We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Cupcakes and Service”

Jones Bros Cupcakes
Ranked #3 of 23 Bakeries in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Ames, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Cupcakes and Service”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had cupcakes for my husband's birthday, every flavor was good, and the decorating was super. My husband's favorite was any of the chocolates. Very Friendly and welcoming staff.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Omaha treat.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Red velvet waffle cones and ice cream are absolutely delicious, that is all I have to add to all the other wonderful reviews. This place is great, simply put. The décor is welcoming and open. The smell upon entering is delightful. The location is wonderful as well, the area is really developing. The service however, could use some improvement, it shouldn't be hard to be friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusRo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Filthy floors and overpriced treats”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went to the new location on opening day because I was excited to get a macaron or two, based on those I tried at the Aksarben location. First, the service was poor. It wasn't that busy, but the gal behind the counter completely ignored us and moved on to the people behind us. When I asked for help, she snapped at me. We ordered two cupcakes (pumpkin and toffee) and two macarons. Cakes were OK, nothing special and no filling. Meh. The macarons were incredibly disappointing. First, they were tiny. Just itty bitty and the price was ridiculous. Then they offered all sorts of weird flavor combos. Stick with the basics in the usual size, please! The pistachio macaron was actually pretty tasty, nice chewy cookie and melty filling. But the hazelnut was awful. Filling dry, cookie crumbly.

On top of this, the floors were absolutely filthy. White tile maybe not such a great choice. Hope they get some of the kinks worked out and go back to the quality macarons at the usual price!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank huskeranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Addictive cupcakes”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I work near Jones Bros so I eat there regularly. The salads and the sandwiches are always very good and the cupcakes are addictive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gsud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overrated-Not impressed”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Read different reviews and thought to give it a try. Had 2 cupcakes and did not like either one. Way too much frosting and overwhelming sweetness. Could not taste the flavor of the cake itself because of so much sugar. I tried the maple bacon and the pumpkin, took one bite of each and threw the rest in the garbage.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jones Bros Cupcakes also viewed

 

Been to Jones Bros Cupcakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing