We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,338 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 11th & Jackson
Transit: Upstream Brewing Company and the Old Market area are easily accessible by Metro Area Transit bus routes 10 and 13 and Express route 95.
Description: Since opening in 1996, Upstream Brewing Company has become well known for its great food, friendly service, terrific beer and casual upscale atmosphere. We feature an extensive menu of new American pub fare including: Omaha's best appetizers and thin-crust pizzas, pub favorites, superb steaks featuring hand cut "Omaha Steaks" beef, fresh fish, pasta dishes, main course salads, hearty sandwiches and, a great children's menu. Our fully stocked bars feature our award winning fresh, handcrafted beers and root beer on tap and, our extensive wine list features over 50 selections. Large parties are welcome and we have multiple options for seating large groups. Named "One of Omaha's Top Ten Restaurants" by the Omaha World Herald, and the winner of dozens of "Best of Omaha" Awards, Upstream Brewing Company is the ideal gathering place for any group. Call ahead for group reservations or to be placed on our waiting list.
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

A wonderful selection of on-site brewed ales and beers. A varied menu that will fill you up and won't break the bank. Good place to take kids, as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cacheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    503
    202
    52
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
218 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a great spot in Old Market downtown which we had never seen before. There were many places to eat, it was a beautiful night so we chose this one. Good food and drinks, wonderful atmosphere. Waiter from another table was very nice, our waitress was a little snarky, think she was ready to go home.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank italian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Nice Watering Hole With Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

My first dining stop on a recent trip to Omaha was to the Upstream Brewing Company. The restaurant is located in the VERY COOL Market District where old factories and buildings have been converted into shops and eateries galore. If you are in Omaha, you simply MUST visit the area.

Upstream is a bright, friendly place featuring a big menu and some very good craft beers. The meal started with the Iceberg Wedge Salad dressed out with tomatoes, bacon, blue cheese crumbles and creamy blue dressing. For the entree, I settled on the NY Strip Steak (what else would you order in Omaha besides steak?). It was a nice 12-ouncer served up in "red wine shallot butter, parmesan aioli and arugula salad with shaved asiago cheese and lemon vinaigrette". That's what the menu says and that's what it was. Delicious! Of course, french fries came with it.

Upstream offers 5 or 6 different craft beers. I had the Firehouse Red Ale which was very good. Folks at our table sampled other brews and everyone was impressed.

The restaurant is a very pleasant, friendly place although it does get a little noisy.

My opinion? Give it a try! I think you'll find something that's make your mouth water and your tummy feel good!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TVMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The restaurant was clean and the weather perfect, so we chose to eat out on the patio. The patio was comfortable and great for people-watching. The service was quick and friendly. We started with fried pickles and the artichoke asiago dip with their beer bread (SO AMAZING). The root beer they make pleased my nephew and daughter. It was rich and sweet. My sister is a vegan, so their menu catered to her diet as well as mine (I eat meat) and we both loved our meals! The kids each got a pizza, one regular menu pizza and a kid's menu pizza and they both enjoyed them. It was my nephew's birthday, so he got to choose a dessert (peanut butter cheesecake), my sister the creme brulee, and I got the peanut butter brownie, my daughter the root beer float, and we were satisfied and stuffed! I would eat here again given the chance. It was wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for drinks and dinner and were impressed by the size of this place. It was a very pleasant environment. The beers were well above average compared to other microbrew joints. I had the Tuscan salad and it was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank brett z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Upstream Brewing Company - Old Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing