We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate shoppe”
Review of Cupcake Island

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cupcake Island
Ranked #14 of 40 Dessert in Omaha
Restaurant details
Eagle
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“First rate shoppe”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Two things: 1) pride of ownership - this place is incredibly clean, obvious from point of entry. Check the floors, walls, corners, counters. Even the restroom (always a tell-tale) and the back of the house radiate cleanliness.
2) Great cupcakes. Moist, fine crumb, tastefully topped, and delicious. Worth the drive if you are in the market for cupcakes. Very very good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idahotraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love their cupcakes”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The shop is really cute, and I didn't find their cupcakes dry, as someone else said. I love getting cupcakes here for birthdays or special occasions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Good cupcakes and cakes too.”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have visited here about a dozen times - great for a snack when you know you dont want an entire cake sitting around the house calling to you to be eaten. We also picked up a birthday cake here made from the same cake. Nice to bring a half dozen to someone for a hostess gift too.

They are expensive but if you are only getting one or two , what the heck.

My favorite is the wedding cake with almond frosting. A close second is the pistachio but they rarely have those in the counter.

We have a running battle at home - my wife likes Jones brothers better I like this place better.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grayhorse89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy cupcakes and helpful staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I am hooked on the cupcakes from Cupcake Island. They are much better tasting and not as expensive as cupcakes in some other shops I've tasted. The devils food is my favorite. The minis make a cute dessert selection, but the regular size have more frosting! The people are great and will customize anything you want.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sp1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha Ne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not that good”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I have tried several flavors and always have the same feeling. They are ok but not great.
I tried the pink champagne. No flavor and a bit dry- the frosting tasted a bit grainy, kind of made with granulated sugar not powdered.
The italian cream was better. Maybe it was fresher.
All the other ones have been on the dry side- The red velvet etc..
Overall I have been dissapointed and felt i could have done better myself

Helpful?
Thank Sk8smom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cupcake Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing