We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful beds, broken hottub” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Omaha West

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha West
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful beds, broken hottub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

The hotel is clean and attractive, and the beds and linens are WONDERFUL, although we never could figure out how to make the special "sleep comfort" type of mattress work, and had to undo the sheets to even find the dial, which didn't seem to do anything.

The bathroom door and the room door could not be open at the same time, as they slammed into and blocked each other, which is a very cramped, inconvenient and unsafe layout. There was no vent fan in the bathroom for steam to escape, and the grout in the shower needed to be cleaned. Although it is nice to have "real" glasses and cups, after the many hotel cleanliness warnings on TV, we were leery of using any of them without washing them, as they looked cloudy and only had "paper hats" loosely set on top of them.

The person on staff at check-in was not knowledgable, and had no idea what the "comfort sleep system" advertised in the hotel's brochure/newsletter was, even though I showed the newsletter to him. He also didn't give us the special gift package that was made up for each guest who was there for the wedding, even though we stayed in the reserved block of rooms, and had the same last name.

The hottub was broken, but we only learned that after several guests got into it, only to find it would not heat. When the staff was questioned about it, we were told it did not work. A working hottub usually determines where we choose to stay, and amenities like that should either be working, or the price should reflect the fact that what is advertised is not available.

There was no manager on duty anytime we were at the desk, and those who were at the desk when we asked about the hottub were not at all professional-looking in dress or appearance, nor knowledgable. In the morning, the cafe and desk personnel were scrambling to do the best they could, but apparently several things malfunctioned (including the cash register), and they had no manager on duty to assist them.

  • Liked — comfort of bed and fabulous linens
  • Disliked — non-functioning hottub and poorly staffed front desk
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanai_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    110
    42
    21
    5
See reviews for
117
73
30
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
220 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

Stayed for business. Was nice and clean. Typical Hilton Garden Inn.

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ClickTheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvtotravelforev
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton for my birthday... wanted a quick drive from where we were hanging out that night. First, the hotel was very clean and I did love the room (a junior suite). However.. there was a wedding going on and parties all over the hotel. This did not bother me, however at 2 am we received pounding on our door stating a noise complaint. We were sleeping and the gentleman in the hall did NOT have a security uniform on. We did not open the door as we had no idea who this was and we were not being loud as we were sleeping. Second, when we called the front desk to ask if they sent someone to our room, the front desk gentleman was VERY rude, and then proceeded to tell us, it's 2am, do you think there is a manager here, very rude, and hung up. In the morning we went to breakfast and the cook was throwing things and going on and on about how busy he was, told us to get out of line if we didn't know what we wanted... completely out of control. He was in a RAGE. So, the hotel was beautiful, but they definately could clean house on their staff (at least the evening staff and the cook).

  • Liked — the rooms were great
  • Disliked — the staff was TERRIBLE
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtotravelforev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

Stayed for 5 nights. Hotel is open for less than 1 year and so every room is in great shape. Breakfast is all you can eat hot and cold for 9.95. The hot choices are made to order. The staff is very friendly and will go to lengths to satisfy you. They even mailed a package home for me when I purchased too much on my trip at an antique store nearby. The hotel is right next to Village Point, the newest in outdoor shopping malls, a great location to browse or eat.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — Fruit on the breakfast bar was only a few items
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

Location is just half mile from Village Pointe. We were going to Funny Bone Comedy Club New Years Eve and wanted a short drive after a few drinks.

Check in was smooth, room was clean, bedding was wonderful. Bath was a tiled large shower stall, no tub. We had room service sandwich which arrived tasty, hot, & timely. Couple minor irritations, the tray was still sitting in the hall in the AM. The windows were whistley and let in more noise than I expected in a new facility.

Didn't do breakfast buffet, but looked like the standard pricey mediocre hotel food. Ate breakfast at Mimi’s at Village Pointe. Great food!

Pool area was clean and convenient, close to elevators; plenty of parking, we will try to stay again. Got great rate on hilton’s website.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
62 Thank FairNorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallsville, Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

This is a new facility in Omaha near Elkhorn. Lots of new malls near by. We stayed here for a business conference. The staff was useful and pleasant. The restaurant for breakfast the next day was truely excellent. The chef and waitstaff said yes to all our special requests. We would stay here again in Omaha.

  • Liked — Location to Shadowridge County Club
  • Disliked — A bit noisy close to the elevator
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
71 Thank Kawaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

A quick trip to Omaha to visit family found us staying at this property. We usually stay in mid-town but this hotel was much closer to the family's residence then other locations.
We loved this hotel from the room to the onsite resturant to the pool/spa. All was above par. The only con (and this is a small one) was how to get to the hotel from the main street. Otherwise two thumbs up from this family of four!

  • Liked — The great beds and
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
68 Thank CentralNEfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Omaha West
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kelly Inn
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Omaha West - Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha Downtown / Old Market Area
6.7 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites
13.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Omaha West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Omaha West

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Omaha West
Address: 17879 Chicago St, Omaha, NE 68118-2914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Omaha
#7 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Omaha West 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Omaha West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn West Omaha Hotel Omaha
Hilton Garden Inn Omaha
Hilton Omaha
Omaha Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing