We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Genuine Americana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lassen Mineral Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mineral
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lassen Mineral Lodge
Save
You added Lassen Mineral Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Genuine Americana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place makes an ideal base camp for exploring Lassen National Park if you don't want to do actual camping and want some basic amenties. That said, it is NOT a luxury resort, and should be avoided by people who are accustomed to modern all-inclusive resorts. There is no TV and no WiFi. If you're here, you're here to enjoy nature and the Lassen wilderness and the big dark nighttime sky. (If not, why ARE you here?)

What Lassen Mineral Lodge IS is an old-fashioned western resort that's very reminiscent of the 1950s. Accomodations are rustic..... basic, but clean......and the bathrooms have been upgraded. There is a general store that looks like a campground store. There is an informal restaurant with an outside patio dining option for evenings. Food is good, unpretentious, and plentiful. There are delicious home-made fruit cobbler desserts. And wines and beer are available.

The Lodge is owned an operated by local people....so you have the benefit of local advice on weather conditions, the best hiking trails, the week's bear incidents, and where to find a spot to cool your feet after a day of hiking. Your waitress at dinner will likely be your waitress at breakfast and she'll be cleaning your room........and her toddler will be "helping".
We like supporting small American businesses and enjoyed our time with the families of Lassen Mineral Lodge.

Room Tip: No gas stations in the immediate area; don't come in with a low fuel tank!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyRoverPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    55
    35
    24
    9
See reviews for
40
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This makes an ideal base if you want easy access to Lassen NP especially if you are hiking the trials and don't want to drive too far each night. Mineral is essentially this Lodge so if you don't want a quiet location and don't wish to eat at their own restaurant then maybe this place isn't for you. Breakfast starts at 8am and they take last orders for the evening meal at 7.30pm. There is nothing to do here in the evening and no TV in the room. We loved this aspect because this Lodge is a haven away from modern life but if you aren't keen on getting away from it all then I'd advise you don't stay here.

For such a small place the menu is extensive with something to suit most tastes. The food is plentiful and delicious and the staff go out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The place is a family run venture and they work long hard hours and provide exceptional service.

As others have said the rooms are rustic, simple but comfortable for a few nights stay. The shower area is very small but clean. The buildings are old and as such aren't pristine and things do creak but we were perfectly happy here. I'm guessing the walls are very thin but as most of the people staying here were hikers or people who had spent a long day touring/travelling most people went to bed early and therefore we didn't get any noise issues. Because the walls are thin we were pleased that there are no TV's in the rooms.

We enjoyed our retreat here and I hope that it remains the charming family run business for many years to come.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you stay here bring lots of things to do - playing cards, board games etc. There is no TV, no wifi, the bar is closed, the restaurant is good but closes at 7:30pm, the gift shop is closed, there are no trails etc. Accomodations are very basic. There is an open loft with a truck parked by it. In the night a large animal jumped in the loft above our bathroom. I was really afraid that it would fall through the ceiling - it was making so much noise. Luckily the bathroom fan scared it away. When we told the owner about it, he tried to say it was a chipmunk! In the morning we could see huge paw marks by the loft (mountain lion?) All we asked him to do was to move the truck then nothing could jump into the loft. Owner was quite unpersonable in general. The restaurant food was good and the ladies who served in there were nice.

Room Tip: Make sure that if there is a large open loft by your room that there is no truck next to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Chose to stay here to revisit memories. In the Summer of 1959 I waited tables in the restaurant and my husband worked for the USFS as a fire fighter. For this return we basically enjoyed our stay and the restaurant meals. This is a potential gem..that could use improvements. It is a great location with a great forested area. Perhaps the economy has dealt them a tough blow with no skiing in the winter, little water in the creeks, no gas for over 30 miles. When we called for reservations they were upfront about the gas and the restaurant hours. The motel was clean and very basic. I brought a hot pot to make morning beverages. The bathroom was upgraded and much nicer than expected. We enjoyed a happy hour on the tables and chairs outside our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rustic outside was matched by the rustic inside. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Considering there are few options in the area, I would recommend staying here if you are visiting Lassen VNP. Use the restaurant, it's quite good. Nice to see a family owned and operated business doing well. Would recommend an exterior paint job to the owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very basic accomodations for a premium summer price. Check-in was in the store next door and they weren't very helpful. Towels were about the size of washclothes and when we asked for another (There were 4 in our room booked for 5 people) instead of just bringing us another, a guy came and told us there was one tucked into the rollaway cot. The bars on the outside back side window we did not consider charming.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Old style motel, family run . Room big, comfortable beds, clean and tidy. Great shower. Dated decor. However a wonderful place to stay, and very good value at $100 for 3 people. Enjoyed sitting on verandah in cool off evening. If you are a coffee junkie, note shop opens8am, so no coffee till then. Second visit, will be coming again. Great for visting Lassen, a wonderful and underated park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Vickers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mineral
19.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn
24.6 mi away
Bailey Creek Cottages
Bailey Creek Cottages
#4 of 6 in Chester
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lassen Mineral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lassen Mineral Lodge

Property: Lassen Mineral Lodge
Address: Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063
Location: United States > California > Mineral
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lassen Mineral Hotel Mineral
Lassen Hotel Mineral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing