONE really goes out of their way to make you feel welcome, and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is prepared to a very high standard with a good menu and plenty of variety, and the decor is stylish and modern.

The Spa is immaculate and the latest treatment facilities make it well-worth investing in a massage - it's heaven!

The location is beside a charming church, a few streets back from the centre of Sissi. Although we visited in mid April and much of Sissi was preparing for the start of the season we were confident we had chosen the best hotel in Sissi. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others looking for a quiet break and a base for exploring. It's very deserving of it's 5 Star Status. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My 5 day experience was nothing short of a great day to day adventure. I highly recommend this hotel because of the excellent 5 star service, good food and wonderful atmosphere. Anglo, the bartender was a delight and entertaining. Niko, the manager of the restaurant was also very helpful in getting me what I wanted. All the staff were wonderful! My room and bathroom were cleaned every day. I found the location of this hotel to be just fine for me because I rented a car up the street from Dimitris.
Don't hesitate to stay here; you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobinAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

So many great things to say about this hotel. The staff are absolutely great, very warm, welcoming and professional. Food is great, I'm not a fish lover but had fish most nights as it was cooked so well and so tasty. There is a great spread of food for both breakfast and dinner. Any guest who says otherwise must be truly gluttonous or is just trying to appear as though they are accustomed to a 20 course meal, everyday of the week.

Special thanks to George, who is a waiter in the restaurant. I have a 4 year old who is a very fussy eater and George always kindly offered to have something cooked especially to her liking. Again, all the staff are lovely and Tio, who served us drinks is great at his job too. The staff are a true credit to this hotel. Rodica and the staff at reception are so helpful and genuinely want you to have a lovely stay.

Rooms were great, clean and modern. Our room was particularly big. My daughter and I had both a jacuzzi bath and separate shower cubical with rain shower head. Plus!! a hot tub on our very large balcony. The church across from our balcony was a nice touch. The church bells rang one Saturday evening and one Sunday and were not an issue, so not something to put you off. We could even see the sea to the left of our balcony and a lovely view across to the mountains.

The hotel is situated a short stroll from Sissi, which is a very nice picturesque fishing town. It's got a nice feel to it and if you walk right the way round the harbour there's a little beach which is clean and the water is lovely. I swam in there and it was mid October, so it must be heavenly in the summer. Sissi is a good base in Crete, with a hire car, because it only takes about 30 mins drive to Agios Nikolaos. 40 mins – 1 hour drive to Plaka (for Spinalonga). 40 mins – 1 hour drive to Lasithi Plateau. 1.5 hour to Ierapetra (town on the south coast). 1 hour to Heraklion and Palace of Knossos. The scenery en route to these places is breathtaking and the roads are great for driving. Just take care on the hairpin bends coming from Lasithi Plateau!

All in all a wonderful resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

A true 5 star experience!! This hotel really has got it right!! Excellent bedrooms, first class food, service with a genuine smile and great facilities.

We spent 2 weeks here and I can honestly say; we didn't want to leave! From arrival to departure; the team at the hotel were 5 star in every way. The team were totally professional; yet they were friendly, individual and always ready for a chat.

We liked that there are less that 50 rooms here, so the staff have the time to do things properly and they aren't stressed out running around after hundreds of people. We didn't have to give our room number or names anywhere - once the staff have met you; they remember who you are - and that really made us feel at home here.

For us, the most amazing member of staff was Maria on reception. From her welcoming smile on arrival to every day we saw here - she was fantastic. Maria had great knowledge about the island and was always on hand to help with anything.

Angello the barman is a real character; a true barman that makes the best cocktails - with a story and a laugh!!

Niko and George who run the restaurant side of things were superb. They run a slick operation and in true hospitality style are always around there restaurant and bar talking to guests.

The Food was superb. It was great to see that as well as the A la Carte dinner menu; you could also choose from the hot and cold buffet. A great variety of dishes on the menu which were different every day. Breakfast was excellent - with a great choice to suit everyone.

The hotel is in a great location in a quiet area of Sissi; not that Sissi is lively by any stretch of the imagination!! It's a great resort if you like a relaxed atmosphere of tavernas with an informal atmosphere. At lunchtime, I would recommend walking down to the harbour and eating at one of the tavernas overlooking the sea - it's great to people watch and take in the sea views.

We will definitely be going back to the hotel and have recommended to our friends also. I wouldn't recommend the hotel so much to families; as it's more of an adults/couples atmosphere here.

The best holiday hotel we have been to in years!

Room Tip: Definitely pick a pool view - you also get a glimpse of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NSJ812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a week in Sissi in late October and thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. The staff were all excellent and always helpful with any request - yet never overbearing. As good as anywhere we have stayed.It must be very well managed.
Hotel itself is very pleasant - unfussy, not luxurious in any sense, but very comfortable, clean, nice pool area with a garden for sunbathing alongside it. A good choice as it turned out
We tried many of the restaurants in Sissi and again the service was very good and the standard high (esp the fish). All seemed to take great pride in good service - even though it was end of the season and the place was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
55.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
59.3 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
86.2 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
11.5 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
15.8 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Castello Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: Papatheodorou, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sissi
#1 Spa Hotel in Sissi
#1 Family Hotel in Sissi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sissi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello Boutique Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish high-quality design is the hallmark of this deluxe boutique resort, situated in one of the most beautiful and sought-after locations in Crete, the traditional seaside village of Sissi. Recalling a bygone era of gracious living, Castello Boutique Resort & Spa offers the personalized service and amenities required by today's discriminating traveler. Since 2015 Castello Boutique Resort and Spa became adult only hotel and have entered the SLH family- Small Luxury Hotels of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Castello Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Boutique Hotel Sissi
Castello Boutique Resort And Spa
Castello Boutique Resort & Spa Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing