We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 3 zoos in the country, no joke”
Review of Henry Doorly Zoo

Henry Doorly Zoo
Ranked #1 of 122 things to do in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This world-class zoo is famous for its involvement with breeding endangered species from around the world.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top 3 zoos in the country, no joke”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Who knew that Omaha, NE would have one of the best zoos in the country? We didn't believe it until we went. We immediately bought a family pass and it paid for itself in a month! You can go any month of the year and there is enough to see for an entire day for the family. Tons of indoor exhibits: world's largest indoor desert and rain forest, a huge aquarium, etc. The kids love it. great for getting their energy out during the winter. Very pleasant in the summer too. Food vendors everywhere, cheap admission, every animal you would want to see except a panda. What isn't there to love.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,770
    640
    160
    37
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holton, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Omaha Zoo”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

After visiting many of our nations zoo's The Henry Doorly I believe is at the top of the zoo's list. It was clean, the animals were well taken care of. The employee's were very helpful. The price very reasonable. You can spend the entire day there and not see the same thing twice. It is a beautiful place for all ages. Omaha did it right

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“One of the nation's finest zoos”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

One of the nation's finest zoos. This is an absolute "must see" if you're visiting Omaha. I highly recommend it. Wonderful for kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RavenATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“World Class”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is by far one of the best zoo's in the world. There is so much to see that you can spend an entire day there and not get a chance to experience it all. I have been to the Henry Doorly Zoo many times, my last trip was just me and my wife. This is a must for anyone with children of any age.

Helpful?
Thank jc3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Always a great time. So much to see. The only negative is the sky fair ride. I rode on it with two small children and almost had a panic attack. I was trying to hold both children in as I was petrified they would fall out over the animal pens. No restraints whatsoever. Other than that, the aquarium is awesome as is the rest of the zoo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonesandhisgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henry Doorly Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing