We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh-baked cookies on arrival”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Omaha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cornerstone Mansion
Ranked #2 of 6 Omaha B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I loved the grand architecture of this mansion, and was pleased to be greeted with just-baked chocolate chip cookies on the landing when we were shown to our room. We were in the Castle view room, and liked looking out on the grounds of Joslyn Castle. The room was very large, and the king sized bed, couch, vanity, dresser, armoire and bench all had lots of room around them. It was nice to have so much charm and to not feel cramped at all. I'm not used to having a TV in the bedroom of a B&B, so I didn't pay much attention to the little thing. Breakfast was great with an egg souffle, sausage, cinnamon roll and fruit with home grown raspberries. What a treat! It was a lovely and romantic trip.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berlin_in_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2009

This is our 2nd stay together (my husband's 3rd) and I must say that the place is going down hill. We stayed 10 years ago with the old owners and now this is my first time with the new owners. I really feel the place is falling a part. This place is in need of repair-badly! Old furniture mixed in with some antiques, run down rugs, odd showers, and stuffy. It was very disappointing seeing the Inn in this shape. Breakfast-horrible, during the week it is basic-ceral, bagels. I asked for bananas that weren't so riped and they said that was all they had, where is the fresh fruit? I couldn't find my InnKeeper during our visit and then when we left we hope that they would find our key for they weren't there when we left..Very absent InnKeepers, nice peope, very absent..If you like that, this it the place for you!
Also, we had a visitor one day, a bat, they took care of the problem and we didn't make a big deal, however, it was a bit uncomfortable. I would not recommend this place at all. I was SO happy to leave it. Omaha is limited on places to stay and I use to count on this one..Not anymore!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank NewJersey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornerstoneMansion, Owner at Cornerstone Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2010

We are sorry this guest feels we are not adequately keeping up our facility. When she and her husband stayed with us, we were in the process of replacing the slate roof and experienced a few unusual issues due do that renovation. We continue to work on our house and hope that other guests will find it both clean and comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We booked this bnb a few years ago, when the Nebraska Cornhuskers were getting their tail beat. We were hoping to watch the game on TV, staying in the Castle View Room. We had a 12" b/w TV to watch, without cable. The game was on cable and the bnb boasts cable. We ended up going to the Bohemian Cafe and watching the game in their bar.

Mark told us when giving the tour, "breakfast is at 9AM, then it gets cold." We were there on the weekend, when they do/did offer a hot breakfast. The food was good.

The bathroom is literally in a former closet. I could stretch my arms out and encompass both the stool and shower. That is the size of the bathroom from side to side. It is about as deep as the stool. The sink is just outside in the roomy bedroom. The furniture has been painted green. I'm sure some of it would have looked better refinished.

The proprietors are very businesslike and not friendly. There is a phone in the room and you can reach the innkeepers that way. I don't remember if we got them on the first try or got voice mail.

Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
9  Thank remnjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Please take my advice, do not go to this bed and breakfast!
The website is very nice but the rooms look nothing like the pictures that are displayed on the site. We called and asked what rooms they had available and they gave us the two most expensive rooms to choose from. The next morning, we realize they had $60.00 rooms available. The room is dark, dinky, and dingy and there is no sunlight that comes in the room because of the heavy drapes and blinds that you can't pull back. The bed made sounds when you turn over. The toilet paper was cheap, the liquid soap bottle was filled with water, the small bar of soap was so old it broke in half when I took the paper off, the shampoo and conditioner bottle had been used. That's all the amenities you get! The room was ice cold, there is no thermostat in the room, and there is only 1 thermostat for the entire house. The service was awful. My husband and I ran out of this bed and breakfast and never look back. We didn't even take pictures of our stay. This bed and breakfast was tacky.
We have stayed at several fabulous bed and breakfasts but this experience was horrible. Beware, Beware!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank whitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornerstoneMansion, Owner at Cornerstone Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2010

These guests were unhappy, and we are sorry that was the case. We're not clear exactly which room they occupied, given that all of our rooms have draperies that open so the light can be controlled. We do not offer any of our rooms for $60, so we are confused by this comment. We do not encourage guests to book the most expensive or least expensive rooms. We hope no matter which room our guests choose that they will enjoy their experience. We are disappointed this was not the case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

My husband and I are new to the whole bed & breakfast experience, however I would have to say despite my limited experiences, our stay was a definite letdown. We stayed in the fireplace suite, which was fine (not overly clean, dust everywhere)and there was no shower, just a tub with a hose attatchment thing (eww). We paid $165 for the room, which I can say must be because of the college world series that is going on. This was so overpriced for the actual accomodations. The breakfast was fruit, cereal or bagel--not what we expected, maybe if we were staying at a Best Western, but not here. Plus, you had to forage the food yourself, there was no one to wait on you or to even ask any quesitons of. When we went to leave, we wanted to hand our key to the owners (a lost key will cost you $100) and we could find no one. I finally called the place, and the owner came out his private quarters to get the key. I was appalled by the lack of hospitality and the overall dinginess of the home. Never again---

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank mosemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I've traveled around the country and around the world. I've stayed at the Cornerstone for business and pleasure and will do so again. I appreciate the chance to visit with Julie and Mark, the innkeepers. They're personable without being pushy. And Maggie and Lucy, the house dogs, are well trained and make it feel even more like home.
There's a reason visitors rent out rooms for months at a time. They pay equal attention to me, whether for a night or a week.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DenverCoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

If you are a tourist who demands granite countertops, flat-panel televisions and overpriced drinks a la Hyatt, Westin etc. this won't work. If, however, you are the smart traveler who seeks charm and comfort a la home, this mansion will be a nice diversion away from chain-land. Beautiful living room and dining room with massive fireplace, unique rooms, lovely banisters and chandeliers and intelligent proprietors make this a delightful getaway. The castle next door doesn't hurt, either. We stayed at a Doubletree the night before and this seemed like a oasis of class in comparison.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wiseconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaha hotels
1.8 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
1.9 mi away
Hotel Deco XV
Hotel Deco XV
#18 of 82 in Omaha
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Omaha
2.2 mi away
Hilton Omaha
Hilton Omaha
#10 of 82 in Omaha
1,445 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Omaha - Downtown/Old Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Mansion

Address: 140 N 39th St, Omaha, NE 68131-2307
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Omaha
Price Range: $75 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornerstone Mansion, historically known as the Offutt House, is a focal point of Omaha's historic Gold Coast District, popular with the wealthy at the turn of the century. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the National Trust, no expense was spared when prominent Omahans Charles and Bertha Offutt built the 10,200 square foot home in 1894. Offutt Air Force Base was named for their son Jarvis. A Landmark of the City of Omaha, the Mansion began serving as a Bed and Breakfast in the mid 1980s. Guests have a choice of seven guest rooms, each has a private bath, four are suites, and all are distinctively different in decor. All guest rooms includefree Wi-Fi Internet access, telephones and televisions. Some rooms have fireplaces, sunporches, desks, and over-sized claw-foot tubs. The mansion is conviently located near the University of Nebraska Medical Center, Kiewit, Creighton University, Creighton University Medical Center, Boystown National Research Hospital, The D ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Hotel Omaha
Cornerstone b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing