We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Rustic, No Frills!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lassen Mineral Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mineral
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lassen Mineral Lodge
Save
You added Lassen Mineral Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rustic, No Frills!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

There is nothing in Mineral, but is close to the southwest entrance to Lassen Volcanic National Park, thus eliminates the longer drive from Chester or other areas. The lodge is old and if cars are not parked there, then it looks like another abandoned and forgotten town. There is a store, where the campers AND the people staying at the lodge check in, and there is a restaurant that supports a fairly decent menu, especially for breakfast.

The rooms are like duplexes, so they are 1 story. The walk from the car can be a bit long if you are in units 24-33, with 33 being the farthest (and it stands alone so no shared walls, yay!). If one counts in staying in a larger hotel/motel, that has steps and you stay on the second floor, then, really, the walk may be comparable.

The room was clean, but a bit rundown. I don't complain about older places that are still kept clean. No A/C which is probably not needed much at this 5000 ft elevation, but the days were warm and we opened the front window which had a screen. The back, bathroom window had no screen and the room started getting crowded with skeeters and a few beetle-like bugs, so we closed it. No biggy. What I did NOT like though, is the little spider webs on the walls. The walls are paneled about halfway up, with slat-like paneling. The paneling allows for spiders to get behind it. I started seeing the webs, then when I tried to brush some down that were behind the bed (no headboard), they were really sticky and I thought, oh, no, black widow...During the first two days I killed 2 small black widows that were at the cracks of the paneling...Oh, and I grew up around them, so I know my spiders.

Overall, I wouldn't say the motel was a bad place, just be ready to deal with the consequences of staying in an older motel in the woods...

Towels rated 1 out of 4 on the softness scale, with 4 being big, fluffy and soft.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms on the east side would be better. They actually looked from the outside like they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    35
    24
    9
See reviews for
40
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Flew down from WA to visit Lassen NP and not a lot of places to stay close to the park. This place is very close and has a general store and restaurant. Very rustic rooms but clean and very quiet. The restaurant is also good and really the only place in town to eat. Very friendly staff and quick service. Food was good. Mini frig in the room, no phones, tv etc. ceiling fan above the bed, very simple. Nice deck chairs outside of the room in front of everyone's rooms. Definitely not the Hilton but it's a rustic area and near the NP and if you can't camp this is the next best thing. Wild highly recommend if you want to stay near the south end of the park for more than a day. Great staff working here.

Room Tip: Rooms are situated in groups of two so you have only one common wall with your neighbor. Pretty soli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbk51691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashaway, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while we visited Lassen National Park. It is great if you want to get to the park early to hike and it was nice to be able to be back at the room without a long drive at the end of the day. It's okay that the hotel is old. It was pretty clean but our room had a very musty smell. Couldn't open one window because the screen was ripped and the window didn't close all the way down. The other window was fine but one window was not enough to get rid of the smell. The restaurant food was pretty good considering it's such an out of the way place. The service was great, the people were very friendly. Someone else mentioned that there are no coffee pots in the rooms high I thought was okay, until I found out that the restaurant doesn't open until 8a.m.!! That means if you are an early riser (like I am) you have NO coffee until 8 a.m.!! They really should put little coffee pots in each room.

Room Tip: If you want to sit outside your room and stargaze, be sure your room is not behind the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Well my wife and I couldn't find any other place to stay near by the park------so. The hotel is dated but well kept new frigs and some recent concrete work.Good bed,clean,the only general store and restaurant around.We had dinner twice there and food is fine.I had a burger one nite and spagetti the next nite.Both nites we were served by "tracy"who's very welcoming and personable.There was a seasoned man at the store who could use some of her traights.A good place to rest after hiking in the park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Lassen Volcanic National Park. Looks dated from the outside, but inside the rooms are good with a very modern bathroom. No tv, internet or coffee maker inside the rooms, but we did have a fridge. If you are desperate to check your email, you can get wifi while in the restaurant. Very spacious room for 3 of us to share. Nice touches, like planters of flowers outside make it look cared for. If you are arriving late after a long day in the park, or a long journey, just be aware that the shop closes at 6.30 and the restaurant closes at 7.30.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batpixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I recently travlled to the Lessen Volcanic National Park and stayed here for two nights. This town is the closest to the park if you come from the south. The room is small, clean and simple. No telephone, TV, Wifi, which is nice as we can really enjoy the nature and get away from the daily business. The thing is the wall is so thin that we can even hear next door's conversation. And the shower water is very weak like a stream. The service they provide is OK, very basic. The restuaruant is like the room, a bit pricy. Most of the dishes are deep fried and the portion is relatively small. If we come back for the park, we would stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vagas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

If you are looking for luxury, tv and all mod cons then forget this place, but if what is on your mind is rustic clean with no modern gadgets and just to sit outside your room watching the world go by, here is the place for you. The Lodge is dated, but that does not detract with the homliness. you could literally park your car and get away from the hussle and bussle of everyday life. Mineral is a tiny village, where there are great walks and beautiful scenery. It has a convienince store and a restaurant that serves very well cooked meals. It is situated right next to the little known Lassen Volcanic National Park, one of Californias, secret little treasures. Mineral is all about stress free relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hyawatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral
19.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn
24.6 mi away
Bailey Creek Cottages
Bailey Creek Cottages
#4 of 6 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lassen Mineral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lassen Mineral Lodge

Property: Lassen Mineral Lodge
Address: Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063
Location: United States > California > Mineral
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lassen Mineral Hotel Mineral
Lassen Hotel Mineral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing