We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Formative years of Lincoln's life

I love to stop at national memorials, historic sites, parks . . . and this was a pleasant spot... read more

Reviewed August 5, 2019
Leslie W
,
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Peaceful and educational

Our family has now been to every place that Lincoln ever lived for an extended period of time... read more

Reviewed June 26, 2019
cheeseheadfamilyof4
,
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Read all 201 reviews
  
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
132
58
11
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
132
58
11
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his mother visitor center working farm formative years his life living history boyhood home grew up short movie period clothing early life the national park service grave site historic farm live animals the junior ranger program welcome center
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 201 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2019

I love to stop at national memorials, historic sites, parks . . . and this was a pleasant spot. Friendly staff, and the building is attractive. The movie focuses on the years Lincoln spent in Indiana, from age 7-21. There's a working farm that illustrates the life Lincoln would have been leading in the early 19th century. Nancy Hanks Lincoln, the president's mother, is buried here also. All in all, a good stop. Across the street in Lincoln State Park is a beautiful memorial to the years Lincoln lived here, and a trail leads to the church site where he was sexton and the cemetery where his sister is buried.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2019

Our family has now been to every place that Lincoln ever lived for an extended period of time. This was on our list, and I'm glad we finally got here. A beautiful area, and just thinking of Abraham Lincoln during his formative years in this place is inspirational. His mother's grave is somber, but placed on a beautiful walk. The staff is helpful, the site is gorgeous, the history is overwhelming.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank cheeseheadfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2019

This monument to Lincoln was most interesting to me as it was a time capsule. It was build in 1943 and very little was changed since then. I wouldn't recommend you drive far out-of-your-way to see it. But, it is a calm and peaceful stop.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank TheGoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

Great little national memorial. The ranger/volunteer was very informative and provided easy to follow maps. The interpreters at the living history farm were helpful and friendly.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Hi183987123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

I loved this place! The exhibits were engaging and interesting. The staff were wonderful and had lots of information available. The walk to the house memorial and gravesite was very beautiful and peaceful. I really enjoyed my time here and highly recommend it.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank 131kaylenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews