We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for couples!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Omaha Aksarben Village
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect place for couples!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here in our way to the Grand Canyon. We loved the hotel. It still felt new and was exceptionally clean. The rooms were quiet and private and the lobby had anything you would require. I know that there is not "free" breakfast here but we prefer to organize our own instead of eating from a buffet anyways. We loved our room and for a family you might say it was a little small but for the two of us it was perfect! The neighbourhood was perfect also. Nice quiet part of town, no loud bars close by.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    87
    21
    1
    5
See reviews for
92
46
13
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Courtyard Omaha Aksarben Village over Labor Day weekend 2011. We selected this hotel do to it's decent reviews on Trip Advisor and room availability. We have six boys, and we had two rooms across the hall from each other.

My complaints about this property has nothing to do with the service provided by the excellent staff, nor the level of cleanliness, but about Marriott's degradation of service over the past year. It is clear that Marriott is trying to economize! This doesn't just apply to the Aksarben but other new facilities in which we have stayed this past year.

We stay at Marriott facilities about three times a year. Marriott has the best beds and we are always assured of a good night's sleep. In fact, the only time I sleep well is when I'm staying at the Marriott. It's something about being away from the pressures at home and having a good mattress to sleep on. In that respect, Marriott's quality has not gone down. We also stay in other hotels, but the beds are never as good.

Aksarben Village is a newer facility. We have stayed at a couple newer Marriott facilities and they all have the same characteristic, a scaling down of general comfort and amenities. The pools are "bathtubs" as my kids call them. This is very true for the Aksarben. The pool "comfortably" holds 10 people. It looks a lot smaller than it does in the picture and you will be shocked at how small it really is when you see it in person. A business traveler swimming solo in the pool could get some satisfaction out of it, but our experience is that it's packed full of kids and there is standing room only, so it would not benefit the business traveler, unless he/she swimmes from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. It is a clean pool, however, and the temperatures is the best we have felt.

It's capacity is 19. A little girl threw up in the pool and everyone cleared out immediately. The family was clueless and they had the pool to themselves the rest of the evening! Everyone knew what had happened except the family! I called and reported what had happened and saw the maintenance guy cleaning the pool the first thing the next morning.

Marriott does not offer free breakfast anymore! You pay $15.00 per room for vouchers to get breakfast at the attached restaurant. That $15.00 covers four people. However, at the Aksarben, the chef is the most accommodating of any I have ever seen. He greets the customers out front, talks to them, and bends over backwards to make customized breakfasts for each member of the party. That is, if he doesn't have to unload a truck delivery, which must get out before the food spoils. I have celiac's disease and he bent over backwards to make me a special breakfast, which included cleaning pans, and his kitchen to make sure there was no cross contamination, and he was happy to do it. He was amazing!!!!!!

The rooms at the Aksarben are very, very small. We had two King Suites with a full sofa bed. The rooms accommodated the four for each room but there was absolutely no walking room once the sofa bed was pulled out. The Marriott allows a crib to be brought in the rooms for babies but don't plan on having room for it.

The TV is not directed toward the bed, so don't plan on being able to watch TV from the bed. It does swivel but not enough for comfort. We don't watch TV anyway so it's important for our stay, but some would find this frustrating.

The air conditioners are quite and have a thermostate control on the wall, so you don't have to keep the babies away from it.

The bathrooms are small and only have a shower with a low flow head. Don't expect a luxurious bath or way to relax with the pool or the shower. It's just facilitates getting clean, and that's it.

The free wireless Internet connection is very slow, but it's there when you need it. You just need to have time to be able to use it. Don't expect to be able to check your flights in a hurry.

There is a nice business area downstairs that should work better for speed. We didn't use it. There is also an interactive Google Maps type kiosk to help you find restaurants, churches, etc., but it is also slow.

Marriott put in a lot of expense to make the lobby state of the art but my opinion is they should have put the money into the rooms and the pool.

The housekeeping staff did a great job with the cleaning and they are very polite and friendly!!

We also felt very safe at the Aksarben. Many of the areas of Omaha are now run down, and one feels like they have to always have eyes on the back of the head to keep from being mugged, but Aksarben village is a new upscale neighborhood that is right in the middle of an enterprise zone type of neighborhood that has been regenerated; old properties torn down, new high tech, upscale, and beautiful facilities built up right next to the University of Omaha. It was definitely built to cater to the students in the area, being a place that can be walked, and providing nearby shopping (expensive), and entertaiment for young adults. It is not really a place for families. It's really more for students and visiting parents.

However, if you want to go visit the Strategic Air Command Museum, Henry Doorly Zoo, and other locations in Omaha, it is very accessible to 72nd street which takes you to many good shopping, eating, and entertainment locations, and very accessible to I-80. You do need access to a car to get groceries and go to restaurants, as another poster here said. Super Walmart and Kohls are about a mile away. We had to drive to Dodge street to find a good family restaurant that wouldn't break the bank.

Also, just to let future customers know ....there are no microwaves in the rooms, nor do you have access to one anywhere in the hotel. For people with special dietary needs, this is a huge problem. The mini-fridges are also very mini. Plan to bring a lot of non-perishable snacks, apples, and nuts to get you buy in between meals.

Given the choice, I wouldn't go back to the Aksarben because we can get a 3 room suite for the same price at the Comfort Inn and Suites not far from Aksarben village for the same price, with free breakfast and a kitchenette.

However, for our three day stay, it was fine considering we planned this as a last minute trip on a holiday weekend, and didn't have much choice but to stay there.

Let me just say, that I really did appreciate the staff of the hotel and the restaurant for making up for the deficits that Marriott built into the facility.

They are the reason I gave Aksarben Village the very good rating.

Room Tip: Not for large families, and not for anyone that wants to have a good place to swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayscleaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed two nights Friday and Saturday in a room with a king-size bed. We asked for, and received "early arrival."
The room is not over-large, but has just about everything you need, except a microwave. The hotel looks brand-new, and we especially appreciated the bathroom fixtures that regulated water temperature and flow perfectly.
Don't expect a complementary morning breakfast, although there's a Bistro Cafe near the lobby where you can order a modest (yet relatively expensive) breakfast and charge to your room. It had a bar, also.
We didn't use the indoor pool or hot spa, or the Fitness Room, but they looked inviting. The indoor pool is a bit small.
There's free hotel parking in a shadeless lot behind the hotel.
We stayed on the 2nd floor. The room was quiet and the king size mattress was firm enough, although we'd have preferred an even firmer one. Room temperature was controlled well by a wall thermostat.
I appreciated the availability of computers with free internet access in a space adjacent to the lobby, although annoyingly I couldn't print out our boarding passes from one, but had to use the dedicated Boarding Pass stations. Just letting you know.
We were on the 2nd floor. The elevators were eerily quiet. Travelers should be cautioned that arguments and conversations taking place around the rooms' bathroom are clearly audible to passers-by in the hallway. It's a bit off-putting to hear profanity-laced conversation as you're walking to the elevator.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnVic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

A new hotel with stylish rooms and lobby,this was a great place for my three night stay to attend a conference in the Scott conference centre across the street. The Wifi is free and strong, and there are free computers and printers available in the lobby. There is very limited food service - a snack-bar type arrangement, hot food is available. Food is pre-processed and given a quick turn in the microwave. To get to anything more substantial, count on a $15 taxi ride, and at least a 15 minute wait for the cab - so plan ahead. There is an up-scale grocery store a 5 minute walk away, and the rooms are thoughtfully equipped with fridges.
Staff were very friendly and the place was sparkling clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed here two days for a wedding that was in downtown Omaha, a quick 15 minutes away. The staff was all pleasant and very helpful. The decor was fresh and modern. My wife loved the artwork so much that she is trying to get copies of some it. The rooms were set up differently than your typical hotel, which was nice. The free Wi-fi was also a plus. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed here for work back in August. This place is far downtown, but close to a Wal-Mart and other strip-mallesque shopping. For my stay, the main selling point is the customer service. The staff bent over backwards that make sure folks like me were having a good day and having a good staying experience.

The hotel was very modern in an upcoming commercial area (currently near a quiet housing community). The rooms were plush and comfortable. The basic internet is very slow, but you can pay more for something faster. The outdoor patio area with fire pit is very inviting and the swimming pool is very spacious and inviting. Parking can be a fight, but the hotel has easy access on all 4 points. I would recommend this place to any business or leisure (looking for a good value, not a hot spot / spa event) travelers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastball16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed here while in Omaha for a family reunion and quite honestly, I think I would have enjoyed it more were I traveling on business thanks to the free wifi access, workout facility, lounge/cafe with TV and computers, etc. The best part of this hotel for a business travel is its central location to the university and Omaha midtown businesses. There are better hotels in town for a family stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campfiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Omaha hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Omaha Midtown - Aksarben Area
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Downtown/Old Market Area
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Omaha Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Magnolia Hotel Omaha
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Omaha Aksarben Village
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Omaha Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Omaha Aksarben Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Omaha Aksarben Village

Property: Courtyard Omaha Aksarben Village
Address: 1625 S 67th St, Omaha, NE 68106-1147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Omaha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Omaha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Omaha
#8 Business Hotel in Omaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Omaha Aksarben Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Omaha, the newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott is part of a new vibrant, mixed use urban development. Aksarben Village is home to many businesses. With in walking distance are many restaurants and entertainment venues. Our hotel is located on the South side of the University of Omaha's Campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Omaha Aksarben Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Omaha Aksarben Village Hotel Omaha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing