We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met the basic needs and was clean”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mineral
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lassen Mineral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Met the basic needs and was clean”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Chose to stay here to revisit memories. In the Summer of 1959 I waited tables in the restaurant and my husband worked for the USFS as a fire fighter. For this return we basically enjoyed our stay and the restaurant meals. This is a potential gem..that could use improvements. It is a great location with a great forested area. Perhaps the economy has dealt them a tough blow with no skiing in the winter, little water in the creeks, no gas for over 30 miles. When we called for reservations they were upfront about the gas and the restaurant hours. The motel was clean and very basic. I brought a hot pot to make morning beverages. The bathroom was upgraded and much nicer than expected. We enjoyed a happy hour on the tables and chairs outside our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    38
    25
    9
See reviews for
44
78
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rustic outside was matched by the rustic inside. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Considering there are few options in the area, I would recommend staying here if you are visiting Lassen VNP. Use the restaurant, it's quite good. Nice to see a family owned and operated business doing well. Would recommend an exterior paint job to the owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very basic accomodations for a premium summer price. Check-in was in the store next door and they weren't very helpful. Towels were about the size of washclothes and when we asked for another (There were 4 in our room booked for 5 people) instead of just bringing us another, a guy came and told us there was one tucked into the rollaway cot. The bars on the outside back side window we did not consider charming.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mineral hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Old style motel, family run . Room big, comfortable beds, clean and tidy. Great shower. Dated decor. However a wonderful place to stay, and very good value at $100 for 3 people. Enjoyed sitting on verandah in cool off evening. If you are a coffee junkie, note shop opens8am, so no coffee till then. Second visit, will be coming again. Great for visting Lassen, a wonderful and underated park.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Vickers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
145 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights and really enjoyed it. Room was an average size with a comfortable bed and small shower and toilet. Walls are thin and next door neighbours are easily heard. Bathroom and outside could use some maintenance. But at USD 90 a night inc tax, it is not expensive. Great restaurant for breakfast and dinner with lots of choice and really friendly waitresses. Store is well stocked too. And the lodge is only 10 minutes drive from Lassen Volcanic Park entrance - the location could not be any better.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the far end of the strip as there is no one next to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked a room, paid for it, and received a confirmation email.The next day,received an e-mail stating that there had been an error and that no room was available. Not the best service or news when planning out a trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

the fact that it is so close to Lassen Volcanic National Park is it's best feature....that and the women who own and run the place. although is is kinda if run down we still had a fun time staying there. Our group is very diverse so having the motel, camping, restaurant, bar and store all in one place made it perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pitbuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lassen Mineral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lassen Mineral Lodge

Property: Lassen Mineral Lodge
Address: Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063
Location: United States > California > Mineral
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lassen Mineral Hotel Mineral
Lassen Hotel Mineral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing