We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Architecture, really amazing space” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Cecilia's Cathedral

St. Cecilia's Cathedral
Ranked #13 of 111 things to do in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tours are available through this Spanish Renaissance-style cathedral, which contains stained-glass windows from the 16th century.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture, really amazing space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This italian-iberian inspired Roman Catholic cathedral is a grand space, a wonderland of masonry and mosaic, it is definitely an oasis of calm. the cathedral also has a really beautiful mechanical action pipe organ built by Martin Pasi, which has been featured on the American Public Media radio show Pipedreams.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank OHIOJOE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for a short visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Huge doom and nice music.
Interesting architecture style.
Worth 20 min trip, plus 20 min in the museum nearby.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Han Ding X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Do Not Skip the Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

You do not have to be Catholic or a fan of cathedrals to appreciate this building. Its story alone is worth a visit. The interior, the organ and the sheer power it holds over you when you're inside is something that you have to experience for yourself. As is typical in the case of grand places, pictures really do not do the place justice, and you just have to go in yourself and look around. I came just after a mass, and was completely alone inside except for the organist, playing high above me the whole time I walked around. I'm not religious, but that was a religious experience.
But behind the cathedral, in a small building that used to house the high school, is a museum. I was so shocked by how good this museum was that, even though it's free, I insisted on donating money to them. Everything is extremely well organized, clear and laid out, and it's all relevant to the cathedral and its history, including a section on the very interesting life of its architect, who also designed the Trans-Mississippi Exhibition site. Do not miss this! The cathedral has a fascinating history and the museum details everything without boring you. I was particularly interested in the story of the first Saint Cecilia's Cathedral, after a violent storm caused the church to be split in half on the eve of the Saint Cecilia festival day, November 22nd, forcing the church to hold the festival at this new cathedral and move in before work was 100% completed, as if the saint herself had become impatient with the construction, which had lagged on for years.
Fascinating stuff that you would never know by just looking at the Wikipedia page. So, again, do not miss the museum.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank colinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful church!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stained glass windows are absolutely beautiful!
I love architecture like this.... It's worth the 'out-of-the-way' time to see this...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank urkidding24689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Architectural Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our Cathedral was recently renovated and a Creighton Professor Emeritus (Tom Kuhlman) has written an excellent history of the structure which you can obtain at the site. It is a beautiful church which inspires spiritual awareness. They have an annual art show and flower display which is very popular in the area. All of the priests and deacons of the Archdiocese of Omaha are ordained there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank costela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Cecilia's Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to St. Cecilia's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing