We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay for Lava Beds or Birding Tulelake area!”
Review of Winema Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulelake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winema Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tulelake
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Winema Lodge. It is in a great location for exploring Lava Beds National Monument or birding in the Tulelake area. We planned our own birding loop of Northern Central California and found this place on Trip Advisor. We stayed June 26 and 27, 2014. We found interesting birds around Tulelake (not to mention two Great Horned Owls living right next to the property, and adult and young Prairie Falcons at Petroglyph Point (part of Lava Beds near Tulelake).

The lodge is an old Hunting lodge and during the non-hunting season is very quiet. There is a main lodge with rooms which have several bunk beds and large bathrooms with multiple sinks, showers etc. and several motel type private rooms in a separate building within 50 yards of the main lodge. We stayed in one of these. It was quiet, comfortable and clean.
Verna, the woman who runs the Lodge, provides free continental breakfast or will make a hot breakfast for a low price. She is relaxed and accommodating and really made us feel welcome there. We had pleasant breakfasts there, with her giving us some background on the area.

Having said all this, you are likely to have a good experience as long as you understand and accept in advance that it is not fancy. The motel type rooms are clean, but made of painted cinderblock and the furniture inside is simple and sparse. The bunk areas in the main lodge reminded me of where you would put a group of campers or perhaps a hostel. We have stayed in much plusher lodging, but we knew what to expect and we were delighted with the accommodations, the quiet, the cleanliness, Verna's hospitality, free internet, pool table, TV in the main living area inside the lodge, the bed and breakfast atmosphere for breakfasts, and the location.

If you are staying in the area, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Motel rooms have double bed and a single bed, small refrigerator. Dogs are allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

I recommend choosing Winema Lodge as the place to stay while exploring Tulelake for great bird watching. I spent hours just birding from the lawn. Owls hooting at night, Quail running around during the day and raptors on the wing were very entertaining. The lodge is an interesting place. It is very close to the lake and refuge visitors center. I stayed in the motel section which was clean and comfortable. Travelling with a group would be great fun to stay in the lodge dorm type rooms together. Verna is a terrific hostess and wonderful cook. She will provide home cooked meals for you if you want and plan ahead with her. Breakfast is not to be missed! She understands birders and is flexible to work around your preferences and time needs. We stayed for 3 nights and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My family of 5 (including triplet 10 year old boys) stayed here July 26, 2013 for 1 night. Like everyone else we were here to see the Lava Beds (fantastic). Verna kindly waited up for us (we arrived at 10 pm) and gave us a corner room (very large) with all twin beds (kids didn't get the floor for once). We had a box fan in the room, opened all the windows (2 sides) and blew in cool air (cold in the dessert at night). We love to tent camp so we didn't mind sharing the bathroom with others. Not crowded so no big deal. The place was clean and very quiet. Breakfast was good, though I honestly can't remember all that was available since I'm a cold cereal person. This was part of a two week trip down the entire coast of Oregon (staying in State Park Yurts (oregon $42) (wonderful), on down to Redwood National & State Parks to SFO, then back up the east side of California and Oregon. My boys thought Winema Lodge was the best place that we stayed in compared to ALL of the other places and my husband and I agree. The price is great and it is very close to Lava Beds (must see the ice cave). Hope you get a chance to enjoy the place. Thanks for everything Verna.

Room Tip: Choose the right back corner room for cross ventilation and so all the kids get a bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the5Adventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Verna is very pleasant and helpful---can't ask for a better host.

This is the closest place to stay if you're going to visit Lava Beds National Monument. Decent breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and clean, and fairly priced. We wanted to try Verna's home-cooking but with the long summer days, we couldn't get back in time. The days are hot and a great deal of sight-seeing is best done between 6 to 8 pm. The room was not air-conditioned, but it cooled down enough at bedtime to be comfortable.

We were there in August and there were mosquitoes and flies outside---it's not the fault of the lodge---but do be careful when you open your door.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank L X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is clean & very quiet. In fact, there is virtually nothing else around for miles! We stayed for 2 nights as we explored the Lava Beds. The lady who runs the place is nice, but quiet & unassuming. She made us a wonderful dinner of taco salad our first night, & a great hot breakfast the next morning. Knowing there was no food to be had in the Park, I had asked her in advance to prepare us sack lunches, which were delicious & more than enough. (after a few days of vacation, it was good to eat home-made, normal food!) This is not a fancy-pants place by any stretch, but if you only use your room to sleep & bathe after being out all day, you can't beat the price, service, or location. We give it 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deedaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we stayed in the cinder block motel. This historic lodge is located close to the Lava Beds National Monument and Tule Lake Wildlife refuge.
The room was clean, two beds, refrigerator, private bath, and a very important heater. Even though we were there the end of June, the nights get cold. Each stay comes with a continental breakfast, and Vera also fixed us a hot meal in the evening after a day of caving at the monument. There was no addition charge for two meals with the room.
The owners go the extra step to make sure your stay is a great one.
Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

While a cinder block motel room may not seem the ideal place for a vacation, you might find yourself eager to return. You are a 5 minute drive from a great bird watching local in either direction. But the hotel itself is run by a lovely gentlewoman named Vera, who truly wants your stay to be the best it can be. Rooms are very clean. The hotel has a bit of history. Be sure to ask.

Room Tip: You have a choice between dorm style in the main building or motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aliea58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulelake
21.9 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#1 of 22 in Klamath Falls
893 reviews
20.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Klamath Falls
18.2 mi away
Golden Eagle Motel
Golden Eagle Motel
#1 of 1 in Dorris
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Golden West Motel
Golden West Motel
#2 of 22 in Klamath Falls
270 reviews
21.6 mi away
Cimarron Inn & Suites Klamath Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winema Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winema Lodge

Address: 5215 Hill Rd, Tulelake, CA 96134-9760
Location: United States > California > Tulelake
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tulelake
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Winema Hotel Tulelake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing