We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away Trip With Grandchildren”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get Away Trip With Grandchildren”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Week-end trip to Omaha with our "Grands" we chose this hotel based on other trip advisor reviews. Stayed in a two bedroom suite. There was ample room for all of us and we loved also having two bathrooms. It was great having several televisions in the suite as well. I did notice that the carpeting in the living room area was stained and needed to be cleaned but everything else was very clean. The beds were comfortable and the location of our suite was quiet. We liked being able to keep drinks and snacks in the provided full size refrigerator.

We were delighted to learn that there was shuttle service to most of the things we did ( Zoo, Durham museum, Childrens museum, Old market etc) the drivers were all great!

The kids loved swimming in the indoor pool, while it was small it was more then adequate.

Breakfast was fine, but choices for children I thought were limited but then our grandchildren are picky eaters. Pancakes and sausage were a hit on our first morning there, because the menu changes daily they were not offered again during the rest of our stay.

We loved the small snack shop that was packed full of items kids and adults like to nibble on and the prices were reasonable too.

All of the staff at the hotel were great. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauigrandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    162
    30
    9
    10
See reviews for
283
132
32
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is across the street from the College World Series baseball filed and a few blocks from the basketball arena. If you're going to a sporting event and are going to get wasted, this hotel is great so you can walk home. Other than that it's a crappy place in a boring part of town - both which have no character at all.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown after your recent stay with us. Guest feedback is a valuable tool for us and assists us in ensuring we understand what is needed to exceed our guest’s expectations.

I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy North Omaha Downtown on your recent trip to Omaha. With the recent construction of TD Ameritrade Park and our close proximity to Century Link Center, North Omaha Downtown has quickly changed into a fast growing area. We are excited about the great growth in our area because the entertainment options around our hotel continue to get better and better! We have recently had some new additions to our neighborhood that you might find more exciting during your next trip to Omaha. To name a few: Blatt Beer &Table, DJ’s Dugout and Blazin’ Pianos, Burt Street Brickyard and The Capital Brewing Company.

In addition to the great offerings in North Omaha, we’re conveniently located only 2 miles from Omaha’s Old Market District. Our hotel provides complimentary shuttle service, on demand, to this area. I will reach out to our front office team to assure we’re best educating all of our customers on the great things in our neighborhood as well as the shuttle service we offer complimentary to our customers.

Thank you again for staying at Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown and taking the time to rate your stay on Trip Advisor!

Best Regards,
Linda Saron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city, ks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We really like Homewood Suites overall for trips with kids because our kids sleep better when they aren't in the same room as us and we also like having a kitchenette for snacks or lunches. The room was nice and very similar to rooms in other Homewood Suites we have stayed at. The location was convenient to downtown and there were many dining options nearby. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the old market area so you don't have to deal with parking, which was definitely a plus for us since the art fair was going on when we were there and parking was very full. Both the zoo and children's museum were very near this property, making transportation quick and easy. We were there on a weekend, so the free dinner was not available, but the breakfast was adequate/typical, but nothing really exciting. I would have liked to see a few more hot options as I think there were just eggs and maybe some sausage or potatoes or something. The pool was fine, but on the smallish side with no slide or anything. My only real complaints about this property were all minor. There was a fair amount of road noise we could hear in our room. It didn't wake us up, but did make falling asleep harder. It might be better on the other side of the hotel. The bathroom didn't have good air flow and I felt like it always had a vaguely urine-ish smell that would linger any time anyone used the bathroom and I don't think that's normal. It wasn't awful, but I did notice it a few times. The first morning we were there, we got up earlyish and that morning I did have to turn the shower all the way on hot to make it hot enough for me, but I felt like the temperature was okay. The next morning we slept later and there seemed to be a lot more hot water. Besides those minor complaints, we had a very nice stay and would definitely stay here again in Omaha.

Room Tip: I'd consider asking for the side nearer to the back/parking lot as opposed to the front/street i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We chose this hotel to reserve a block of rooms for our daughter's wedding in May. The sales staff was wonderful to work with. They were great in adding additional rooms as more nights were needed and offered some accomodations for extra large groups. We had families with young children staying in our group who enjoyed the pool. Rooms were nicely appointed. Heard over and over again how comfortable the mattresses and pillows were. The close proximity to the downtown area was a plus, and the hotel's free shuttle was very helpful.
Staff were pleasant and the breakfast offered a nice variety of hot and cold choices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CH68310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at this Homewood two nights on a business trip. It is a nice hotel in a good location. The staff was very friendly, and the room was clean! It was close to downtown and to the airport, so it was very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, KS
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at this property as part of an easy weekend getaway from Kansas City. We weren't familiar with Omaha, so we were guessing a bit as to what part of town to search for a hotel.

The hotel is across the street from TD Ameritrade Park, home of the College World Series. It's also a block or two from the convention center. If you're not there to visit either location, you'd be better off staying in the Old Market. There are a couple bars, restaurants, and shops scattered around the hotel, but nothing cohesive.

The rooms are spacious, as to be expected for an all-suite hotel. Our room was a one-bedroom suite. You enter a living room/kitchen with a microwave, dishwasher, and full-sized refrigerator. There is a couch, dining table/workspace, and TV. A door provides separation from the bedroom.

We slept very well - the beds are comfortable, the noise level was low, and we were able to keep the room completely dark.

The other furnishings in the room were average - nothing flashy, and nothing objectionable.

Breakfast was just okay. The hot items consisted of scrambled eggs and tater-tot-style potatoes. The rest of the spread was standard continental breakfast: cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, waffles, etc.

We did not use the pool or fitness center, but they both looked to be nice facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjskck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

It was a good hotel. They had a shuttle that would take you anywhere within 4 miles. You would have plenty of places to go eat. The room had a fridge, stove, microwave (I didn't use any of them). It had a new flat panel TV.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, make sure you book a non-smoking room. I didn't pay attention and book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pistonhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Omaha - Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Omaha Downtown Old Market
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area
0.9 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
0.4 mi away
Hilton Omaha
Hilton Omaha
#10 of 82 in Omaha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown
Address: 1314 Cuming St, Omaha, NE 68102-4414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Omaha
#1 Family Hotel in Omaha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated! Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown has been renovated with all new decor and comfy new furnishings. Located in the heart of Omaha's Old Market area, we're just steps from TD Ameritrade Park and offer a free shuttle service to the airport and local areas. Each of our renovated suites features separate living and sleeping areas and fully-equipped kitchens. We even have free grocery delivery service to keep your fridge stocked. If you don't feel like cooking, join us for a free hot breakfast every morning. Families appreciate our indoor pool while business travelers use our fitness center to keep up their routines. With extended stay amenities and perfect downtown location, we're the ideal choice among downtown Omaha hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown Hotel Omaha
Omaha Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing