We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, amazing staff!”
Review of McFoster's Natural Kind Cafe - CLOSED

McFoster's Natural Kind Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing staff!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

As a vegan, I couldn't be happier here. What a delicious meal (tempeh burritos and beans and rice)! What a most friendly people! We had a wonderful conversation about my favourit topics, veganism and Beatlemania, hahaha. Guys, you're awesome!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for vegetarians...not in a hurry.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I look forward to eating here when visiting Omaha--largely because we know it's one of the few places we can eat out where he will have a variety to choose from. The fresh squeezed juices are yummy. We have enjoyed the food. The best I've had yet was the epplant sandwhich on g-f bread & with non-dairy cheese. Loved it! The place could use a little sprucing up. While the staff is generally very friendly, the overall service is fairly slow. Don't come here when you're pinched for time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RickDonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice little place to go for something different. They have so many choices it's hard to decide what to order. I went w a vegetarian friend who suggested it. The weather was nice so we sat outside. The guacamole is delicious. I had a nutty salad with ranch dressing that was quite tasty. I am not a "hippie" and felt completely comfortable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tdmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not for me”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I like the idea of what McFoster's tries to achieve - but the one visit to this restaurant I had was also my last (I won't be returning).

What McFoster's offers in fresh quality and local accommodations it lacks in variety and overall flavor (several of my friends dishes were rather bland).

Also, not being a hippie, I felt somewhat out of place -- I don't mean that in a negative way against them, I just felt out of place in my docker pants and leather coat!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjconns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tasty, unique offerings”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a very enjoyable dinner, trying out a vegetarian and non-veg. offering. The curried tempeh with greens was amazing, as was the chicken marsala. We had the Bombay nachos--a great change from the usual nachos. The grilled portobello tasted like summer, in the middle of winter. Flavours were just right, not overwhelming. I appreciated being able to order yummy gluten-free, non-dairy items. The chocolate mousse was very creamy, as was the coconut milk ice cream. Any time we come to Omaha, we will eat here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubbalou_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing