We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the Daily Specials; however, the Desert is Excellent”

Gerda's German Restaurant and Bakery
Ranked #52 of 1,361 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Description: Established in 1976.
Restaurant details
Description: Established in 1976.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Check the Daily Specials; however, the Desert is Excellent”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Gerda's has a different special every day. Before dining at Gerda's, call ahead to see what their special is (including the soup). Wiener Schitzel is on Thursdays, and it is very authentic.

However, the deserts is what is unbelievable. While the German food here is great, the deserts are fireworks. In fact, I don't even care what the special of the day is since I am already thinking about the desert.

Black Forest Cake.....

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kalyan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Authentic German Food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Yummy. We were looking for a restaurant to celebrate our German heritage in October. What we didn't expect was such awesome and plentiful food... the German hard rolls brought back many memories of sharing them with my mother. The beer was full of Germany!
We were warmly greeted at the bakery door and then ushered into the dining room... nothing fancy, but very clean.
Bringing home baked goods... German strudel made with apples, raisins, and cottage cheese, and an apricot kolachi let us relive the experience the next morning.
Gerda told us to make sure and come back when the weather gets cooler... warm wine with spices. For sure we will travel the 90 miles from Sioux City to enjoy this hidden little place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Yes, it IS like homemade.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice little place. This small bakery serves dinner a few days a week Wed - Sat from 5 to 9PM. Its not for you 'foodies' that want foo foo presentation and locally sourced, organic mumbo jumbo ( that doubles the price ) - no , this is like you went to Grandma's house for dinner.

Being of partial German ancestry myself I enjoy this kind of cooking. Nothing fancy , a big mug of imported beer on the side. A simple bowl of liver dumpling soup that was like i make myself to start. That Salad that some had was good - with pickled beets and other good things added.

I had the Holstein schnitzel with eggs on top and garnished with swiss cheese, caviar and anchovies. Very good. My wife the Schweinbraten pork roast also tender and home made taste good buttery spaetzel on the side. A side of sweet / sour red cabbage was very tasty.

Desserts were good - Hazelnut cake was light as a feather as was the Napolean. We took a apricot coffee cake home as well for this morning's breakfast - very good.

Bottom line - if you want a food experience and foo foo nibbles with weird seasonings at $30 a plate this is not the place for you. If you want some real German food at half that price - give it a shot. Don't dress up - its casual..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grayhorse89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Like Going to Mom's For Dinner”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Gerda's is much more than a bakery. You're greeted like family when you arrive. You are seated in an area that is simple, like Mom's kitchen. The person that waited on us was very friendly and helpful. The menu is simple, mostly pork loin and beef dishes, with a few sandwiches. You come here for German food, not a sweeping menu. At the top of the menu is Gerda's special Jaeger Schnitzel which is a breaded pork loin, spaetzle, a mug of German beer or glass of wine, and a large slice of German Forest Cake all for $20. The cake had to go home in a box as there just wasn't room for it after the large meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RichFromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best wedding cakes too!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My kids has gone to Gerda's for years during their UNO days for the food and polka days. Gerda made the hazelnut and yellow cakes for my daughter's wedding. Best hazelnut cake EVER! We had enough to freeze for leftovers and it came out moist and delicious. Gerda's German food is to die for. Love the sauerkraut and potato salad. Could just eat that everyday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petefamx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerda's German Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Gerda's German Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing