We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Fun”
Review of Henry Doorly Zoo

Henry Doorly Zoo
Ranked #1 of 115 things to do in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This world-class zoo is famous for its involvement with breeding endangered species from around the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We loved everything. Best zoo experience. We also loved the price that the zoo gave the group we with. We were at the event for a special Olympics event. Loved it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,553
    599
    148
    35
    24
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude train staff. Great animals.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very rude young employee who was on his phone at the train depot informed us very dismissively that the train was closed and we couldn't use the other half of our round trip train tickets, or get a refund. We didn't care about the money, but thought the train ran until 5, not 4. And our 3 yr old who loves trains was very disappointed. Was storming when we got there but it cleared up and most of the animals were out. Take your own lunch as the concessions are very expensive and does not taste good. I suggest going when they open if you want to see the whole zoo. Was disappointing not to see the elephants this time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ritarenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I have never been disappointed”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is probably one of the best zoos in the USA. We spend 2 days and had a blast. There were lots of animals to see and many ways to see them. By foot, train, tram or the skyway. This is definitely worth the small fee to get in $14.00. A few dollars more if you wanted to see a show at the Imax. We loved the rainforest, aquarium, petting zoo and...I could go on and on. Don't hesitate if you are thinking on going just go do it and you won't have any regrets.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ChezQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice clean well planned zoo! Go yearly and each year it's better then before. Will continue trips here for many years!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CBKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was excellent. A lot of interesting animals and reptiles. Well set out with easy access to everything. Great family day out.
Eating there very good as well. Totally recommend the whole experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Henry Doorly Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing