We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Take the Walk

Impressive grounds and visitor center will surprise you. Be sure to take the walk through AL’s... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
kevinjX2955LG
,
Fort Wayne, Indiana
via mobile
Every American should visit this memorial

I was looking to kill some time while on a business trip in Evansville. It took us about 45... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
VaGentry
,
Waynesboro, Virginia
Read all 193 reviews
  
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveler rating
127
56
10
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
127
56
10
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his mother visitor center working farm living history formative years boyhood home his life grew up orientation video short movie arrived late in the day national park service early life period clothing historic farm grave site live animals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 193 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2019

I've stopped at this site a couple of different times through the years. The first place to stop is the visitors center. In the courtyard there are different murals each depicting different significant events in the life of Lincoln. Inside is a museum telling about Lincoln's time here, about the loss of his mother and sister while living in that area. A free short movie is available to watch that is a good introduction. The NPS rangers are very helpful to answer your questions and are informative on site and the surrounding area. If able after the visitors center I would suggest a walk over the hill to the homestead area of the park. I believe you can drive to the homestead now as well if you do have trouble walking. On the top of the hill is Abraham Lincoln's mother's grave (Nancy Hanks Lincoln) which you would have to walk uphill to either way though. The homestead area depicts a mock foundation of where the Lincoln home would probably have set and also a model homestead showing homestead life in that area. A short walk away is the sealed well for the property. There is a little nature walk to show how thick the woods would have been during that time and also a historic walk containing stones from different significant places during LIncoln's life. The place does an excellent job of telling Lincoln's story while in the area and is a good place to get out walk and stretch your legs a bit while traveling through that area.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank alman4869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2018

I didn't know that Lincoln spent most of his childhood in Indiana. Really nice memorial. Nice trail that has twelve stones all related to historic sites from Lincoln's life. As always the park staff was very helpful. You need to watch the video to get a good grasp of Lincoln's life here.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Butch E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Loved the outside of the Visitors center:) The quotes of Lincoln carved into the walls on the outside of the building before entering were inspiring:) MUCH information about the GREATEST President of all time inside:) The ranger was helpful:) You can drive to get to a few spots of what the park offers. Yet, I suggest walking up to the largest flag pole in ANY national park:) and taking the trail to all the sites, it’s a easy 1/2 mile walk at best:) Information galore

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Jayjay099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

Impressive memorial and impressive video and information here. Lots of photos and great staff here. We learned a lot and also had a great walk up to the cemetery and through the woods. Being October the farm site was not in operation but we were still able to see the buildings and homesite. Very enjoyable visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank notanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

I was most impressed by the knowledgeable and pleasant guides at this historic place! We learned a lot, and were entertained in the process.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank stevenstoller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews