We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it, will visit everytime I go to Omaha”

Nicola's Italian Wine & Faire
Ranked #97 of 1,339 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Tiny, rustic indoor seating, with seating in a big beautiful outdoor garden. A very special way to enjoy an evening with friends or family. The homemade desserts are the perfect way to end a delightful meal. We want you to enjoy your evening and enjoy freshly made entrees, so they do take a little more time to prepare when ordering. We also cater business lunches and dinner parties. The red sauce has a little kick to it and I love our lasagna!
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it, will visit everytime I go to Omaha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate on the patio on a great 81 degree evening. The food is fresh made, so be prepared to wait a bit or order an appetizer. I should have done that for my 10 yr old. I had the Portabella Ravoli - to die for!! Pasta comes with a salad and bruschetta. Both very good! This dish did come with meatballs. I thought they were a little dense and undercooked (sorry!) The marinara was wonderful! My daughter ordered the tomato soup and it was also very, very good! My teen ordered the alfredo tortellini and she said it was just good. We tend to compare any Italian restaurant to The Hill in St. Louis. I thought this marinara and ravoli was better than I had eaten at The Hill. My daughter thought the alfredo wasn't as good, she said she would order the marinara next time.
Service was good, atmosphophere was the best they could do with that corner lot. The traffic was a bit noisy, but you are in the city! I liked the small size, it was very cozy! In a good way!! Would have loved to have been able to stay all night and drink wine, but had kids along!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KansasAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicola n, Owner at Nicola's Italian Wine & Faire, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words! I'm so happy that you had a great meal while traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    36
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Traveling salesman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Main entire of lasagne was fantastic! It came with meatballs that were excellent! The soup and salad were just fair. Service poor with dirty plates left on the table and little follow up.
Come for the lasagna!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicola n, Owner at Nicola's Italian Wine & Faire, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! I have had a meeting with the wait staff to not forget the small details. It's very important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very authentic, fresh-made italian. I have not eaten in every Italian place in Omaha, but quite a few and this is by far the best I have had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omaha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
107 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We couldn't quit raving about the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a reservation on a busy evening with three girlfriends. We all had something different and loved it all. The small venue just adds to what makes this restaurant such a great find. If I find myself back in Omaha some day, I will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UsTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food but not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We called prior to arriving just to make sure we could get in and were told no problem. It was fairly early on a warm Saturday night. The outside patio was full so we were seated right by the door at a small table in the dining room. The best thing I can say about our waiter was that he was good looking. His manner was dismissive and surly. I don't know if it was because we were two elderly women and he didn't think we were worthy of his attention, or what. We ordered the cheese and artichoke antipasto plate and a bottle of wine to start. The antipasto was nothing special. A selection of cheese with ONE small artichoke heart in the middle and a few olives sprinkled around the plate. The entire plate had been doused with olive oil and loaded with ground black pepper. Whoa! What a great way to ruin the subtle flavor of mild cheeses! Turns out as disappointing as that was it was a good thing we had it because it seems our entrees were MIA. After all of the surrounding tables had been served (and we were the first ones seated in the dining room) the waiter finally came by to tell us it would be 'just a couple more minutes'. We sat for another 10 minutes. Finally, I caught his eye and he said our meals were 'being plated' and would be right out.' They were, but they were both lukewarm. I have to say, the sauces were excellent and the pasta did taste homemade, but the poor service left a sour taste in my mouth. I would not recommend this server, but would recommend the food, especially the light marinara sauce.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Runner1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicola n, Owner at Nicola's Italian Wine & Faire, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for the review. I'm sorry about the servers lack of attention, they are no longer with us. I also took a look at the kitchens use of oil and it was too much. They have been retrained!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola's Italian Wine & Faire also viewed

 

Been to Nicola's Italian Wine & Faire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing