We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great neighborhood cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Leo's Diner

Leo's Diner
Ranked #254 of 1,338 Restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Old fashion breakfast at a good price. Don't let the looks of the building fool you. This place has been around quite awhile and continues to have repeat customers year after year.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank judyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Saw great reviews had to try it. NOT disappointed! Great food, staff that treated you like family and good value. We will return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnm_vac8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bancroft, Nebraska
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic diner food with a twist!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

A Benson institution with classic breakfasts. If you're really hungry try The Island: Hashbrowns, biscuits with sausage gravy and two eggs any style on top! They have different versions of Islands every day so you're never bored! Big portions and great lunch specials too. Nice, fun and fast service as well with great prices. Looking for fancy, go elsewhere. Looking for a great fast meal go to Leo's, you'll love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevtnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Breakfast to Remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Since our flight to Napa got cancelled by an untimely snowstorm we decided we needed a "comfort food" breakfast to sooth our sorrow. Leo's Diner in Benson was just the ticket. We came in feeling kind of blue. We left with the sun shining! We were greeted with a bright, cheery, and genuine "Good Morning". The place feels like family, with the staff teasing the locals with good natured ribbing. They make you feel right at home. And the food doesn't disappoint. We enjoyed fresh blueberry pancakes, eggs, link sausage, bacon, crispy hash browns, biscuits and gravy, and one of us tried the signature breakfast dish "The Island". It was all very good. We thoroughly enjoyed a breakfast experience in a true old fashioned Main Street diner. We will remember this experience and certainly hope to return again.

Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old School Diner Keeping it Real!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stopped in here yesterday to have breakfast for the first time. Counter, booths with the original juke boxes on the wall, TV with only the local channels, friendly wait staff, and locals who come in and talk about the latests events.

Leo's has the standard menu of breakfast, burgers, and specials. I had their own creation called the Island. Picture an order of hash browns, two biscuits covered with sausage gravy, and topped by two eggs. If you're brave you can get the Fantasy Island which is the same, with the addition of sausage, ham, or bacon. It was pure awesome breakfast goodness. I didn't have to eat again until dinner!

If you want a small dinner for breakfast or lunch and want the real version and not a copy cat, head over to Leo's. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Leo's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing