We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Convenient Retreat in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic and Convenient Retreat in the City”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Enjoyed my overnight stay in this historic hotel on the edge of the Old Market. It's on the National Register of Historic Places (Aquila Court Building). Check-in was fast and easy. I was assigned a corner king with three large windows and lots of light. Room was very clean and newly renovated. The bed was firm, yet still comfortable. (Those who prefer a soft pillow top mattress may be disappointed.) Flat screen cable TV had several true HD channels. In-room wireless internet was free and fast. All marble bathroom had Gilchrest & Soames toiletries. No tub, but shower stall was very roomy.

Amenities include free breakfast (6-10am), happy hour (beer & wine, 5:30-6:30pm), and milk and cookies (8-10pm). I only partook of the breakfast. I was disappointed because the scrambled eggs were dried out and rubbery and the french toast sticks were hard as a rock (at 8am). Had I arrived at 6am, I think everything would have been fresher.

The other problem I encountered was that neither computer in the library was working. I had a laptop, but I needed to print my boarding pass. It took two requests to get the computers running. The second technician, Cliff, did a great job and I was able to get my passes printed after about 15 minutes of waiting.

Would I stay again in this neighborhood? Definitely, as long as the price was competitive with other nearby hotels. If you are looking for a great alternative bar in the neighborhood, check out the Max. It's very upscale and friendly and just two blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    408
    138
    81
    75
See reviews for
348
852
128
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We tried to book the hotel this evening and was told the rate was $259, the same price as seen on discount websites. When we called back to make a reservation, we were told of a $129/night special and we asked if that was the correct price, due to our previous call. We booked the hotel, only to learn that we were booked at the Houston site, and NOT the Omaha location, even though we called the phone number for Omaha. We immediately called back to clear up the error and even though the staff and management all admitted to their errors, absolutely no price adjustment could be made for our travel. I guess their 'exclusivity' allows them to make errors of this nature, admit it, and still not try to please a customer and earn their business. Their arrogance has lost them a potential customer and I advise others to beware of their booking practices!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Great place to stay. It's close to Old Market. The staff is super friendly, and the hotel is beautiful!!

My hubby and I had planned on doing something on Saturday, but it was just too perfect in the room, just stayed in and enjoyed the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Magnolia Hotel in Omaha following a conference at another city and found this to be a well-managed property with a staff that understands how best to serve hotel patrons. Check-in was very efficient, the fitness center on basement level was adequately equipped, and we had very easy access to the airport on the morning of our departure. The hotel's proximity to the Old Market area of Omaha is a big plus, with many of the best restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Well-equipped fitness center, good breakfast included in room price, central location for all sights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vralitigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 2 night stay! Horel staff was very friendly and accomodating very quiet even though our room was street side. Beds were extremely comfortable. Beautiful old building in a great location to downtown. Bartender makes a great vodka martini and was very friendly! Recommend the Flat Iron Cafe across the street for dinner!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a great experience at the Magnolia. The hotel was nicer than I expected and the staff all went above and beyond my expectations. We were here for a wedding in the Old Market....it was close enough to walk but the staff was more than willing to drive us as well. The complimentary breakfast buffet was one of the better ones that I have seen. Love the close location to the Old Market. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holts Summit, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a group of 20 women traveling together. We chose the Magnolia for several reasons: 1) it was an historic building in a prime location (only 3 blocks from the Old Market), 2) it had great amenities (complimentary breakfast, wine/beer reception each evening, and cookies/milk/coffee each night), and 3) it had great reviews. I must say our experience at the Omaha Magnolia was everything I hoped it would be. The service was wonderful. Everyone at the hotel was eager to serve us in any way possible and went out of their way to do so. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are very well appointed and very comfortable. I highly recommend the Omaha Magnolia to anyone who wants to experience the Old Market area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlreed217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Omaha Downtown Old Market
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deco XV
Hotel Deco XV
#16 of 82 in Omaha
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Omaha
Hilton Omaha
#10 of 82 in Omaha
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel Omaha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel Omaha

Property: Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Address: 1615 Howard Street, Omaha, NE 68102-2705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Omaha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
#4 Business Hotel in Omaha
#6 Family Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magnolia Hotel Omaha 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Omaha hotel offers stylish rooms & suites located near many major corporate headquarters and offices. The hotel also features meeting & event facilities and extended stay accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel Omaha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Omaha Hotel Omaha
The Magnolia Hotel Omaha
Magnolia Omaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing