We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous holiday!1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Vista Apartments
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sissi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is our 3rd time in 18 months at Bella Vista. Still as fabulous as before. Mike, Irene and Violet lovely staff and Vangelis is the best barman in Greece! Love this place so much. Views amazing, surroundings fabulous and so friendly. Within hours of arriving feel so relaxed. love it!!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jooney160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

really loved our stay at the Bella vista. after arriving in the early hours, woke up to such a breathtaking view over the bay. room was basic with a kettle, toaster, cutlery etc, no problem there, clean sheets&towels(except one day). the grounds of the apartments are so charming, pomegranate, lime and orange trees growing all around. the pool/bar area was clean and so chilled and relaxed. Had a couple of meals mid afternoon by the bar found the food to be ok, didnt eat here at night as so many good restaurants in town. Sissi is such a beautiful place, a 20 mins stroll from here although it seemed alot longer walking back in the early hours! We found the best beach was "potamos" a half hour walk through the grecotel and over headland,mind i dont know what it would be like to walk in the heat of july & august. Irene is a lovely host always smiling, nothing was too much trouble for her. If you are looking for a chilled out relaxing peaceful place with fabulous views, then Bella vista wont disappoint, would we go back? 100%, just ask the guests who go there year after year.

Room Tip: rooms higher up for best views
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manchesterlungy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

When we arrived we had a lovely welcome from Irene and were shown to our rooms by her brother Mike. First impressions of the apartments and location were good and our room was adequate all the facilities required were present but a little bit of modernisation would not go a miss. The food which was cooked by violet was very good and with later experience could not be bettered in sissi in the restaurants also a mention to Irene's mother who also cooked as well. It is a real family affair and what we saw was they would cook even if you arrived extremely late and were hungry. The walk to sissi is maybe 15-20 minutes which is not far but in the heat is quite a drag a taxi is 6 euros which late at night is a life saver. If you are not mobile ask for an apartment lower down as there are steps but not many if you are able-bodied. The sea views from rooms higher up are worth the steps. We liked the feel of the place being quiet and peaceful with Vanghellis behind the bar who is a very friendly chap who loves to chat and who also can't do enough for you.

Room Tip: Room higher up have a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamesandsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The Good
The apartments at Bella Vista are spacious and look as if they have been recently redecorated. The grounds are planted with flowers & fruit trees and there is a nice deep pool which is great for confident swimmers - although we didn't see it get cleaned and there was thick scum line around the tiles.

First impressions are that the owners and staff are friendly. If you just want a week by the pool, eat & drink in the hotel and don't check your bill, you'll have a great time and probably give it a 5* rating.

The Bad
Google & Trip Advisor show the apartments situated in the town centre near the beaches and restaurants - the main reason we chose these apartments, THEY AREN'T.They are a 30 minute walk from the town centre on the opposite side of town to the best beaches. There is a sign & arrow on the wall near the supposed location and on several occasions we were asked for directions to the apartments while walking along the road.

Although described as well equipped self-catering apartments, they have only a few very basic items - plastic plates, a knife & fork each, some small damaged pans & a blunt bread knife. There's also very little space to prepare food.

Some of the wiring is a bit dodgy - a few loose sockets, light switches, and every time we tried to cook the sparking on the kitchen socket would trip the fuses. We brought it to the attention of the owners who said "you're not at home now"

The Ugly
On our first night we had dinner at the bar. The food was fine and came with large piles of frozen chips - even if you ask for salad or rice. When we asked for the bill we were told €65.We asked if we could actually see the bill. When the bill arrived we were told that they'd "miss-counted the ice creams" and the bill was now €61. We have 2 children, they'd had one ice cream each a few minutes before we asked for the bill.

In the town centre we typically paid €40-50 for the same type of meal.

In the morning I asked if there were any better pans or cooking utensils as we enjoyed cooking for ourselves using local ingredients - Bad Move - from that point on their attitude to us was totally different. I was bluntly told that the equipment was good enough and the owner turned her back on me and walked away.

When we came back that evening, food & drink that we'd bought had been removed from our fridge. I confronted one of the owners about it and was told that the maid had probably thrown it away by mistake and they'd look into it in the morning. I said that wasn't good enough and he went off to speak to his wife. I followed him and his wife was able to find all our food and drink in her apartment, except some of the chocolate which presumably had already been eaten.

Don't be put off visiting Sisi as it is a lovely town with lots of fabulous bars and restaurants. We were welcomed by friendly locals everywhere we went ... Just choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsBStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

At this hotel we met people who had been coming back for 18 years and I can understand why. Our room (5) was near the road and a bit noisy - higher rooms looked much better but hotel fully booked and there's a reason for that. We still liked our room but I'd want a higher one if going back despite the small climb. Loved the location (15 mins walk from town) Other direction a 15 min walk takes you to couple of nice beaches. Beautiful pool but for swimmers only - mostly very deep. A perfect location for couples or friends wanting a quiet break. Teens may be bored here and I wouldn't want to take small kids here unless you're happy to hire a car for the walk and watch them like a hawk in the pool.
Irene and staff here are super friendly. Rooms cleaned daily with multiple towel changes. Air con price stings a bit (49 Euros per week) We managed without apart from one day but you'd definitely need it in high summer so factor it in. I'd certainly consider going back. Sisi was the nicest place I saw by far on the coach drop off.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chortlepuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Booked after reading the great reports but our experience was not so good. Arrived at 3am, key in door, room was boiling hot. Nothing open at the airport so we had no water. Asked for a high floor, and twin beds. Got a double room on the ground floor, room 9. Dark and basic. Had to pay for air on was too noisy to leave the patio doors open at night. Cars and bikes speeding past until the early hours. Room needed a refurb. Hardly cleaned all week, no change of bedding, only got new towels day before leaving. Toilet bin not emptied for 3 days! Eventually did it ourselves. Outside bin was overflowing and 2 bags of rubbish also. Maid took away the bags but left the bin full! Been going to Greece for 30 years, this place like places we visited 10 years ago. Really needs a refurb. Seems that higher rooms built more recently better, that's why I asked for one but unfortunately didn't get one! Pool is lovely, gardens too, and van the batman is great. Sissi very quiet but nice. 15 mins to supermarket ok to walk early morning or in the evening. Will I go back, no I don' think so.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room but you may not get one. Rooms 1- 9 on the ground floor have road view and are n...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Bella Vista from 20th - 30th August 2013. We booked through Olympic Holidays about 10 days before we went.

Let's start with the positives - Sissi is a gorgeous, quaint village/town. It has a beautiful picturesque harbour surrounded by bars and tavernas - The sunset's are second to none.

A word of warning - don't bother searching for Bella Vista on Google Maps - It puts it in totally the wrong place! The apartments are located to the West of the town midway between the Nautilus Apartments and the Hellenic Palace. It is about a mile and a half to walk to the outskirts of town and supermarkets and probably a further mile to the harbour area which, in 30 degree heat with 2 small children, is hard work.
We walked in on our first morning to buy supplies and immediately hired a car (Use Minoan King, it's on the way into town from the Apartments, got a great deal on a Jeep @ €35 per day much cheaper than the Olympic option)

Okay, so I consider myself a frequent visitor to Greece having holidayed on the mainland and islands on at least 15 occasions. You must understand that the hotel rating system bears absolutely no resemblance to that used in the UK and USA for example. Accommodation at Bella Vista is quite small and basic. The apartments are built up the side of a hill and are staggered (max 2 storey) The higher you go up the better your view but the more steps you have to climb! We stayed in a 2 room apartment on the second level (Rm 11) We had a basic patio with a partial view of the Sea. You entered the apartment straight into a bedroom with 2 single beds and a couple of bedside tables. Entrance to the very small bathroom was off this room. the second room had a double bed and the only wardrobe (nowhere near big enough for a family of 4) Off this was a kitchenette with very basic facilities, the most we managed to prepare here was a basic breakfast! Our apartment had one air conditioning unit in the twin room and this was payable locally at about €7 per day, well worth doing. Unlike others we never had a problem with water temperature in the room, but I've learned never to attempt a Greek morning shower! a quick rinse for the 4 of us at about 6pm daily with no problems.
Walls seemed pretty thin so we could here everything that was going on upstairs!!

Our room was cleaned, and the bedsheets changed, once during our visit. As there are so many transport options people seem to come and go daily, so my guess is certain rooms are cleaned on certain days irrespective as to when this falls for your specific holiday. To back this opinion up our towels were changed twice - once after 3 days secondly the evening before we left!!

If you book here don't expect 5*, arrive expecting minimal, but typical, Greek and you'll be fine.

The social areas consisted of an outdoor bar which was open from 9am till late, there were plenty of tables both open and undercover and you could order food from 9am to 4pm and then again from 6pm to 10pm. Quality of food was very good.

The Swimming Pool was huge! but the builders were sneaky and saved a lot of money by not filling it in enough and letting the bottom follow the contours of the land. This has resulted in a very small shallow end (1.2m) which only covers about 10% of the entire pool. It then slopes dramatically to reach an unbelievable 3.4m by the deep end! So I would say not really suitable for young children unless using flotation devices.
The pool is surrounded by a fairly narrow area for sun loungers, at first sight you think there isn't going to be enough room for everyone but we never had a problem finding a spot.

Final warning - I don't know whether it's because of the financial crisis or the area of Greece we visited (I probably think the first) but credit cards are NOT widely accepted except in Supermarkets and a few tavernas. Extras in the hotel (inc. aircon), Car hire from the small companies and most meals had to be paid in cash. There are a couple of cashpoints in the village but I would recommend taking cash with you.

If you do decide to hire a car, there are plenty of beaches you can go to but the prevailing winds are from the Northwest so they can get a bit rough. Take a drive to Milatos Beach (over the headland to the East) for an even more traditional Greek feel. Not a great beach but a great couple of Tavernas at the end of the road in, for a lovely lunch.

To sum up - Love Sissi, would definitely return here, would I use Bella Vista again? Possibly, although I think there are better accommodations closer into Town (We had friends staying at the Marigianna during our visit - much better pool, but slightly noisier with no views) Decisions, decisions!

Would happily answer any questions anyone has about the accommodation and Village.

Room Tip: Go high for a view stay low if you're unfit!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enjaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sissi
1.2 mi away
Castello Village Resort
1.2 mi away
Sissi Mare
Sissi Mare
#10 of 17 in Sissi
60 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maritimo Beach Hotel
Maritimo Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Sissi
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.2 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
192 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bella Vista Apartments Stalis
0.8 mi away
MariGianna Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Apartments

Address: Sissi, Sissi, Crete 724 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Sissi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sissi
Price Range: $32 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Apartments Hotel Sissi
Bella Vista Apartments Crete/Sissi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing