We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aksarben Suites Omaha
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Hastings, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great space!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

When staying in Omaha, we always stay at this hotel for the space. The kids have their "room" and we have ours. You are actually getting two rooms for one. With two TV's everyone is happy! This trip we only stayed one night, but usually stay two. We have ordered room service before (the kids love this) and the food was good and the service was good too. The cookies are delicious!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to review your experiences while staying with us on TripAdvisor. I also thank you for mentioning our spacious rooms and glad that the size of the room is perfect for your family. Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    214
    152
    101
    61
See reviews for
290
76
33
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

In town on business I needed a Hilton property close to the college for an event I was attending. This DoubleTree was extremely close to the campus and was the primary reason for booking. Overall the hotel was nice, room rate was more than fair. The hotel did show some signs of age but nothing I would consider dingy or sub-par, just an architectural style that belied its age. Condition of the room was fine and being a Double Tree, it was setup in the standard "extended stay" style with small kitchen and separate living area. More than any downsides, there were oddities. My room for example, had the stereotypical 1970's yellow-ish color refrigerator, which worked fine, so no harm, no foul. Oddly though even though there was a full compliment of cabinets and drawers, there were absolutely no dishes or silverware. Thinking this may have been a fluke in my room, I checked with a business associate and that person had the same issue. May seem like a small thing but it undercuts any added value the kitchenette provides.

Took advantage of the breakfast in the lobby/atrium. While the food was good, it was substantially overpriced for what you get, essentially the same buffet style breakfast I have had at Homewood Suites for free.

All in all the pricing was adequate and the staff were nice, but the biggest appeal was the location with is admittedly very subjective.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to complete a review of your experiences on TripAdvisor. I do agree that we are ideally located in Omaha and thank you for mentioning the nice staff and our reasonable rates. Although we do not provide plates and silverware in the room, our food and beverage team is more than willing to bring these supplies to you upon request. I am glad that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the valuable comments and we hope that you will choose our hotel again the next time you are in the Omaha area.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I drove over 600 miles to attend a funeral. I wanted to stay at the Hilton DT because I know the brand and usually not disappointed. This time DT fell short of expectations. I was surprised that DT would not offer any late check in or bereavement rate. Instead of staying 2 nights, only stayed 1.The room service food was not worth eating. $50 for a steak dinner that simply awful, it appeared and tasted like leftovers. The hot tub was not hot. The air in the room was not working properly. For $124.night I do expect more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I wanted to thank you personally for recently staying with us, and for taking the time to complete the Hilton online survery as well as a review on TripAdvisor. Comments from our guests are valuable to me and my team as they help us identify ways to better our services and amenities. I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations and assure you that what you experienced is not the norm for our hotel. I would enjoy the opportunity to make this up to you and kindly request that you contact me directly at david.henderson2@hilton.com at your convenience so that we may work on a resolution to these issues to your satisfaction. Again, thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments and I look forward to speaking with you.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Really mixed bag of thoughts on this place.. maybe expectations exceeded actual...mix of old and new in the room...and transitional work seemed. Very dyi...beds comfortable but seemed smaller...tv's newer but remotes ancient and barely working....hotel was very busy and could hear comments in regards to underage drinking with large group in atrium ..liked the cookies..lol

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allamerican7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I wanted to personally thank you for staying with us and for taking a moment to review your experience on TripAdvisor. I do want to apologize that you heard about underage drinking while staying here. Unfortunately, we did have an incident in one of the sleeping rooms that involved this behavior and I was very proud of our staff members that recognized the situation, took the appropriate actions and for the Police officers that handled the situation as effeciently as possible. Once again, I do thank you for staying with us and for your comments and if I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very disappointing. Upon check in I was told the pool & hot tub were getting renovated & would not be available (it was one of the main reasons I chose them in the first place). I found the suite to be very outdated, the 80's called and wanted their pictures & living room furniture back.
I did not feel safe because the entry to the room is a big glass French type door. Also, in the bedroom there is a sliding glass door leading to a public balcony that goes around the building and my view from it was a run down Asian restaurant with writing on the roof.
The food was horrible and the worst part was in the morning when they double charged me. My company had already prepaid for the room & then they also went and charged it again to my personal credit card that I gave them for incidentals. It took 4 phone calls for me to get it resolved. The girls at the front desk were nice enough but they were young (college age) and should not have had to handle the complaint, the manager should have called me.
Overall I was disappointed, it was by no means a dump, but I expected more for the money. I will not go back there next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qtinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the DoubleTree Suites while the U.S. Figure Skating Championships were in Omaha.

The hotel is very easy to find...just a few block north of I-80. I arrived at just about 3:00pm and there was no waiting for the room. The check-in process was seamless, the staff courteous, and I was offered in 'Hilton' fashion a warm chocolate chip cookie.

The suites are quite spacious complete with living area, small kitchenette, bedroom, and bathroom. The decor was fairly modern, the room very clean, and plenty of space to spread out. Both the living area and bedroom feature flat screen HD televisions. The bed was very comfortable with clean white linens and lots of pillows. The sofa in the living room was a bit dated but that was one of the few drawbacks I could mention about the room.

One of the things I didn't care for about the room is the shared balcony space outside the bedroom. There are large sliding doors that lead to a balcony outside however the balcony is accessible by everyone on your floor. At anytime someone could pass your room. I kept the blinds closed which mitigated the issue but limited the natural light in the room. Another was the internet. The internet worked free the first night (you login in with your Hilton HHonors information) but then was 9.95 a day after that. Kind of steep...but the internet was very quick.

The actual hotel itself looks a little drab from the outside. Some minor work to the hotel exterior would make it sing a bit more. When you walk inside you actually walk into a huge atrium complete with living plants and trees. The hotel features a small bar and restaurant (I never ate at the hotel so I cannot comment on the food) which seemed well frequented in morning and on the nights during the weekend I stayed. You can actually see each room from the atrium as each floor has an inward facing hallway with access to each room. There are two large glass elevators that easily transport you up. There was a small exercise room that I noticed with treadmills, weights, and other exercise accessories. there was also a small pool and jacuzzi.

The hotel sits right off of 72nd Street which has lots of restaurants and shopping centers nearby. There is convienient access to downtown via I-80 to I-480. I actually found it easy to get downtown by simply driving down Dodge Street and avoiding the Interstate. Travel time from the Hotel to Century Link Center was less about 15 minutes.

Parking was available for free and I was able to park where I could see my car.

I stayed Thursday thru Monday. While Thursday and Sunday night were very quiet, Friday and Saturday appeared to be busy nights. The hotel was noticeably louder these nights. In the bedroom of the suite you caouldn't hear the noise but in the living area you definitely could. Seemed to be a lot of activity outside the rooms pretty late into the night.

Overall I was very comfortable and would easily stay here again if in the area. Again, the rooms were comfortable and the location right. If Hilton would spend the time and money to get the outside of the hotel a refreshed look, wrk on some landscaping, and some minor tweaks to the inside decor and furnishings, this would be an astonishing hotel. As it, it still is quite comfortable.

Room Tip: Seemed quiter the higher up your room. If your looking for silence, request a room on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skating102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to describe your experiences while here on TripAdvisor. I do thank you for mentioning our great location, courteous staff and the clean and comfortable rooms and do fully understand your concerns about the wrap around balconies. This is one feature of the hotel that is either loved or not liked at all depending on the traveler. Once again, I thank you for staying with us and I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Omaha area.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the best things about a hotel of this type is the room size. We found the suite to be very spacious for our one night stay as well as being well appointed. We arrived after 11pm and the front desk staff was considerate in providing a quick and easy check in process along with their famous warm cookies. Our room was on the second floor with a king bed. Here are our positive and negative comments about our stay:

Negative:
1) Breakfast buffet is way too expensive for what you get. I believe we paid $15 per person and was adequate at best.
2) Bed: very soft. One of the hallmarks of any hotel is their bedding and we were really surprised in a bad way to sink into the mattress. I would have expected something on par with a Heavenly Bed but we were wrong.
3) Lack of hanging space. A true closet would be helpful rather than just an armoire. No place to hang a long overcoat.

Positives:
1) Very helpful staff! We requested a late check out and there wasnt even a pause by the front desk in agreeing to do so.
2) Well cared for fitness room. Good equipment and was empty when we used it.
3) Great selection of newspapers: local Omaha, USA Today and WSJ.
4) Easy and free parking.
5) Central location we were downtown in 10 minutes.
6) Very clean and well appointed areas.

We would not hesitate to stay again and hope the mattresses are replaced by then.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest from the elevator as their are windows on the hallway side of the suite so l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellBoys60625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H, General Manager at Aksarben Suites Omaha, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I wanted to personally thank you for recently staying with us and for taking the time to complete a review of your satisfaction with our hotel on TripAdvisor. I can most certainly understand the negative issues you encountered and these are areas that we can definitely work on improving. I thank you very much for the great comments about the staff, cleanliness, amenities and location of the hotel and will certainly share your comments with our team. Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in the Omaha area.

David Henderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaha hotels
3.4 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites
3.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Omaha/old Mill
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Omaha Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Omaha
4.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Omaha NE
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Mill Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aksarben Suites Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aksarben Suites Omaha

Property: Aksarben Suites Omaha
Address: 7270 Cedar St, Omaha, NE 68124-2310 (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Omaha)
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aksarben Suites Omaha 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aksarben Suites Omaha featuring all-suite rooms, with separate living and sleeping rooms, complimentary wireless internet and parking, a complimentary 5-mile radius shuttle, contemporary fitness center with indoor pool and whirlpool spa. We are located just minutes from Downtown Omaha, right off I-80/I-680, with convenient access to all of Omaha's top destinations such as; Aksarben Village, Stinson Park, Ralston Arena, Fun Plex, Westroads Mall, Regency Court, One Pacific Place, Village Pointe, Boystown, Nebraska Furniture Mart, Omaha Community Playhouse, University of Nebraska Omaha, College of St. Mary's, Bellevue University, Creighton University, TD Ameritrade Park, CenturyLink Center, Omaha's Children's Museum, Holland Performing Arts Center, Joslyn Art Museum, Durham Western Heritage Museum,Lauritzen Botanical Gardens, the Henry Doorly Zoo, and Omaha's Old Market district. We are also minutes from the nearby medical district: University of Nebraska Medical Center, Alegent Creighton University Medical Center, Bergan Mercy Medical Center, Children's Hospital, Methodist Hospital, Immanuel Hospital and the Lied Transplant Center. We look forward to having you as our guest so stop on in and we will have a world famous warm DoubleTree Cookie waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aksarben Suites Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Omaha Hotel Omaha
Doubletree Hotel Omaha
Doubletree Omaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing