We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Transport yourself to authentic French cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Voltaire

Le Voltaire
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Voltaire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #82 of 1,338 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 156th and Dodge rd
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
165 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Transport yourself to authentic French cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amber-colored sugar delicately carmelized on the creme brûlée. The best I have ever had, including in France! Why start with dinner when you can have dessert first? Excellent selection of wines and amazing food. The veal stew is tender, flavorful and leaves you wanting more. This restaurant is tucked away in a West Omaha strip mall but ignore the surroundings and dive into the food. It's all about the delicious food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must for authentic French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great food and service. Try it for lunch too, not very busy and our tab was half what we paid at dinner (granted we didn't have wine at lunch). Give the snails a try, they're outstanding.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for special night out, for relaxing with your spouse or for business dinners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

One of my two favorite Omaha restaurants. Consistently excellent food, friendly personable service and variety to satisfy everyone. The Bistro menu is reasonably priced and offers a broad choice, compared to the "Japanese omakase". My favorites are the grilled duck breast [when available], coq au vin and the Bouillabaisse [I tell them to substitute the Talipia, since I'm from Hawaii and we consider it a "rubbish fish"]. When it's very wintry outside, the Boeuf Bourguigonon is hearty and wards off the cold.

I have eaten at Bouley's [my favorite], le Bernardin, le Cirque, Per Se, Patina, French Laundry, Gary Danko's et al, but Le Voltaire, is not as snobbish, serves great food, makes you feel really at home and is in Omaha... who could ask for anything more?

RHKobayashi, M.D.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank RHKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“France In Nebraska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Having spent over a month of time in France on recent vacations Le Voltaire is the real French experience and food. The cuisine is superb and the menu is genuinely French. Loved it!!!!! My only negative comment is the decor is pretty plain considering what France has to offer to interest the eyes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Choice for Special Occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you didn't know it was there, you might miss it. But if you find it you'll love it. Wonderful food prepared and served to perfection. Great wait staff. Le Voltaire isn't a big space, but they are "big" on every aspect of the dining experience. On our last visit they were delightfully attentive to the "birthday boy" in our midst.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Voltaire also viewed

 

Been to Le Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing