We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Every American should visit this memorial

I was looking to kill some time while on a business trip in Evansville. It took us about 45... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
VaGentry
,
Waynesboro, Virginia
Excellant and fun History for the whole family

Wonderful facility to present Abraham Lincoln's early boyhood. This is the actual land which the... read more

Reviewed March 24, 2019
Allen H
,
Vancouver
Read all 193 reviews
  
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
127
56
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
127
56
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his mother visitor center working farm living history formative years boyhood home his life grew up orientation video short movie arrived late in the day national park service early life period clothing historic farm grave site live animals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking to kill some time while on a business trip in Evansville. It took us about 45 minutes to get here. Easy to get to from I-64. I was surprised by the main visitor's center. It's super nice. It really was fitting for a man of Lincoln's importance. Excellent exhibits indoors. The park employee running the show was really helpful. We walked the trail to Nancy Lincoln's grave then headed onto the farm. Nice easy walk through the woods. Returned to the visitor's center along the trail of 12 stones.

After returning to the visitor's center, we watched the fourteen minute movie. That's a must see if you visit.

HINT: We visited on a Monday just because it fit our schedule. Unfortunately, the farm exhibits were closed. Call ahead to make sure the farm is open when you visit.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank VaGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

Wonderful facility to present Abraham Lincoln's early boyhood. This is the actual land which the Lincoln family farmed. The National memorial is well done and run by the National Park service. No charge for any part of your visit.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019 via mobile

This is a very large and significant monument to Lincoln and where he lived from age 7 to 21. There are wonderful stone carvings on the building. Also, there is a lot of history in the museum. Definitely this is worth visiting while in southern Indiana.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019

I've stopped at this site a couple of different times through the years. The first place to stop is the visitors center. In the courtyard there are different murals each depicting different significant events in the life of Lincoln. Inside is a museum telling about Lincoln's time here, about the loss of his mother and sister while living in that area. A free short movie is available to watch that is a good introduction. The NPS rangers are very helpful to answer your questions and are informative on site and the surrounding area. If able after the visitors center I would suggest a walk over the hill to the homestead area of the park. I believe you can drive to the homestead now as well if you do have trouble walking. On the top of the hill is Abraham Lincoln's mother's grave (Nancy Hanks Lincoln) which you would have to walk uphill to either way though. The homestead area depicts a mock foundation of where the Lincoln home would probably have set and also a model homestead showing homestead life in that area. A short walk away is the sealed well for the property. There is a little nature walk to show how thick the woods would have been during that time and also a historic walk containing stones from different significant places during LIncoln's life. The place does an excellent job of telling Lincoln's story while in the area and is a good place to get out walk and stretch your legs a bit while traveling through that area.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank alman4869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018

I didn't know that Lincoln spent most of his childhood in Indiana. Really nice memorial. Nice trail that has twelve stones all related to historic sites from Lincoln's life. As always the park staff was very helpful. You need to watch the video to get a good grasp of Lincoln's life here.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Butch E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews