We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omaha Downtown Old Market”
Review of Old Market

Old Market
Ranked #5 of 120 things to do in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Omaha preserves its historic place in time in this historic section of town where visitors can stroll along the cobbled streets and explore the many preserved buildings.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Omaha Downtown Old Market”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Most people would think there isn't much to do "downtown". However, in Omaha the oppostie is true. We traveled with 5 kids ages 5-9 and senior citizen. Everyone enjoyed the visit to the Old Market, Yes we shoppped in all the quaint stores. We also rode the horse drawn carriage, stopped for hot chocolate, visited the mall (which was getting ready for the Christmas Season) and walked along the river side.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grammy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,129
    651
    147
    18
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
national tour
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Omaha Hot Spot”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Old Market was nice. Great options for dining. I was disappointed there were more restaurants than shopping.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelinglizard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Omaha "must do"”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Looks neat at night with all of the lights. Parking is a hit and miss. There are spaces on most streets and also pay lots. I suggest if you are staying in a downtown hotel to access their complimentary shuttle, if they have one. There is probably something all would find interesting. It appears to me that in years past the Old Market area was more appealing for families compared to my recent visit it seems to have more boutiques and more costly stores. Lots of food places. A good place to spend some time if you need to stretch your legs.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CultureChic419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good restaurants, expensive shopping”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I spent a Saturday afternoon and walked all over the Old Market District in Omaha. We were impressed by the number of good restaurants but very disappointed in the shopping. The clothing stores were very expensive and the "antique" stores were few and mostly memorabilia. There were some interesting art galleries and a couple of candy stores but not much else of interest. We had two great meals there so we were not disappointed in the food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DFH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to visit!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Old Market area has something for everyone! Great restaurants abound and there is antique and unique shopping. We visit every time we are in Omaha.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank toomanypets5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing