We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian Food in Omaha that is way more than just Curry”
Review of Jaipur

Jaipur
Ranked #111 of 1,344 Restaurants in Omaha
Price range: $28 - $28
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Indian Food in Omaha that is way more than just Curry”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I was surprised when I read all of the reviews on TA before we went to Jaipur. They seemed slightly inconsistent. Either people loved it, or they thought it was just "ok". Admittedly, I have only ate Indian Food a couple of times. So, as a base line, I don't know that I really have one. But here's what I know from my experience at Jaipur.

First, it was packed. My wife and I were there for over an hour and a half and the restaurant never slowed down. There had been a few comments about the service speed on TA from previous diners. Our server was extrememly friendly and the speed of service was good. One thing I noted was that all of the diners that were there seemed to really be enjoying themselves and I could over hear people talking about the food. Even the table next to ours, noted we were new and wanted us to try some of their entree. They said it was one of their favorite restaurants in Omaha.

The food was unique and tasty. The Naan bread was good. The mint chutney, was excellent with a bit of kick. I had a lamb dish and my wife had a chicken dish. Both were dynamite. Bold flavors! I would also tell you to give the soup a try. It was also very, very good. Jaipur is also a brewery. I tried the Raspberry beer and it was good. I also heard very good comments about the Jalepeno beer.

So, if you are looking for the "same ole, same ole" American food - don't go to Jaipur. But, if you are looking to expand your pallate a little I would highly recommend giving this little gem a try in Omaha.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoBigRed10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very impressed.”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I went here for a birthday party. We surprised them with a party of 9 people. At first they said we needed a reservation but then seated us. We were waited on quickly. The staff helped us pick out the food to our tastes. They make their own beer there. The jalopeno beer was excellent as well as the stout. Everyone's food was excellent!! The entire bill for 9 including several beers was $200. I will go back without a doubt!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gasman51442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Omaha”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

There are a few good Indian restaurants in Omaha, but Jaipur is the best. The atmosphere makes it a destination for romance or a special occasion. The food is great. The vegetable Samosas, the Chicken Korma and the Nan are some of our favorites. If you want good Indian, go. It is not the cheapest (there are cheaper ones out there), but it is the best for taste and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoriandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
“Great Indian place to dine”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I was very satisfied with my recent dining experience at Jaipur. I had Chicken Tikka and Spinach stuffed Naan with couple glasses of Jalapeno beer. Food was really flavorful and tasty. I was scared to try Jalapeno beer but the wait staff was very nice to let me taste it first. I liked their homemade ice-cream with Mango on it. It was truly yummy and my 7 year old loved their fruit yogurt drink called Lassi. My wife had Lamb dish (Kadai Ghost) which was the best thing we had ever tasted in any Indian restaurant. I recommend Jaipur to all food lovers!!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daub_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the worst yet”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

To cheat people out of their to go orders is sleazy and not a good way to do business.
You don't get what you paid for not to mention the owner is the crappiest busniess man I've met. doesn't smile and thinks he owns Taj Mahal. NOT GOING BACK.

  • Visited February 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hwyman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaipur also viewed

 

Been to Jaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing