We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”

Lava Beds National Monument
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Tulelake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Erickson, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you are interested in Modoc Indian history, you have to visit the lava beds. Captain Jack's stronghold is as it was in 1873 and the other sites relevant to his history are all there as well. The geology and caves are great and going in October, there are no crowds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    65
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Raw Nature”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great caverns to look in and the bridges and the chimney cones are really worth a look. Unfortunatley Mushpot cave was closed which was disappointing

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank phil52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Long hot drive to get there”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We drove from Lake Tahoe to the Lava Beds, a long, hot, fairly boring drive. Neither of us were interested in seeing the caves (which require a fair amount of agility to clamber down iron staircases and ladders), so it was something of a wasted day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AesRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Don't Come Unless You Plan To See The Caves”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Unless you plan to explore the caves this park is not worth it. It is out of the way and about 45 minutes from Klamath Falls. The overlooks with lava and the historical locations are neat to check out but take about an hour or so to see and don't vary all that much after you've seen one or two. The caves here are self-guided tours. One plus is that this does not seem to be a place a lot of people come so you should not have to worry about the crowds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very unique and worthwhile”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was a side trip for us traveling between Lassen Volcanic National Park and Crater Lake National Park. We only had a few hours. We started at the Visitor Center to get an overview and talk to a ranger. We picked a couple of the "easier tubes" to visit. A member of our family is not real cool with the Lava tube experience as we had already tried this in Hawaii. But in a couple short hours we gained some experience and knowledge. Please read other reviewers for more detailed experience accounts. This was a must see place if only for a couple hours. Driving out, some of the lava fields reminded me a great deal of Hawaii. if you never get to go there, this is a valuable learning site.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShurleyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Beds National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Lava Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing