We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The music on Friday night, Peace, Love, Etc. was fantastic--service lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Firewater Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Firewater Grille
Ranked #352 of 1,338 Restaurants in Omaha
Cuisines: American, Bar, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
146 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The music on Friday night, Peace, Love, Etc. was fantastic--service lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I followed this band from another venue several weeks ago, and the band was fantastic and the music is great to dance to. This restaurant is located in a Comfort Inn (I think it used to be a Ramada Inn) and it has a "Tiki Bar" theme with an outdoor fireplace. It is a little kitchy, to say the least, and the service from the bar leaves a lot to be desired. The crowd is mixed with old, drunken guys and younger headbanger types that frequent the place. I have not had any good food there to speak of and the wine selection is very limited. The waitresses don't have a lot of time as the place is packed most of the night, It is midtown and not a highly sought after neighborhood but it is close to the interstate for ease of arriving and leaving. I have not stayed in the hotel and the lobby is rather boring but they do have security on the premises. If it wasn't for this particular band, I would not visit this bar for drinks or food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1bluebutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not your typical pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The menu is not what you would expect for your standard hotel bar, it is well conceived, and different enough, even if it is a little on the pricey side. You do get your money's worth

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnathanG121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
259 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very Popular But Just So-So Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Sort of an odd array of items on the menu. The soups were...strange and salty. Should have gotten the steak special, it looked good. Very nice cocktails and I enjoyed the music. The server was a hoot, ( that's good! )

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geotreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food was decent but the service was very slow. It took the waitress a long time to get to our table, however she did apologize. The order was also mixed up and we waited quite a while for a plate to straighten it out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissDee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahoo, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited here on Saturday 12/8/12. We were interested as it was advertised as Carribbean style. As you walk in, it appears to be your average sports bar. The only thing slightly Carribbean would be the silly looking Tiki roof over the bar. Waitress asked what we would like to drink. I tried to order a drink being advertised on a poster on the wall "no, sorry we are out". Hmmm, tried to order mixed drink, "no, sorry we are also out of that". I ordered water. Tired to order off of the menu, again, "sorry we are out or we don't serve that anymore". Special of the night was free dessert with NY Strip. With 4 desserts offered on the menu, we asked if they had all of the desserts available. The answer received was yes, to be followed by, "but we are out of pineapple upside down cake". Tables on each side of us ran into the same situation. One table asked about the macaroni and cheese-"Is it "real mac n cheese?" The answer was "yes it is real" and then clarified that it was Kraft instant. Hmmmmm.......
Anyway, we received our NY Strips and found that they were about 1/4 inch thick and 1/2 of the entire steak was grissle and fat for $17. Asked for our desserts to go and we will NEVER go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Firewater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing