We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is an awful musty old place I hesitate to call hotel.The lobby and bar are nice. The bartender friendly and one of the few redeeming things. The smell Is best described as musty and sewers was on business. Avoid thislace if possible.

Room Tip: The room was awful I upgraded to a suite. It smelled awful. Old and musty. Towels were hidden in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing us and thank you for your feedback. Your comments in regards to hotel conditions, odor, and friendly bartender have all been noted.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    398
    136
    79
    75
See reviews for
330
836
126
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

So I checked in today. According to Trip Adviser, this is one of the top hotels in Omaha. If so, I'm glad I didn't check-in anywhere else (that's not really a compliment). First of all, the internet is horrible. Yes, it's complimentary, but good luck using it. Most of my devices had a difficult time connecting. The rooms, you can absolutely hear your neighbors, so if you're a light sleeper... good luck! The food is mediocre. I paid $20 for lobster macaroni and cheese... you get a ton of food (way too much), I'd pay $12 maybe, it reminded me of something you'd get at Applebee's, or TGI Fridays, etc. The staff is friendly, I have no complaints there. All things considered, this place has a lot of work to do. I'd say it's better than a Holiday Inn... maybe... Save the money, stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank washdctraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and we're glad you left us your feedback. Your comments in regards to noise, WiFi, and food portions have all been noted.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Magnolia - Omaha, is an amazing building. Such intricate details throughout this historical building. Then to top it off the staff went above and beyond to make sure that everything I needed was taken care of. I have never had a better staff experience. This is a must stay in the Omaha area.

Room Tip: I was told that all of the rooms are slightly different due to the previous life of the building. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Shucks! Thanks for choosing us and thanks for leaving your feedback! We think you're the best part of Omaha, and we're counting down the hours till we see you again.

best,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
404 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff, the really comfortable beds and the generous amenities. Breakfast was awesome. The television channel selection is outstanding with every sport you could want. Free Wifi too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1GiantsMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thanks for your review. We hope to have you back again to show you that it's no fluke - we're that good. Till then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We initially booked through Priceline for a rate of $98 per night, we were going to switch hotels for our second night stay but decided to stay at Magnolia an extra night for convenience. We spoke with the front desk clerk and asked her if we could extend our stay for the same rate of $98 we received on Priceline. The clerk said that would not be a problem at all and she would make note of it. Assuming that this was true my husband and I continued on our merry way. We checked out on Tuesday and I just happened to check my bank account on Wednesday to find a charge of $205 from the Magnolia. I immediately called the Magnolia and continued to call and leave voicemails for the next 7 days. After letting them know I would be contacting my bank I finally received a call back. According to the "customer service representative" the notes regarding the rate we were supposed to receive were not entered in the system and we had a total one night stay charge of around $205 and there was nothing they could do to correct this. Apparently the rate was based in what they googled on Priceline not what had been quoted and agreed upon. After going over her scripted response a few more times I asked if I was basically just out $100, the representative simply replied yes. Had we known the charge was so much more we would have just moved hotels. The subpar "customer service" on top of the chewing gum on our sheets will be reason enough to not stay at any Magnolia Hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittyloutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Your experience will help us enhance our customer and housekeeping services, so we appreciate your assistance and hope to have you back again.

Regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Omaha’s Magnolia Hotel offers guests upscale service while giving them a smaller boutique experience.

The Magnolia Hotel, near 16th and Howard Streets, is one of five boutique locations for the Magnolia Hotel chain. The company opened its first hotel in Denver in 1993. Omaha joined the Magnolia brand in 2006.

The hotel serves two primary client types – corporate during the week and couples on the weekends. Since there are no swimming pools or children activities, the hotel doesn’t get many family guests.

The Omaha property was once part of the Starwood hotel chain. In fact, I worked in the basement of the hotel when I was a sales consultant for Starwood. The hotel was a Sheraton at that time.

The 4-floor hotel sits in the old Aquila Court building. The Aquila was built in 1923 by Chicago financier Chester Cook. He named it in honor of his grandmother. His parents’ faces are featured in the front of the hotel.

The Magnolia Hotel features Tennessee marble flooring in the lobby area, as well as Brazilian cherry wood.

As you walk into the hotel, you get the feel of an intimate, but upscale hotel. The front desk staff is very friendly. The front desk wall has a modern look to it. The name “Magnolia” is framed in a shadow box. The wall is white and has a floral look.

The hotel was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1974. So, the original frame must remain intact.

The lobby has an old directory of office suites. The Aquila Court was originally a mixed use building. It once had 18 shops and 240 offices.

An old mailbox is also located in the lobby. It is still used. Guests can drop letters or cards in a mail tube on the room floors. The items are collected daily.

The building’s overall design is based on an Italian palace.

Stepping out in the courtyard, you see that. Artwork dots the courtyard walls. Antique-looking vases sit on an overlook of the courtyard. The courtyard is often used for outdoor weddings. The hotel hosts several weddings. I loved the water fountain in the courtyard.

Back inside the hotel, there is a nice lounge and restaurant. The restaurant has a decent menu (with decent prices). We had burgers during our visit. They were delicious. We each had a cup of soup, which was also good.

The bar offers a decent selection of drinks. There is a lounge area surrounding a fireplace. It’s easy to imagine having a drink or latte late in the evening, unwinding in the lounge following a day’s worth of activities in downtown Omaha.

The hotel has 145 guest rooms and 12 two-level suites. The Presidential Suite is a two-story lofted suite.

Just over 60 rooms have king beds. We stayed in a loft suite – the living room and kitchen on the main floor, while the bedroom was upstairs.

The rooms and suites feature swanky décor in a chic chocolate brown and turquoise color scheme.

The hotel’s room rates seem comparable to a little better than some of the other downtown higher-end hotels.

Besides hosting weddings, the U-shaped building offers more than 8,000 square feet of meeting space, including the Magnolia Ballroom.

The boutique hotel offers complimentary breakfast daily.

Guests can participate in a free beer and wine reception each evening. We enjoyed hot chocolate and cookies as we relaxed after a busy day in downtown Omaha during our staycation.

Business guests can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary access to the business center.

Guests can also have free access to nearby 24-Hour Fitness center.

As a downtown hotel, the Magnolia is not far from the main area attractions. It’s about a block from the Orpheum Theater. Some shows’ cast members stay at the Magnolia.

The Old Market, a popular spot for visitors and residents alike, is a few blocks away.

Most attractions are within walking distance of the hotel. For those that may be a little farther away, the hotel does have complimentary shuttle service.

If you are looking for a nice hotel and don’t want to stay at one of the super large chains, check out the Magnolia. I know we are interested in staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustangdad1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
WOW! You went deep with the research! Thank you for choosing us and thank you for providing such insights with your review! We're so glad you dug your time with us and we hope to have a repeat performance.

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

When we first walked in the lobby was just stunning. Check-in was very smooth and fast. We missed the happy hour complementary wine and beer, but we won't miss it next time. The beds were comfortable and the pillows were so soft you only needed one. There Breakfast buffet had a mix variety of hot and cold breakfast selection which was nice and it was yummy.. The staff was very polite and smiled everytime you came...We stayed during the weekend so parking around the hotel was free

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jasonette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan E, Public Relations Manager at Magnolia Hotel Omaha, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
A relaxing time! Thanks for choosing us and thanks for the feedback. We can't wait to have you back again - we hope it's soon - till then,

Cheers,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deco XV
Hotel Deco XV
#17 of 81 in Omaha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Omaha Downtown Old Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Omaha
Hilton Omaha
#10 of 81 in Omaha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Omaha

Property: Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Address: 1615 Howard Street, Omaha, NE 68102-2705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
#4 Business Hotel in Omaha
#6 Family Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Omaha 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Omaha hotel offers stylish rooms & suites located near many major corporate headquarters and offices. The hotel also features meeting & event facilities and extended stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Omaha Hotel Omaha
The Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Magnolia Omaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing