We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD GUEST ROOM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Room had a very dirty chair with huge holes in it. Carpet was dirty, not vacuumed for ages. Toilet in our bath broken, had to use spare room's. No bath towels, used spare room's. Bed linens acceptable & am breakfast acceptable. Outdoor stairs were quite rusted and littered. Felt rooms weren't used very often & staff did quick walkthru that was'nt very efficient. Due to a time limit we did not complain to the front desk until checkout.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank dcfrisbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hawthorn Suites in Omaha, NE and we appreciate the feedback. As the hotel was recently purchased in mid-June, we will be going through a renovation in which every shortcoming you experienced will be addressed. Please reach out to me if you return to Omaha and I will ensure your room is of the highest quality we can provide. I can be reached at 402-397-7500 ext. 405, I hope to hear from you.

Thank you,

Greg Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 251 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

Visiting Omaha to attend a wedding, I stayed with my wife and two teen children for a couple of nights. Baseball College World Series was taking place during our visit. Accordingly when we made the reservation 10 weeks ahead, most hotels were already full and we could only find a King suite available in this hotel. I found out later that I paid more than double the regular price but it still was less than other hotels in the same category during this special event.

The suite consisted of a king bedroom, Living room with a sofa bed, and a Kitchen. We drove to Omaha so my son brought his camping cot thus the four of us had a reasonable bedding.
The bed was in a room separate from the living room which had the couch/sofa. The suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel seems a little old but not run down. However the carpet and the sofa cloth cover looked outdated, nevertheless, they were clean. The furniture in our suite #216 was not modern but it was adequate and in a good shape. The suite had a full kitchen, Frigidaire, stove, microwave. We were outside most of the time so we didn't use the kitchen much. Also we didn't have a chance to use the pool but we saw a lot of families there. There was an exercise room in the main building that my kids used. They said it was small with 3 machines but it did its purpose for them.

The hotel offered standard hot breakfast: cereal, egg, sausage or bacon, French toast or potatoes, waffle, apple, and juice. Both the breakfast and the seating area were satisfying.

Note:
After my stay I have seen some pictures posted by guests showing some rooms with stains and mold. We didn't see that in the suite we rented so I am not sure if we were lucky enough to stay in one of the better maintained suites, or if problem has been re-mediated since these pictures were taken?

Things I liked:
*** The rooms design. Both living room and bedroom had its own door which offered privacy.
*** Front desk was responsive and friendly (Chris).
*** Each of the bedroom and the living room had a flat screen TV.
*** Beds and pillows were comfortable including the pull out sofa-bed.
*** Close to highway and off 72nd but in the same time in a quiet area.

Thing not so great:
*** The layout of the hotel. It is composed of several separate buildings. Rooms are in a different building than front desk and breakfast area. You need to go outside and walk to the main building for breakfast. This didn't present a problem for us but it will be inconvenient during cold or snowy weather.
*** Although there was a lot of parking places around the different building, parking areas were tight to get in and out especially there were some cars parked poorly. It may be better if you back into the parking stall to make it easier upon exiting.
*** We couldn't get to Wi-Fi when we returned to the hotel on Saturday night and got a message saying ‘number of connection exceeded limit’. Seems this was related to the fact that the hotel was 100% full and the network was not equipped to handle that many people connecting at the same time.
*** A nuisance only, several power plugs in the suite were not working however there was a lot of plugs. We just needed to check if the plug is working or not before using it.

Summary:
*** Good for a family with children. Good value for the money. Old property but judging only on the building and suite that we stayed at, it was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ah_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg C, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for providing feedback of our Hawthorn Suites in Omaha, NE. I will certainly share your comments with our staff as we can use your detailed comments to better our operation. The hotel was recently purchased and will be undergoing a renovation, which we at the hotel are very excited about! We will look forward to your next reservation should you travel to Omaha again.

Regards,

Greg Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here with our boys baseball team for a tournament/CWS visit. Hotel was well below expectations. The outside of the hotel buildings have chipping/faded paint, rotten boards, and a general look of a place in desperate need of update and care. The inside was worse. The stairwells were filthy, with piles of dirt and leaves in most corners. The carpet was dirty in all the hallways. The carpet in our room was dirty, and both days the cleaning crew didn't replace our towels. When requesting clean towels at the front desk we were told both days that they were in the laundry, and they would put us on a list for them to be delivered. They never came. Staff was very rude and unhelpful. Also, during our stay the cleaning crew left multiple doors open, and many items were stolen from multiple rooms. Saw at least two police visits during our time, and the staff verbally argued with several guests in regards to these issues. No apologies, no attempts to correct them, but verbal disagreements. Our group rented 13 rooms, and no one was satisfied with their stay. We will not be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Its hard to imagine a worse stay. Our travel team was hearded into a few choices for hotels as a requirement of playing in a baseball tournament. This hotel appeared to be the best value as breakfast was offered and the rooms were larger. Most of the reviews were fairly positive. We had 12 rooms in the hotel and none of them had new clean furniture as reported in these reviews. What a nightmare. This is an older Courtyard by Marriott type hotel that has seen its better days. The hotel is tucked away on a side street by what used to be the main convention center. It appears now that a new center has been built in the downtown area that this location is going down hill rapidly. The rooms are furnished with the orginal probably 20 year old decore and carpeting. Our room was dirty, with mold in bathroom and kitchen and the common areas and stairwells had a musty urine type smell. It should be noted that the hotel has numerous points of egress and there is no security on site. It even appears that some of the rooms in this complex have begun to be long term low end extened stay apartments. Despite it all as a travel team you try to make the best of things as you are often seeking out value in your teams accomodations.

Day 2 of our stay after a day of baseball we returned to the hotel with police on site and crime scene unit van at the entrance. Eager to get to the CWS my 12 year old son went to go jump in the shower only to learn that his suitcase and all his clothes were missing. In all we discovered cash, electronics ... even my son's bag of cheetos was gone. My 12 year old was now literally a 1,100 miles away from home with no clean clothes and both boys lost many very personal irreplacible possessions.

Contact was made with the manager on site and all we got over and over was "its all being handled." Apparently that meant the police would be talking to us. We meet with the police and my boys got the experience of seeing a crime scene unit work first hand. We learned several of the rooms in the hotel had been hit (not from the hotel ... who tried to tell us this was an isolated incident.) After the police left (telling us this happens all the time during the CWS)... the managment couldnt have been more rude. They were unwilling to provide any information if our locks were functional or any reasurance that our continued stay would be safe (as our room and the common area entrances were supposedly secure when we left.) The attitdue was go back to your room ...its a police matter now. Only TWO days latter when we reported the complaints to our baseball tournament director did we recieve a call from the hotel General Manager to let us know that down the road they did have an insurance agent and they were going to report the incident.


We left paying $160 plus $30 tax per night for a room ... full price without any apologies and generally feeling lied to about what happened (still don't know how locks on multiple rooms and main entrances were entered.) Certainly this review is colored by that bad experience. However ... the attitude of managment and these conditions will be long standing. Further ... these pictures speak for themselves and I have a hard time believeing any of the reviews that lable this deteriorating hotel clean or a good value.

Bottom line the place isn't safe. Its dirty and if you are looking for a friendly and enjoyable stay beware.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were initially going to stay at a different hotel but after reading how they had multiple break ins recently we changed our minds and I'm so glad that we did! Checking in was a breeze. The guy at the front desk was so nice. The room was super clean and amazing! The bed was beyond comfy. With two flat screen tvs, it was nice to be able to watch what I wanted to watch without having to fight over the remote. We were only there for the weekend but it wish I would of stayed longer. It was close to the zoo and mall and walking distance to at least 3 places to eat. If I ever come to Omaha again I will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room. We had very noisy kids above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The first thing we noticed after checking in was the disgusting stains and smell that assaul Ted us when we walked into our building. The hotel is broken up into several pods (buildings) and ours was in the back of the property. Clearly, somebody had barged in the hallway, right in front of the elevator and despite the elevator being right next to a housekeeping room, they couldn't be bothered to clean up the foul mess properly. In fact, as we boarded the elevator we saw a housekeeper step over and skirt the offensive area on her way out of the building.

When we got to our room (#316) we found a fetched pull out couch with cushions that I refused to let my children sit on or touch because it was clear from their shape and color that someone had crapped... Seriously. I called the front desk, but nobody answered. We had just driven 6 hours, so we left for dinner, but when I stopped back by the front desk layer in the evening to ask that they send someone from housekeeping to address the issue , they said they would, but they never showed up.

Eventually I just put the cushion in the hallway and figured housekeeping could deal with it in the morning.

They advertise the rooms as having two tv's, a full kitchen and separate eating area. That is overstating things. There were two tv's... But only one remote control. There was indeed a kitchen, but no dishes or utensils. The " separate eating area consisted of a tiny table and one lopsided kitchen chair that looked like it had been pulled from the dumpster.

The next day I again asked the front desk to deal with all of the issues and again they said they would. When we returned later in the day, not only had they not addressed any of our concerns, but housekeeping actually put the filthy couch cushion from the hallway, back in our room without cleaning it or changing the cover.

Again, no answer when I called the front desk.

All-in-all, this place was a total dump and I didn't see a single thing that I could recommend... From the filthy bathrooms to the terrible service, this was a complete miss.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Although not the newest hotel in the area, this Hawthorne Suites Hotel is a great value. Rooms are spacious and clean. Our king-sized bed was most comfortable, and it looked as if the pull-out couch in our living room area was brand new. The staff has always been most friendly and helpful each time that we have stayed at this hotel, and the complimentary breakfast offered can't be beat - with both hot and cold items, fresh fruit and delicious coffee.

Room Tip: Although not far from major routes, all rooms that we have had have been quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#63 of 82 in Omaha
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Omaha Southwest
3.2 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Omaha Old Mill
0.1 mi away
Hotel RL Omaha
Hotel RL Omaha
#49 of 82 in Omaha
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aksarben Suites Omaha
Aksarben Suites Omaha
#50 of 82 in Omaha
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha

Address: 7010 Hascall St, Omaha, NE 68106-3511 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Omaha Central)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premiere Suites Of Omaha Hotel Omaha
Homewood Suites Omaha
Hilton Omaha
Homewood Omaha
Omaha Hilton
Omaha Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing