We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“firewood now available”

Lava Beds National Monument
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Tulelake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“firewood now available”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The campground host is now selling firewood. This is the first season they are selling @ $7 bundle. We were unable to find any firewood in tulelake. Also they sell ice at the visitor center, but it is much cheaper at the grocery store in tulelake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    68
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lave Beds is a great family spot”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The caves hold historical secrets, the area shares it's volcanic past, and proximity to a wildlife refuge makes this a bonus location and convenient spot to see all manner of wildlife, geology and serene scenery. Though stifling hot in summer, I recommend fall-spring trips here because they are prime times to see the wildlife, enjoy cooler temperatures and better enjoy the surrounding area's geologic wonders. Bring a few guide books on wildflowers, birds and geology. Definitely make a stop at the well-outfitted visitor center and remember this is site is part of the National Park system where all appropriate rules of plant/rock/life respect apply.
For anyone who enjoys high desert environments, you will find this location especially rewarding. Camping is somewhat limited so arrive early or mid-week for best chances for prime spots. All sites are pretty much east facing so you can enjoy the sunrise. And, yes, it is a desert so take necessary precautions that you would take in such places: water, emergency supplies, water, good shoes, water and common sense

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elgreco251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Awesome place!!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

There were hardly any people here when we went. It we almost like we had the park to ourselves. Made it really special. Given we went the Monday before Memorial Day weekend, but it was still quiet. It was hot and I can only imagine how warm it gets here during the summer as this was only May. It's no wonder sunscreen is sold in the visitor's center.

We did Skull Cave, Big Painted Cave and Symbol Bridge. They were the easier ones and although we didn't have trouble with them I could see some people having trouble with them. The pictoglyphs were really cool to see. The hiking trails are beautiful. We also hiked to black crater and the battlefield. I would definitely recommend getting here if you want to get to a national monument that is off the beaten path.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 721Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Uncrowded Park”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent a full day hiking and caving in Lava Beds National Monument in early May. Its was uncrowded and in most of the caves my girlfriend and I were the only people. There are probably more than 2 dozen easily reachable caves broken down into three categories of difficulty w/in a 10 minute drive from the visitor's center. We "explored" 10 of them in one day and each one offered something a little different and exciting. If you go visit the LBNM website and follow their suggestions for the clothing and gear you should bring...it will make for a much nice experience.
Be sure and bring a day pack w/ snack and plenty of water as there is no restaurant or cafe in the Park (although the visitor center does have a few snacks for sale).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Desolate, beautiful and uncrowded”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Lots of lovely hikes, lave tubes (caves) and history await you. Bring cash as credit cards and debit cards are not accepted for the entrance fee or gift shop. Pack a picnic too. There are no restaurants here but some nice picnic areas and a campground. There is a small visitor center and gift shop. I would go late spring or late fall. I suspect the summers are hot. Visit the National Monuments homepage for details to plan your trip and get background information. Food and lodging is several miles outside of the Monument in little towns nearby. We stayed at the Winema Lodge just outside the park, which was convenient, fun and different. (Check out separate reviews) Be sure to bring headlamps and gloves are nice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Beds National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Lava Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing