We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oriented to the business traveler”
Review of Hotel Dampfmuehle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dampfmuehle
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is oriented to the business traveler but will work fine for a family trip. My room was a suite that included a kitchenette that would work very well for an extended stay. The room was furnished well with classic "IKEA modern" style furniture seen everywhere in northern Germany. The bed was a low platform bed fitted with a comforter, also typically German. The room was larger than you would typically find in German hotels in the mid-range. One creepy thing is that the hotel corridors are all dark but there is a light switch by the door to your room that switches the corridor lights on so you can see to unlock your room.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant. The breakfast spread is one of the best and most extensive I've encountered in my travels in Germany. If you walk north from the hotel along Krefelder Strasse to the old town, you'll find several other restaurants, none that we tried, but that look quite good.

Internet access is free in the hotel lobby but you must pay to have it accessible in your room. This isn't too bad, really because the lobby is comfortable, and you can have a beer and a light meal right there in the lobby. If you sit in the restaurant, wifi is accessible in that part of the restaurant closest to the lobby.

The hotel is located in a very quiet area. The building from the outside is an older brick structure but is fully renovated and modernized on the inside. I don't know the history of the building, but "dampfmuehle" literally translates to "steam mill" so I assume that historically the building was that at one time. Parking is ample and free. There is a walking-bicycle trail that runs right by the hotel. I think you can also rent bicycle from the hotel. The old part of Neukirchen-Vluyn is within easy walking distance. The city of Moers, with plenty of shopping and restaurants, is a short drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilGEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dampfmuehle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 75 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was quite surprised to see this hotel was classified as a 4***. In reality it is a 3***. Having said that it does most things you need on a business stay. Room was clean. Bed was comfy. Food in the restaurant was ok. Staff were friendly and efficient. the place is a bit drab though and not a place I would choese to stay. If I had a choice I would pick one of the other local hotels with a bit more character (hotel zur linde for example)

Room Tip: I heard afterwards that there is an old part and a plusher new part. If I knew that I would have ask...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corkboy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Booked online via a hotel website - got a family room for 99 Euro. This was a two-room suite with a kitchenette - perfect for us. The hotel has a good restaurant where we had our evening meal - this was good value, well presented and with English-speaking staff. Buffet breakfast included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasider29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

This hotel was much nicer inside than you would expect when you arrive. There is nothing really interesting within walking distance. The receptionist was fantastic. She gave us great tips for dining in the area and also sorted out a mistake that we had made with our booking.
In the end we ate in the hotel, which was quite tasty but we were left waiting for about 45mins between each course.
The room itself was fine. Clean and well kept.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelboo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank gert20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neukirchen-Vluyn
1.5 mi away
Hotel Moers Van Der Valk
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Moerser Hof
#5 of 7 in Moers
9 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wellings Romantik Hotel zur Linde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Wellings Parkhotel
Wellings Parkhotel
#3 of 7 in Moers
62 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Krefeld
Mercure Hotel Krefeld
#3 of 16 in Krefeld
237 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mercure Parkhotel Krefelder Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dampfmuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dampfmuehle

Address: Krefelder Str. 9, 47506 Neukirchen-Vluyn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Neukirchen-Vluyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neukirchen-Vluyn
Price Range: $87 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dampfmuehle 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the regions Niederrhein and Ruhrgebiet, the 4-star hotel Dampfmuehle is ideally suited for vacation or business occasions. The different room categories offer a wide range of possibilities: Familyroom, comfortrooms and apartments (also available as "plus" categorie includies many extras) and the luxury wellness-suite a.o. including steam sauna. Next to the nice location as starting point for visiting sights and cities nearby, the hotel offers a sauna- and fitnessroom, a cosy restaurant with big terrace, a children playroom and a welcoming bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Dampfmuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing