We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Johnny's Cafe

Johnny's Cafe
Ranked #139 of 1,361 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $0 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Omaha's Original Steak House Since 1922. Family owned and operated and proudly serving locals and visitors for over 90 years. Specializing in hand cut, aged on premise steaks and prime rib. Other menu items including chicken and fish available.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Love it”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This restaurant is a classic Omaha Gem! Authentic old school steakhouse that is tough to beat on any level! They have Great quality food, great quality service, and are always timely! Family owned and ran for almost 100 years, since 1922 I believe!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Casikki19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    21
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good steak”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

As we planned our weekend in Omaha all our friends told us, "Have a steak. It's a requirement in Omaha." We selected Johnny's because we'd heard someone mention it, but we knew very little about it prior to going there.

Finding the parking lot was difficult due to road construction, but that's hardly the fault of the restaurant. And it turned out to be worth the hassle.

First off, we'd spent the day at the zoo & were wearing jeans and were a bit windblown. No problem - attire is casual, so it's great for tourists on the go. I saw another couple in shorts.

We ordered the dinner for two at a set price, which allowed us to share an appetizer and dessert, but we could each select our own cut of steak, salad, and potato.

We selected spinach and artichoke dip for the appetizer. We couldn't figure out exactly what the seasoning was that made it unusual, but it's safe to say neither of us had ever had that dish prepared so well.

We were also served an odd concoction of cottage cheese and herbs to spread on crackers. At first we were a little put off by the texture, but we quickly grew to love it. It reminded us of Boursin cheese.

The salad was made with iceberg lettuce, not a favorite, but it was fresh and crispy, and the house vinaigrette was marvelous topped with bleu cheese. The baked stuffed potato was very good. But the real star of the show was the steak. We both ordered ribeye and were served hefty-sized, beautiful cuts of beef perfectly cooked. The was the perfect amount of very slight char on the grill lines. When we ordered medium we truly got medium- pink in the center but not bloody. The meat was so tender it really did give the impression of almost melting in the mouth.

Unfortunately, all this goodness left us no room for the warm bread pudding with rum sauce, which we had to take with us.

I have to mention our waitress, and I only wish I could recall her name and thank her. She was wonderful! Friendly, gave us good advice about other restaurants when we asked her, very personable. After we had paid our bill we decided we'd like a cup of coffee before leaving, and she didn't act in the least put out. What a gracious lady!

Next day we ate the bread pudding cold from the hotel room fridge. It was luscious, home-style bread pudding swimming in rum sauce. Warm, I'll bet it would have knocked our socks off.

We're from Kansas City, and we've had no dearth of good steaks in our lives. But we agreed that we'd never had better than this. We'd both wholeheartedly recommend Johnny's Cafe to other travelers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TollyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“WOW! What a great experience!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Don't let the name fool you, this is a very, very nice old restaurant with the best service we have experienced in many, many years! Brandy was fantastic! The food was perfect, the environment very classy but cozy, and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claude Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The feeling of rushed”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The prime rib was delicious but it came before I could even eat my salad, and everything was rushed because we were told they had a couple parties going on. Road construction made it somewhat difficult to get to their parking lot. Perhaps this was an isolated experience, but...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great steaks - mediocre sides.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Traveling to Omaha for the first time, we wanted an Omaha dinner experience. Johnny's is located right on the fringe of the stockyards in an old building. Our party had the prime rib and ribeye - which were melt in your mouth perfect - and the steak sandwich and chicken fried steak - which were both good. The salads were basic iceberg and dressing (you had an option for a "complimentary" anchovie on top!!!). The mashed potatoes were instant and the hash browns were obviously frozen/bagged. The au gratin potatoes were nice but nothing special.

Overall - the meat was fantastic and cooked perfectly. The rest? Nothing to warrent a return trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidwestFrogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Johnny's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing