We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic to the max”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mineral
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lassen Mineral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rustic to the max”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for the 4th of July weekend. This place is pretty much the only game in town near the south enterance to Mt. Lassen. It's a no thrills, family run establishment. We enjoyed the view of the wild flowers as we sat out on the porch. At night it's very quiet and with the comfortable bed you can enjoy a good nights rest. Each of our meals was good with reasonable prices. Great bizkits & gravy! The rooms have no TVs, phones, AC (but they do have quiet ceiling fans), or fancy toiletries. You'll have to get ice from the restaurant and there is a laundromat down the street. If you want all of the amenities above, you'll have to visit elsewhere, but this is a nice rustic place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippychick2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    60
    39
    25
    9
See reviews for
44
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We chose the lodging because it is close to Lassen Park. It was a great find. Rustic, yes but wonderful for my children and grandchildren. The motel is clean and gave very comfortable rest. The restaurant has plenty of great food for reasonable prices with friendly staff. The store has your basic needs and the staff is helpful and friendly. You cannot beat the view and if you like it quiet and dark when you sleep this is the place. No internet, no phone, no problem. Being disconnected was wonderful! If you want satin sheets, 24-hour staff availability and classy ambiance then stay in Red Bluff and quit complaining.

Room Tip: Make your reservation online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelinGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Expensive, dirty, poor food and to top it all off, full of bed bugs! My stay in Lassen Volcanic Park was greatly spoiled by the gross lack of hygiene in this place. The food was cooked from frozen and we overheard the waitress in the back saying people will eat anything you serve them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter_Zurich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mineral hotels

Oakland, California
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

the oh so friendly guy who answered to take my reservation was (man i wish i could what i really want to say) zero help and rude as possible. he made my mind up in 30 seconds this isn't the kind of place i want to spend my time or money.

maybe the next caller will get his wife to answer and give you a more reassuring vibe about staying here. to the guy get a new job and stay off the phone!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1MoreTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We expected rustic and were pleasantly surprised to find the room recently renovated, with a brand new bathroom and comfy bed. We were the only guests for 2 of the 4 nights. The restaurant was opened for us for breakfast and dinner each day, the food was good and the service was wonderful. The lodge is family run and our experience was really more like staying at a B&B. The location for cross country skiing is perfect, with a trail starting across the street and several more trails within a few minutes drive. Not to mention the proximity to Lassen National Park. A wonderful winter getaway for skiing and other winter sports.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bac_dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed here with my family. The tiny, funky rooms can only sleep 2 people so we had to rent a separate room for the kids. I had to cancel 2 of the 4 nights we booked 4 days prior to our stay. They refused to re-book the rooms and we had to pay for the 2 rooms for all 4 nights. That means we paid them more than $300 while NOT staying there. They were fully booked and it was the busiest month of the year. I suspect that they could have rented our rooms but chose not to since we already paid for them. Also, we had our clean and quiet service dog which we informed them about when we checked in. One of the owners made a face as though we disgusted her. Even though the hired staff is very friendly, the two managers (or owners?) appear unfriendly, angry and uncooperative. I requested some ice and was told that ice is precious but that I could buy some. When I politely said, "No thank you", she decided to give me some. The food took about an hour to be served for each meal and the food was not tasty (nor healthy). Eating here was fun the first time because it was so funky, but it got old fast. This is the only place to stay or eat in this area. It would have been much better, cheaper and more fun to camp in beautiful Lassen or stay in Chester (a nearby town we have stayed in and had such a wonderful stay for the same price) or elsewhere. I will never go to Lassen Mineral Lodge again and advise others to avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leila50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Accommodation was basic but well equipped. Clean and roomy. Toilet cistern filled constantly but could be turned off at the inlet valve.
Only 20 minutes from Lassen.
The town of Mineral has limited facilities (e.g. no gas staion) but Mineral Lodge has a store and restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank WestUSATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lassen Mineral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lassen Mineral Lodge

Property: Lassen Mineral Lodge
Address: Highway 36, Mineral, CA 96063
Location: United States > California > Mineral
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mineral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Lassen Mineral Hotel Mineral
Lassen Hotel Mineral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing