We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Voltaire

Le Voltaire
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Voltaire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 1,338 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 156th and Dodge rd
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have lived right by this restaurant for 15 years and have never tried it until this last Friday. Don't be fooled by the strip mall appearance, as it is very nice inside. I went with my husband and my father and we made a reservation which I would recommend doing as it was 7:45 and full. Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgable about the menu which had a lot of french terms that we were not familiar with. We each ordered the bistro menu. For $31 you can pick an appetizer, entree, and dessert. We chose different appetizers and desserts so we could all sample each. The brie appetizer was very good, as was the meat sampler. For an entree the Beef Bourguignon was amazing! Just the right portioning too. This would be a great place for a date and not too expensive, especially if you do the bistro menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleyBarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    18
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
201 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good french cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have to say that I was surprised to find a good quality french restaurant in the western parts of Omaha. Good service, good wine and good traditional french food. We had a broad selection from the menu and most of it was good, including the snails with garlic and the boeuf bourginon.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Le Voltaire is definitely one of Omaha's best restaurants. My husband and I dine here quite often and are never disappointed. As the name would indicate it is a French restaurant but don't let that intimidate you. It is not at all pretentious. It is a small restaurant in a strip mall with a very welcoming staff. The menu is fairly large and it is very reasonably priced. The expert chef prepares everything perfectly. You can't go wrong no matter what you order.

If you have never tried Le Voltaire I suggest that you do. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OmahaCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillion
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

a place to dine, not dash. true French quisine, but tailored for local tastes. invariably a good experience. Cecric, the owner, is from a Paris suburb and his grandmother was obviously supurb in her kitchen. Lisa, and her wait staff, have always been very good. Everything has to be somewhere--every restaurant can't be in a castle. The location offers abundant parking, and the interior is well done in a typical French eatery style. The wine list rivals the old Cafe de Paris. Cedric nicely accomodates special requests, like making scallops in a brandy sauce no on the menu, if he has the ingredients on hand. All is prepared to order, not mass produced, warehouse stored, thawed, etc. With Ivan no longer in the business the torch has been passed into very good hands. This place is not "good for an Omaha place' but iwould be a truly superior restaurant anywhere--strip mall or otherwise, snob or gourmet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and just around the corner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

I had the Filet with mushroom sauce and salad with blue cheese plus bread pudding dessert. All good. It's not just the entree' - expect any restaurant to have a good main dish but it's also the relaxed atmosphere and excellent service. And the little extras like tasty mashed potatoes and my wife's grilled potatoes - were delicious. The green beans were cooked a perfect al dente', plus the dessert - bread pudding was also very tasty. Why only a four. We just came from a little vacation in New Orleans and just about every restaurant there is at least of this quality with great sauces and not a chain. And this is a strip mall location. The great food has to overcome that. On the plus side it's right around the corner from my house so we have dined here many times. And will again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Voltaire also viewed

 

Been to Le Voltaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing