We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 801 Chophouse

801 Chophouse
Reserve with OpenTable
801 Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 1,338 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 14th and Farnam
Description: 801 Chophouse at the Paxton is inspired by the classic 1920's New York Chophouse. 801 Chophouse Omaha's masculine interior is highlighted with dark woods, marble and granite accents, brass fixtures, dual pane frosted glass and white linens. 801 Chophouse showcases only U.S.D.A. Prime Grade beef and jet-fresh seafood. The bar offers an array of world class wines, single malt scotches, crafty cocktails and after dinner cognacs. As our guest, you will be given 801 Chophouse top notch professional service. Reserve one of the four Private dining rooms, seating eight to forty guests, to host your next soiree.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best steak & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband & I went to 801 Chophouse at the Paxton in downtown Omaha for dinner. Our server was Michael. It was the best steak I've ever had! Michael was excellent and is a server we request for all business dinners. If you are visiting Omaha, you can't go wrong eating here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    72
    39
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hands down, best steak I ever ate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Service was top notch, very attentive and helpful. Bone in delmonico (medium - rare) was best cooked and tasting steak ever. Fat metled like butter. Meat flavorful and tender. Had sides of asparagus, mashed potatoes and something else, but quite frankly, we didnt even really eat the sides after feasting on the steaks - nothing else mattered. Exact steak Ive always looked for. Not sure of pricing however since someone else paid. Had a grand marnier souffle for desert, excellent as well - definitely recommend with the vanilla sauce.

Go here, you will be happy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beef the Old School Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I love eating at the bar here, as the bar tender is a Sommelier in training and I have learned so much from the conversation. The food is second to none. I do like Sullivan's very much but for me the brilliant influence from the bar staff greatly compliments the delicious steaks.

Very convenient to walk to 801 from most downtown hotels.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenChiliSmuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I ate at the bar and had just an outstanding meal. I took the bartenders suggestion on just about every aspect and he was spot on...... He even picked my wine based on what I told him I liked.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We LOVED the 801 Chophouse at the Paxton. The service was top notch and the atmosphere is very "old school, with an upscale feel". We couldn't have been happier with the service. The food was really good, the ribeye was extremely flavorful! What will bring us back is the service and atmosphere! Thanks again 801!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank triplejayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 801 Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing