We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school place - Gotta try it at least once”
Review of Caniglia's Venice Inn - CLOSED

Caniglia's Venice Inn
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
omaha
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Old school place - Gotta try it at least once”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a special place, Italian place of old. Good food, not sure how healthy, but special. Very traditional and authentic. Has been around for a while. Gotta try it and then you can decide how often you want to dine there. Nice change from contemporary places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mungo777Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another old generation”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We looked at the menu online and wondered if it would be too much like a previous restaurant we went to that we didn't like.(had an old feeling to it) So we picked somewhere else to eat. That place was closed so we decided to try caniglia's out. When we walked in we realized what we were in store for. Old fashioned food that maybe my grandparents might enjoy. The food was bland. No real flavor and the overall decor of the place was .... Just too dated for us. The fake plants and grapes had dust layers on them. The steps had bright duct tape to alert you them. While it was better than the other place we had been before, we would not be going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bibitybobityboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointed”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had high hopes for this place because I saw it on the Travel Channel & had driven past it a million times on the way to campus at UNO. However, it seemed pretty tired and the food was... a bit bland to be honest. Granted, I did not get the steak, so maybe that would've been good. But what I had wasn't anything special. If you're paying for a meal here, don't go. If someone invites you, sure, why not?

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A return visit after 35 years!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

The Venice Inn was a high school special occasion place for me growing up in Omaha. Just returned to visit family and wanted to go to a long time staple of Omaha steakhouses for my husband's benefit. It was a great dinner and the place has really withstood the test of time! My favorite item was the red sauce on the pastas....just a hint of sweetness and absolutely delicious. I had veal Parma and it was really good. The hash browns were also excellent. My husband had walleye and did not care for it...but it is an Italian steakhouse and that is what they are good at. We had a wonderful server who been there for many many years. No was sorry tonlea ve and hope to visit again much sooner.

Helpful?
Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, great value”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you are not looking to spend a lot of money for lunch but want to fill up on good food, this is the place. I had the lasagna which came with soup and salad bar. Their red sauce and homemade salad dressing is very good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Txcin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing