We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service good food”
Review of Brix - CLOSED

Brix
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mccook
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great service good food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

we visited brix midtown on a friday evening. we had a fairly large party-13 of us. Or waitress was vary attentive and friendly. The bartender was also helpful in helping people in our party choose their drinks. we have visited there before for drinks but this was the first time we have eaten there. the food is pretty good. they had a couple of "small plate" specials that were kind of interesting. the quality and quantity of the food was good. the atmosphere is wonderful and they have outside seating as well but since it was kind of windy that evening we chose to stay inside. we had a few wine "snobs" in our group and they were inpressed with the selection of wines and the overall concept of the wine bar.
we did have one little mishap...one of our members didn't get his food with the rest of us and when we asked our server she said it was on its way, we waited a bit longer and when she went to get it from the kitchen, one of the other servers had taken her order so he had to wait even longer. the rest of us were almost done eating by the time he got his food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    29
    6
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blair, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brix at Midtown Crossing”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great meeting spot and seems to constantly be packed with young professionals , but even those long in the tooth enjoy the superb wine selection and high quality meals for a reasonable price. Considering how busy this place is the food is received relatively quickly and the ability to sample to your heart's desire at the numerous wine stations makes any wait relaxing and pleasant. Buy a wine card and venture from site to site sampling the selection and kicking back with friends and new acquaintances. Firepit, long tables, bar, ( and great tables and firepits outside when it is warmer ) wherever you sit there are things to view -- from outside scenes of the park , street, to just people watching. The atmosphere is great , but the fun stands tall with all the other amenities. Had the Steak Frites and it was cooked perfectly , great taste and solid au jus included, but the surprise was the blue cheese aoli dip for the fries. Wow, rich, unique, and since the fries alone were top notch a great combination with the French red blend I was trying. Wife had a beet salad with a beer cheese soup and loved both also. To make things perfect, Sarah, our waitress , was pleasant, attentive and super fast at getting things for us and making sure she was there for all our needs. Nice romantic, and relaxing dinner --- we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viper51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good deal this time, not so much next time”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Brix (the bar, not restaurant side) is a favorite date spot for my husband and I as we can make a selection from literally hundreds of kinds of beer, pull up a chair at the bar and enjoy the great vibe. We almost always order the charcuterie and cheese plate, which again was just exceptional. This is an ever-changing menu item, dependent upon the cheese and meat available. Our favorite this time was almost a brie/gorgonzola mix. The bar side now also has a beer bar where they have about 20 on tap, a nice touch.

We were disappointed on this visit however, to learn that Brix is going to start charging $ 2-4 per bottle of beer being opened, served and consumed at the store. I could understand a minimal upcharge, but this will deter a lot of business - ours included. Tacking an extra $ 12 onto a six pack no longer makes it the attractive, try something new for a reasonable price place it has been.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rejsaflicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service was awesome food was terrible”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Would be great place to go for drinks, wine, beer etc. they have prices on food like it is a five star restaurant. My food had no flavor my husband's burger was supposed to be medium it was well done, fries were frozen from a bag. Would go back for drinks not food find a chef!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Very Fun Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Some girlfriends and I took our friend out for her birthday at the Village Pointe Brix. We had such a good time; I think I want to celebrate my birthday there next! It's really fun to walk around and choose your wine. We shared the cheese tray and the calamari. Great food, wine, and friends; what could be better?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing